This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

C-29 (Small Business Deduction)

Honourable senators, I rise today to speak to Bill C-29, and specifically its provision to effectively limit access by group medical structures to the small-business deduction.

In this regard, I will focus on what it is hoped has been an unintended consequence of this measure on the medical profession, and in particular, its impact in respect of altering the means of application of this deduction by group medical structures engaged in research and education in teaching hospitals and universities.

As clearly defined by the myriad number of medical professionals from whom many of us have heard on this matter:

Group medical structures have an important role in health care today. They are prevalent within Canada's academic health science centres and amongst certain medical specialties. Group medical structures are essential for educating and training medical students and residents in teaching hospitals, as well as for conducting and funding medical research.

The proposed measure will be one of general application and thus will treat all small businesses uniformly with respect to the application of taxes.

In other all-too-familiar words from this government, it seems a small business is a small business is a small business. As Minister Morneau frequently asserted, "To be clear, what we are doing with respect to small businesses is clarifying that one small business gets one small-business deduction, simply put."

But for doctors who are part of group medical structures working in university-sponsored academic hospitals, these are not your average small businesses — not by any means — and impacting their good works will have potentially disastrous consequences for health care in Canada.

Honourable senators, I do not claim to be an expert in tax matters, nor do I claim to have a depth and breadth in medical matters that will enable me to adroitly convey the very significant impact this change in the tax regime will have on university- sponsored academic hospitals from a practitioner's perspective. But I do have some experience in the workings of teaching and research hospitals.

Time and time again I have witnessed the profound dedication their doctors bring to their work — all the while knowing they are sacrificing higher remuneration for the greater good of service delivery in a culture of care, the ability to teach and mentor better-trained physicians, and undertaking groundbreaking and often life-saving research.

It's most appropriate that I let the doctors' words speak volumes about the need to re-examine this punitive tax change.

Dr. Juan Carlos Monge is a staff cardiologist at St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto and an associate professor at the University of Toronto. He shared his thoughts on the impact of this unintended consequence on his hospital:

It is beyond comprehension that academic physicians who have taken the initiative for the last several decades to pool [their] own earnings to fund what government doesn't fund are now being penalized by a measure that — although not clearly directed at academic medical groups — nevertheless threatens our very existence and our ability to support research, advanced medical education and super-specialized clinical care.

So what's the nature of the impact of such a group medical structure?

In the context of St. Michael's Hospital, the partnership is formed by 150 physicians from the Department of Medicine. In this year alone, it has allocated $8.5 million of the doctors' own earnings to support teaching and research at St. Michael's Hospital.

Make no mistake, if this legislation remains as it is, the group would be forced to disband, as there is no legal structure under which it could otherwise function and do what it currently does.

Dr. Monge further asserts that any proposed solution around cost-sharing arrangements is neither adequate nor sufficient. He says:

We need to pool and redistribute resources to support our academic mission — [which] is not the purpose of a cost- sharing arrangement, a financial arrangement which merely allows the distribution of the cost of doing business among the members of a group, something that falls very short of what we need to do and have been doing in some cases for almost 50 years.

Dr. Barry Rubin is a professor of surgery at University of Toronto; he is also Chair and Program Medical Director at the Peter Munk Cardiac Centre, and Chair of Mount Sinai Hospital University Health Network.

Dr. Rubin appeared just days ago at your Standing Senate Committee on National Finance and delivered a concise description of the problem this supposedly unintended consequence lays at the feet of the medical community. I seek your indulgence, as I will quote him at length:

Canada is a world leader in medical education, innovation and research. Problem-based learning, the most effective method for teaching students, and competency- based assessment, a process for evaluating medical training, were largely developed in Canada and are now practised around the world.

Canadian researchers are among the most quoted in scientific publications, and innovation developed by Canadian doctors ensures the ongoing evolution of our health care system. For example, Canadian doctors were the first to develop the pacemaker, the first to do a single lung transplantation and currently lead development of no- incision heart valve repair. We're also working on innovative approaches to use stem cells to treat arthritis and diabetes and cure these diseases, and to develop drugs to minimize brain damage after stroke.

