This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Appropriation Bill No. 3 2016-17 Second Reading

Honourable senators, I rise today to speak in respect of Bill C-20, Appropriation Act No. 3, in its capacity as the means of funding the measures laid out in the Supplementary Estimates (A).

Today, I'd like to briefly focus upon First Nations housing specifically. As we learned through study of these estimates in your Standing Senate Committee on National Finance, the supplementary estimates are primarily assessing the first year of investments announced in Budget 2016, totalling $8.4 billion over five years, to support indigenous communities and the aspirations of indigenous people.

Of the 10 organizations which appeared before your committee in its study of Supplementary Estimates (A), two of them are involved in First Nations housing: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada and Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, both on the theme of on-reserve First Nations housing.

Supplementary Estimates (A) includes a net increase of $1.2 billion for initiatives, which will bring total investment for the Department of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada to about $8.8 billion for this fiscal year to address the needs of indigenous people and northerners. Of this, funding for affordable housing and social infrastructure projects totals $241 million.

With regard to overhead objectives, those for Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada aim to improve well-being and economic prosperity; develop healthier, more sustainable communities; and participate more fully in Canada's political, social and economic development.

The department provides funding to First Nations communities to support on-reserve housing. It is critical to note that through its study of the Supplementary Estimates (A) and on reflection of its continued oversight of the department's finances, your committee has determined that it's unclear what the department has achieved with the funding it receives for on-reserve housing.

While it is encouraging to see tangible demonstrations of commitments aimed at achieving progress in the resetting of the relationship with Canada's First Peoples, it is incumbent upon us to help ensure that this is done sustainably.

What's more, we must make every effort to ensure that such efforts, and the significant expenditures planned in aid of them, are carried out strategically in a coordinated fashion and with clear means of assessing the degrees of our success or failure in these endeavours.

We made the observation that Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada should embark upon the development of a First Nations housing strategy. Such a strategic endeavour would outline the current extent of the need for housing on-reserve; specify annual objectives to address housing needs; provide means of reporting on progress achieved on meeting housing needs; ensure that housing is constructed in accordance with the appropriate building code, and bearing in mind the need or desire of a community to accommodate local climatic and topographical conditions; and, importantly, clarify the specific roles and responsibilities of the federal organizations engaged in First Nations housing.

Honourable senators, quite frankly, I find myself somewhat baffled that we find ourselves having to make such observations. Given the magnitude and persistence of the problem, and its absolute fundamental nature, given the importance of ensuring adequate shelter, why do we not have a First Nations housing strategy? After all, it's 2016.

Does it not follow, then, that a First Nations housing strategy should complement and reflect the overarching tenets and principles of a national housing strategy, under the purview of Canada's national housing agency, Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation? One might reasonably think so, yet this is not the case.

Your committee observed during its study of Supplementary Estimates (A) that Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation is spending considerable funds prior to developing a national housing strategy this year. This is, thankfully, planned — hopefully — for the near future.

In its 2016-2020 Summary of the Corporate Plan, CMHC has committed to improving housing in First Nations communities by addressing urgent housing needs on-reserve through funding of $137.7 million over two years, mostly to support the renovation and retrofit of existing housing on-reserve; and, second, by working with First Nations communities over the coming year to develop an effective long-term approach to supporting the construction and maintenance of an adequate supply of housing on-reserve as part of a broader national housing framework.

Colleagues, it is clear that efforts must be improved to coordinate the construction, code compliancy, maintenance and renovation of First Nations housing.

It is equally clear that the pursuit of the inherent right to self- government by First Nations communities must continue to be respected by the federal government. That is to say, there are elements of oversight and accountability that are to be the purview of First Nations band councils. But such pursuits must be matched with a commitment to ensuring that any undertaking funded by Canadian taxpayers is subject to sufficient standards and degrees of oversight and accountability.

Honourable senators, observance of process must not become the inhibitor of innovation. Whether by the Government of Canada or by a band council, there must be adequate follow-up to determine that money reaches those for whom it was intended and has achieved the prescribed result. This is especially true in other areas of programs and expenditures for indigenous communities.

Reporting and analysis of horizontal undertakings in which myriad departments, agencies and Crown corporations are involved must improve, and I suggest that your Standing Senate Committee on National Finance might be a most effective lever towards helping ensure that they do.

We must review those horizontal matrices to ensure their overall coordination across the federal domain; to determine that measurable progress is being made such that methods of identifying areas requiring correction are in place and that such adjustments to course are made; and lastly, that unless and until a regimen of report cards is in place, Parliament receives regular indications of the degree of return on investment for these funds. We spend the money, but we don't know if it achieves anything.

Honourable senators, in April of this year, at an address to the Yukon Chamber of Commerce, CMHC President Evan Siddall said:

. . . it is in places like . . . First Nations reserves, where our housing system is severely put to the test.

And where in too many instances, in too many communities, and for too many families, it falls far short of delivering the types of housing outcomes that people deserve.

We owe it to the peoples in First Nations communities to provide clearer and more insightful reporting and analyses of results achieved. First Nations families deserve better housing programs guided by an overhead strategy and sustainably funded on a basis of ongoing program review and effective oversight. The observations I have shed light upon today are but a first step in a larger undertaking to which we should commit: to examine these expenditures with greater rigour to both determine and ensure that real progress is being made.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Projet de loi de crédits No 3 pour 2016-17 Deuxième lecture

Honorables sénateurs, j'interviens aujourd'hui au sujet du projet de loi C-20, Loi de crédits no 3 pour 2016-2017, qui viendra financer les mesures énoncées dans le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A).