It's important to appreciate that the vast majority of medical teaching and research in Canada is done in teaching hospitals. It is also a fact that teaching and research activities are compensated far more poorly than the provision of clinical care, which involves seeing patients, doing operations and many other things.

So the question arises: How does our health care system actually pay doctors to teach and do research. . .?

The answer is by forming practice plans, where groups of doctors in teaching hospitals come together and pool their income. Practice plans typically include 20 to 100 and in my centre 360 doctors that work together, and these have been in place in Canada for the last 30 to 40 years .

Through these practice plans, doctors who make relatively more money providing clinical care actually transfer some of that income to the doctors that make less money doing teaching and research . . . .

This social enterprise is not designed to enrich the partners in the practice plan; it is designed to appropriately compensate doctors for the clinical work as well as the medical education and research that they do.

In Canada, two-thirds of the support for research that is carried out by doctors in teaching hospitals is generated by redistributing the clinical income earned by some of these doctors.

In addition, two-thirds of the 30,000 doctors that practice in Ontario were trained at a teaching hospital in Ontario, a pattern that holds true across Canada.

Under the 2016 federal budget, if practice plans continue to redistribute funds to support innovation, teaching and research, incorporated members of those practice plans will have to share the small business deduction.

Doctors in teaching hospitals recognize that alternate structures for their practice plans, such as cost-sharing associations, will have to be considered, because remaining as partnerships would financially penalize doctors that already transfer money to their colleagues to support teaching and research.

The core issue with forming a new structure such as a cost-sharing association, which was an option proposed by Minister Morneau, is that practice plans will no longer have a viable mechanism to redistribute pooled clinical income that is required to support innovation, teaching and research.

That is what led 2,000 doctors from across Canada to write to the Ministry of Finance and express concern about the 2016 federal budget. Currently, 50 practice plans in Ontario's 16 teaching hospitals are in the process of considering structures other than partnerships, in direct response to the changes contemplated in Bill C-29.

If practice plans are not able to pay doctors to teach, who will train our future doctors?

Who will do the research and lead the innovation that is needed to develop the new treatments and prevention strategies that are required to care for Canada's growing and aging population?

Limiting the ability of groups of doctors to access the small business deduction has the potential to inadvertently destroy the fundamental mechanism that practice plans in teaching hospitals across Canada have used to support medical innovation, teaching and research for decades — the redistribution of income earned by doctors for doing clinical work.

This has the potential to destabilize the foundation of the health care system that Canada is so widely known and respected for, and will impact our ability to lead medical innovation. In the final analysis, impairing the ability of doctors in teaching hospitals to innovate, educate and do research will have a lasting negative impact on the residents and citizens of Canada that we care for.

So let's look again at the depth and breadth of the issue of the small business deduction from the perspective of these doctors.

Physicians form group medical partnerships or group medical corporations to pool revenue so that they can redistribute from higher earners to lower earners to support medical research, teaching and specialized clinical services.

Physicians in academic health science centres fund two thirds of medical teaching and research from their own clinical earnings — that is to say out of their own pockets — because they are able to pool their earnings.

Physicians all operate a small professional business and as such are eligible for the small business deduction — in Ontario, at the combined federal and provincial tax business rate of 15 per cent.

Under the proposed rules, physicians in group medical corporations and group medical partnerships will not have access to the small business deduction. Thus in Ontario they will be faced with a combined federal and provincial general corporate tax rate of 26.5 per cent, while physicians in the community in cost-sharing arrangements — that is, where there is no need to pool income to transfer earnings to lower earners — will continue to have access to the small business deduction of 15 per cent.

Research by the Canadian Medical Association indicates that the group medical partnerships and group medical corporations will, if this measure passes, dissolve, thereby eliminating the ability to pool income. This in turn will mean a loss in funding that physicians are providing from their own earnings to support medical teaching, research and specialized services — thus constituting loss of money for research, teaching and specialized medical care and no additional tax revenue — making this proposed change nothing but illogical in the case of the medical community I am describing today.

I came across something of note while preparing my remarks that I believe is also noteworthy. Teresa Boyle wrote a story for the Toronto Star in May of 2012 entitled "How Ontario's doctors get paid." At that time, the report noted that Ontario was spending $11 billion a year on physicians. The report noted that the province also spent $1 billion on what it terms "alternative payment programs." It stated that these "programs are intended to encourage physicians to provide academic services such as teaching and research, work in underserviced areas and coordinate medical services." Thus, it seems such arrangements are in fact encouraged, at least by the Province of Ontario. This would appear, then, to work at cross purposes with the federal government's proposed changes to the tax regime that this bill enables.

In this regard, and in recognition of the similar sums from other academic hospitals that would be lost, to permit such a consequence is at the very least illogical and at best irresponsible — certainly not without undertaking greater consultation with the provinces and analyses of their funding formulae.

So, we have examined the matter from a medical perspective. Let us now hear the argument from a tax law point of view.

Kim Moody is Director, Canadian Tax Advisory, with Moodys Gartner Tax Law and a co-chair of the Joint Committee on Taxation for the Canadian Bankers Association and Chartered Professional Accountants Association. He, too, appeared as an individual before your Standing Senate Committee on National Finance and spoke to the proposed changes to the small business deduction.

As a recognized expert in this field, permit me to share his opinions of the efficacy of these changes:

With respect to the small business deductions, I appreciate the underlying policy intent of trying to restrict access to the small business deduction to situations where its usage was not originally intended and to insist on the principle of one business, one small business deduction. That makes perfect sense. I have been a strong vocal and written critic of so-called planning that inappropriately multiplies access to the small business deduction.

However, the proposals released by the Department of Finance and currently in Bill C-29 go far beyond simple targeting. The proposals are very far-reaching and apply to many routine situations where, in my opinion, they should not.

Unfortunately, I will skip a few things. Mr. Moody further said:

Overall, the existing small business deduction rules are complex, currently. However, the amendments make such rules horrifically complex. As a tax practitioner, I expect complexity, and frankly I relish it. I like complexity, but I also need to reconcile this complexity with practical realities. As mentioned, I've been studying tax for over 20 years. This new proposed legislation, without a doubt, is within the top five in terms of complexity.

Given his views, Mr. Moody offered opinions to the committee for remedy of this situation:

. . . ideally, the new small business deduction rules would be given a complete rethink. There are a number of different ways that the new rules could be redrafted in order to effectuate the purpose of this legislation . . . .

. . . if a rethink is not in order, I believe some of the unintended consequences should be targeted and excluded from their application. I recognize that better targeted legislation might create more exceptions with one of those exceptions being the sectors and structures hit with those restrictions inappropriately.

Honourable senators, I think I will go directly to my amendment. I think you have the gist of what Mr. Moody was trying to say, namely that this tax is so complex in the way it's been structured that the most efficient way of dealing with the doctors would be to remove clause 44 completely and have a rethink and try and exclude doctors, researchers and medical teaching and come back again with another bill. This is what I'm trying to propose, senators, and I hope you will give it due consideration because it will really affect research and medical teaching in this country.

Motion in Amendment

Honourable senators, therefore, I move:

That Bill C-29, as amended, be not now read a third time, but that it be further amended, on pages 50 to 60, by deleting clause 44.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Loi C-29

Honorables sénateurs, j'interviens aujourd'hui pour parler du projet de loi C-29, plus particulièrement de ses dispositions visant à limiter l'accès des structures médicales collectives à la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises.

Je vais parler plus précisément d'une conséquence de cette mesure sur la profession médicale qui, espérons-le, est inattendue. La mesure en question modifie l'application de la déduction aux structures médicales collectives vouées à la recherche et à l'enseignement dans les hôpitaux universitaires et les universités.

Comme l'ont clairement indiqué à plusieurs d'entre nous d'innombrables professionnels du milieu médical, on définit ainsi les structures médicales collectives :

Les structures de groupe ont un rôle important à jouer dans les soins de santé d'aujourd'hui. Elles sont omniprésentes dans les centres universitaires des sciences de la santé du Canada et dans certaines spécialités de la médecine. Ces structures jouent un rôle essentiel dans l'éducation et la formation des étudiants en médecine et des médecins résidents dans les hôpitaux d'enseignement, ainsi que dans la réalisation et le financement de recherches médicales.

La mesure proposée en est une d'application générale et traitera uniformément toutes les petites entreprises en ce qui concerne l'imposition.

L'attitude du gouvernement à cet égard ne nous est que trop familière : selon lui, une petite entreprise reste une petite entreprise. Le ministre Morneau a souvent affirmé que, par rapport aux petites entreprises, son gouvernement clarifiait les choses en précisant qu'elles recevraient une déduction pour les petites entreprises.

Le hic, c'est que les structures médicales collectives qui œuvrent dans des hôpitaux universitaires financés par une université ne sont pas de petites entreprises ordinaires — loin de là — et qu'entraver leurs travaux pourrait entraîner des conséquences désastreuses pour les soins de santé au Canada.

Honorables sénateurs, je ne prétends pas être une fiscaliste ni posséder les connaissances médicales nécessaires pour décrire avec éloquence les graves conséquences que le changement au régime fiscal aura sur les médecins qui pratiquent dans les hôpitaux universitaires. Par contre, je connais le fonctionnement des lieux d'enseignement et de recherche que sont les hôpitaux universitaires.

J'ai souvent pu observer le grand dévouement avec lequel les médecins exercent leur profession. Ils font le sacrifice d'une rémunération plus élevée pour pouvoir fournir de bons services avec compassion, pour pouvoir enseigner à des médecins et les encadrer de manière à leur fournir la meilleure formation qui soit et pour pouvoir réaliser des travaux de recherche novateurs qui sauveront beaucoup de vies.

Je ne saurais mieux dire que les médecins eux-mêmes, alors écoutons les solides arguments qu'ils font valoir pour demander au gouvernement de revoir ce changement fiscal punitif.

Le Dr Juan Carlos Monge est cardiologue à l'Hôpital St. Michael's de Toronto. Il est aussi professeur agrégé à l'Université de Toronto. Voici ses réflexions sur les conséquences imprévues que subit son hôpital :

Il est incompréhensible que des médecins qui enseignent à l'université et qui ont pris l'initiative, il y a plusieurs dizaines d'années, de puiser dans leur rémunération pour combler ensemble les insuffisances dans le financement fourni par l'État se voient aujourd'hui pénalisés par une mesure qui, bien qu'elle ne vise pas particulièrement les groupes de médecins universitaires, menace notre existence et notre capacité à financer la recherche, favoriser l'enseignement de la médecine et fournir des services cliniques ultraspécialisés.

Alors, quelles seraient les répercussions sur une telle structure médicale collective?

À l'Hôpital St. Michael's, le partenariat est constitué de 150 médecins affiliés à la faculté de médecine. Cette année seulement, ces médecins ont cédé 8,5 millions de dollars provenant de leur rémunération pour favoriser l'enseignement et la recherche à l'hôpital.

Ne nous leurrons pas : si ce projet de loi est adopté tel quel, ce groupe serait obligé de cesser d'exister, car aucune autre structure ayant une existence légale ne leur permettrait d'accomplir la même chose.

Le Dr Monge affirme en outre que les solutions proposées de partage des coûts ne sont ni adéquates ni suffisantes. Voici ce qu'il nous dit :

Nous devons mettre en commun et redistribuer les ressources pour financer nos activités universitaires, ce qui n'est pas la même chose qu'un accord de partage des coûts, où les membres d'un groupe se répartissent des dépenses de fonctionnement selon un accord financier. Un tel accord n'est pas du tout suffisant pour répondre à nos besoins et nous permettre de poursuivre nos activités comme nous le faisons dans certains cas depuis presque 50 ans.

Le Dr Barry Rubin est professeur de chirurgie à l'Université de Toronto. Il est également président et directeur du programme médical au centre de cardiologie Peter Munk et président du réseau universitaire de santé de l'Hôpital Mount Sinai.

Le Dr Rubin vient de témoigner il y a quelques jours devant le Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales. Il décrit de façon concise le problème que cette conséquence soi-disant inattendue présente pour la communauté médicale. Je fais appel à votre indulgence, car je vais le citer abondamment :

Le Canada est un leader mondial en enseignement, en innovation et en recherche dans le domaine médical. L'apprentissage axé sur la résolution de problèmes, qui est la méthode d'enseignement la plus efficace, et l'évaluation axée sur les compétences ont tous deux été essentiellement développés au Canada et sont aujourd'hui pratiqués dans le monde entier.

Les chercheurs canadiens sont parmi les plus cités dans les publications scientifiques et les innovations développées par les médecins canadiens permettent à notre système de soins de santé d'évoluer constamment. Par exemple, des médecins canadiens ont été les premiers à mettre au point le stimulateur cardiaque et les premiers à transplanter un poumon. Ils sont aujourd'hui à la pointe du développement d'une chirurgie cardiaque permettant de réparer des valves sans incision. Nous travaillons également sur une utilisation novatrice des cellules souches pour traiter l'arthrite et le diabète, ainsi que pour guérir ces maladies, ainsi que sur la mise au point de médicaments qui minimiseront les dommages cérébraux causés par un accident vasculaire cérébral.

Il est important de savoir que, au Canada, la vaste majorité de l'enseignement et de la recherche médicale se fait dans des hôpitaux universitaires. Il faut aussi reconnaître que les activités d'enseignement et de recherche sont bien moins rémunérées que la médecine clinique, qui suppose des consultations de malades, des opérations et bien d'autres choses.

D'où la question de savoir de quelle façon notre système de soins de santé rémunère les médecins qui font de l'enseignement et de la recherche.

Cela se fait dans le cadre de plans de pratiques où des groupes de médecins mettent en commun leur salaire. Ces plans de pratiques, qui regroupent de 20 à 100 médecins, et jusqu'à 360 dans mon centre, existent depuis 30 à 40 ans au Canada.

Dans le cadre de ces plans de pratique, les médecins qui gagnent relativement plus d'argent en pratiquant la médecine clinique remettent une partie de leur salaire aux médecins moins bien rémunérés qui font de l'enseignement et de la recherche [...]

Cette entreprise sociale n'est pas conçue pour enrichir les partenaires d'un plan de pratique; elle est conçue pour verser une rémunération appropriée aux médecins pour le travail clinique, l'enseignement et la recherche qu'ils font.

Au Canada, les deux tiers de la recherche menée par les médecins dans les hôpitaux universitaires sont financés par la redistribution des revenus qu'obtiennent certains de ces médecins pour leur travail clinique.

De plus, les deux tiers des 30 000 médecins qui pratiquent en Ontario ont été formés dans un hôpital universitaire de l'Ontario, et la même tendance existe partout au Canada.

Selon ce que prévoit le budget de 2016, si les plans de pratique continuent de miser sur la redistribution des fonds pour soutenir les activités d'innovation, d'enseignement et de recherche, les membres de ces partenariats qui sont constitués en société devront partager la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises.

Les médecins qui travaillent dans des hôpitaux universitaires sont conscients qu'ils devront envisager d'autres structures pour leur plan de pratique, par exemple une association avec partage des coûts, puisque ceux qui font partie d'un partenariat seront pénalisés financièrement alors qu'ils transfèrent déjà de l'argent à leurs collègues pour soutenir les activités d'enseignement et de recherche.

Le principal problème que pose le recours à une autre structure telle qu'une association avec partage des coûts, une option proposée par le ministre Morneau, c'est que les plans de pratique ne prévoiront plus de mécanisme viable pour redistribuer les revenus cliniques mis en commun qui sont nécessaires pour soutenir l'innovation, l'enseignement et la recherche.

C'est ce qui a amené 2 000 médecins de partout au pays à écrire au ministre des Finances pour lui faire part de leurs inquiétudes au sujet du budget fédéral de 2016. À l'heure actuelle, les médecins regroupés dans le cadre de 50 plans de pratique liés aux 16 hôpitaux universitaires de l'Ontario étudient la possibilité d'adopter une structure autre que les partenariats, une conséquence directe des modifications proposées dans le projet de loi C-29.

Si les plans de pratique ne permettent plus de payer les médecins pour leurs activités d'enseignement, qui formera nos futurs médecins?

Qui dirigera la recherche et l'innovation nécessaires pour mettre au point les nouveaux traitements et les stratégies de prévention dont on a besoin pour s'occuper de la population croissante et vieillissante?

Restreindre le droit des groupes de médecins à la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises pourrait détruire, par inadvertance, le mécanisme fondamental des plans de pratique auxquels les hôpitaux d'enseignement partout au Canada ont recours depuis des dizaines d'années pour appuyer la recherche et l'innovation médicales, ainsi que l'enseignement de la médecine — c'est-à-dire la redistribution des revenus gagnés par les médecins pour le travail qu'ils accomplissent en milieu clinique.

Cette situation pourrait déstabiliser le fondement du système de soins de santé pour lequel le Canada est reconnu et respecté et elle pourrait également avoir une incidence sur notre capacité à diriger l'innovation dans le domaine médical. En fin de compte, nuire à la capacité des médecins dans les hôpitaux d'enseignement d'innover, d'enseigner et d'effectuer des recherches aura une incidence négative durable sur les résidents et les citoyens du Canada.

Examinons de nouveau, du point de vue des médecins, la question de la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises.

Les médecins créent des structures médicales collectives ou des partenariats médicaux afin de mettre en commun les revenus. Ils sont ainsi en mesure de redistribuer les revenus des médecins qui gagnent plus à ceux qui gagnent moins et d'appuyer la recherche, l'enseignement et les services cliniques spécialisés.

Les médecins dans les centres universitaires de sciences de la santé financent les deux tiers des activités de recherche médicale et d'enseignement de la médecine grâce aux revenus qu'ils gagnent en clinique — c'est-à-dire qu'ils financent ces activités de leur poche — parce qu'ils peuvent mettre leurs revenus en commun.

Tous les médecins exploitent une petite entreprise professionnelle et, par conséquent, sont admissibles à la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises — en Ontario, au taux d'imposition fédéral et provincial combiné de 15 p. 100.

Selon les règles proposées, les médecins faisant partie d'une structure médicale collective ou d'un partenariat médical ne pourront plus se prévaloir de la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises. Par conséquent, en Ontario, les médecins seront imposés au taux fédéral et provincial combiné de 26,5 p. 100, soit le taux d'imposition général des entreprises, alors que les médecins qui travaillent dans la collectivité et qui ont conclu une entente de partage des coûts — c'est-à-dire lorsqu'il n'est pas nécessaire de mettre les revenus en commun afin de transférer les revenus aux médecins gagnant un salaire moins élevé — continueront de profiter de la déduction de 15 p. 100 accordée aux petites entreprises.

Selon les recherches de l'Association médicale canadienne, si la mesure est adoptée, les partenariats médicaux et les structures médicales collectives se dissoudront, éliminant ainsi la possibilité de mettre les revenus en commun. Il s'ensuivra une diminution des fonds que les médecins versent à même leurs propres gains pour soutenir l'enseignement, la recherche et les services spécialisés. Il y aura donc moins d'argent pour la recherche, l'enseignement et les soins médicaux spécialisés sans pour autant qu'il y ait augmentation des recettes fiscales, ce qui rend la modification proposée illogique dans le cas de la communauté médicale dont je parle aujourd'hui.

En préparant mon intervention, je suis tombée sur quelque chose qu'il me semble intéressant de souligner. Il s'agit d'un article de Teresa Boyle publié dans le Toronto Star, en mai 2012, qui porte sur la façon dont les médecins de l'Ontario sont payés. Selon cet article, l'Ontario affectait à l'époque 11 milliards de dollars par année à la rémunération des médecins. La province affectait également 1 milliard de dollars à ce qu'elle appelait les « programmes de paiement compensatoire ». Il était précisé que ces programmes visaient à inciter les médecins à offrir des services dans les universités, comme de l'enseignement et de la recherche, à travailler dans les régions mal desservies et à coordonner les services médicaux. Il semble donc que de telles formules soient encouragées, du moins en Ontario. Cela semble aller à l'encontre des modifications au régime fiscal proposées par le gouvernement dans le projet de loi dont nous sommes saisis.

Il serait à tout le moins illogique et, au mieux, irresponsable de permettre la perte de sommes semblables provenant d'autres centres hospitaliers universitaires sans consulter davantage les provinces et analyser plus en profondeur leurs formules de financement.

Nous avons donc examiné la question du point de vue des médecins. Envisageons-la maintenant du point de vue de la législation fiscale.

Kim Moody est directeur du Canadian Tax Advisory au sein de Moodys Gartner Tax Law et coprésident du Comité mixte sur la fiscalité de l'Association des banquiers canadiens et de Comptables professionnels agréés du Canada. Il a également témoigné à titre personnel devant le Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales au sujet des modifications proposées à la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises.

Puisque c'est un spécialiste en la matière, j'aimerais vous faire part de son avis sur l'efficacité de ces modifications :

En ce qui concerne la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises, je sais que l'intention est de limiter l'accès à cette déduction dans les situations qui ne correspondent pas à l'objectif à l'origine de cette mesure et de renforcer le principe voulant que l'on n'accorde qu'une seule déduction par petite entreprise. C'est tout à fait logique. J'ai moi-même sévèrement critiqué, de vive voix et par écrit, ce qu'on peut appeler des stratagèmes qui permettent de multiplier indûment les déductions accordées aux petites entreprises.

Cependant, les modifications proposées le ministère des Finances qui se trouvent actuellement dans le projet de loi C-29 vont au-delà d'un simple ciblage. Leur portée très vaste touche de nombreuses situations courantes qui, à mon avis, ne devraient pas être ciblées.

Je dois malheureusement sauter certains passages. M. Moody a ajouté ceci :

Les règles actuelles qui encadrent la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises sont généralement complexes. Cependant, les modifications proposées les rendraient horriblement complexes. En tant que fiscaliste, je m'attends à ce que les règles soient complexes; je dirais même que je m'en réjouis. J'aime la complexité, mais je dois aussi la concilier avec des réalités pratiques. Comme je l'ai souligné, j'étudie la fiscalité depuis plus de 20 ans. Or, la nouvelle version de la loi qui est proposée figure sans contredit parmi les cinq mesures législatives les plus complexes sur lesquelles j'ai dû me pencher.

Compte tenu de son point de vue, M. Moody a fait des suggestions au comité pour remédier à la situation :

[...] idéalement, les nouvelles règles régissant la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises seraient entièrement revues. Elles pourraient être réécrites de plusieurs façons afin que le projet de loi puisse atteindre son objectif [...]

[...] s'il n'est pas utile de tout repenser, je crois que certaines conséquences imprévues devraient être évitées en prévoyant des exclusions. Je sais qu'un projet de loi mieux ciblé pourrait créer davantage d'exceptions, notamment les secteurs et les structures qui sont frappés de nouvelles restrictions alors qu'ils ne devraient pas l'être.

Honorables sénateurs, je pense que je vais passer directement à mon amendement. Il me semble que vous comprenez l'essentiel de ce qu'essayait de dire M. Moody, à savoir que cette déduction fiscale est particulièrement complexe en raison de la façon dont elle a été structurée et que la meilleure façon de gérer la question des médecins serait de supprimer entièrement l'article 44 et de procéder à une refonte du projet de loi afin d'en exclure les médecins, les chercheurs et les professeurs de médecine et de proposer un nouveau projet de loi. C'est ce que j'essaie de proposer, honorables sénateurs, et j'espère que vous y réfléchirez sérieusement parce que la recherche et l'enseignement médical au Canada seront vraiment touchés.

Motion d'amendement

Honorables sénateurs, je propose donc :

Que le projet de loi C-29, tel que modifié, ne soit pas maintenant lu pour la troisième fois, mais qu'il soit modifié, aux pages 50 à 60, par la suppression de l'article 44.