J'aimeraisaujourd'huiconsacrerquelques instants à la question du logement des Premières Nations. Comme l'a appris le Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales dans le cadre de son examen du budget, les prévisions budgétaires à l'étude couvrent la première année de l'investissement total de 8,4 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans annoncé dans le budget de 2016 pour appuyer les collectivités autochtones et aider leurs habitants à réaliser leurs aspirations.

Des 10 organismes qui ont comparu devant le comité, dans le cadre de son étude du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A), deux s'occupent du logement des Premières Nations, soit Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada et la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, et les deux s'occupent du volet du logement dans les réserves des Premières Nations.

Le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) prévoit une augmentation nette de 1,2 milliard de dollars pour les initiatives visant à répondre aux besoins des peuples autochtones et des habitants du Nord, ce qui porte l'investissement total d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada à environ 8,8 milliards de dollars pour l'exercice en cours. De ce montant, 241 millions de dollars sont consacrés au financement des projets de logement abordable et d'infrastructure sociale.

Les objectifs généraux d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada visent à améliorer le bien-être et la prospérité économique, à rendre les collectivités plus saines et plus durables, et à leur permettre de participer pleinement au développement politique, social et économique du Canada.

Le ministère verse du financement aux Premières Nations pour le logement dans les réserves. Il est essentiel de signaler que, après avoir étudié le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) et examiné les résultats de la surveillance continue qu'il exerce sur les finances du ministère, votre comité n'a pas pu déterminer clairement ce que celui-ci a réalisé avec l'enveloppe qu'il reçoit pour le logement dans les réserves.

Bien qu'il soit encourageant qu'on s'engage concrètement à rétablir les ponts avec les Autochtones du Canada, il nous incombe de veiller à la viabilité des mesures qui sont prises.

Qui plus est, il ne faut ménager aucun effort pour que ces mesures et le financement considérable dont elles sont assorties soient déployés de manière stratégique et coordonnée, en prévoyant des moyens d'en mesurer clairement le degré de réussite ou d'échec.

Il a été dit qu'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada devrait entreprendre l'élaboration d'une stratégie en matière de logement pour les Autochtones afin de donner un aperçu des besoins actuels en matière de logement dans les réserves; de fixer des objectifs annuels pour y répondre; de donner des moyens de faire rapport sur les progrès réalisés à cet égard; de veiller à ce que la construction des logements soit conforme au code du bâtiment approprié, en étant sensible à la nécessité ou à la volonté, pour une communauté, de tenir compte de ses conditions climatiques et topographiques propres; et, surtout, de préciser les rôles et les responsabilités propres aux organismes fédéraux en cause dans le dossier du logement pour les Autochtones.

Honorables sénateurs, bien franchement, je suis plutôt renversée qu'il faille faire de telles observations. Étant donné l'ampleur et la persistance du problème ainsi que l'importance d'offrir des logements convenables, chose absolument fondamentale, pourquoi n'existe-t-il pas déjà une stratégie en matière de logement pour les Autochtones? Après tout, nous sommes en 2016.

Il me semblerait logique que nous ayons une stratégie en matière de logement pour les Premières Nations s'arrimant aux grands principes et objectifs d'une stratégie nationale en la matière et que la responsabilité en soit confiée à l'organisme national qui s'occupe du logement dans notre pays, c'est-à-dire la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement. Il me semble que ce serait raisonnable, comme supposition, non? Eh bien non.

Lors de l'étude du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A), le comité a constaté que la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, ou SCHL, prévoit dépenser cette année des sommes considérables avant même qu'une stratégie nationale sur le logement soit élaborée. Heureusement, cette dernière devrait voir le jour dans un avenir rapproché. Espérons-le.

Dans son Résumé du Plan d'entreprise 2016-2020, la SCHL s'engage à améliorer le logement dans les communautés des Premières Nations en affectant 137,7 millions de dollars sur deux ans aux besoins urgents touchant les logements dans les réserves. Cet argent servira d'abord et avant tout à financer la rénovation et la remise à neuf des logements existants; puis, au cours de la prochaine année, à élaborer, en collaboration avec les Premières Nations, une approche efficace à long terme permettant de construire et d'entretenir un parc adéquat de logements dans les réserves, dans le cadre d'un vaste cadre national relatif au logement.

Chers collègues, il est clair que des efforts supplémentaires doivent être faits pour coordonner la construction, la rénovation et l'entretien des logements des Premières Nations et pour qu'ils respectent le code du bâtiment.

Il est également clair que la poursuite du droit inhérent à l'autonomie gouvernementale par les Premières Nations doit continuer d'être respectée par le gouvernement fédéral. Autrement dit, certains éléments touchant à la surveillance et à la reddition de comptes doivent être du ressort des conseils de bande des Premières Nations, mais leurs revendications doivent aussi les soumettre à une certaine forme d'engagement afin que les projets financés par les contribuables canadiens fassent l'objet de normes et de mesures adéquates de surveillance et de reddition de comptes.

Honorables sénateurs, le respect des règles ne doit pas décourager l'innovation. Qu'il s'agisse du gouvernement du Canada ou d'un conseil de bande, il doit y avoir un suivi adéquat afin de vérifier que l'argent est remis à la bonne personne et qu'il permet d'atteindre les résultats escomptés. C'est particulièrement vrai pour les autres secteurs de programmes et de dépenses des communautés autochtones.

Il faut améliorer la reddition de comptes et l'analyse des initiatives horizontales auxquelles participent une multitude de ministères, d'organismes et de sociétés d'État, et je dirais que le Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales serait un levier très efficace pour y parvenir.

Il faut notamment : examiner ces initiatives horizontales afin d'assurer leur coordination dans toute la sphère fédérale; s'assurer qu'un progrès mesurable est réalisé et qu'il existe des méthodes pour cerner les secteurs où des correctifs s'imposent et apporter les ajustements nécessaires; et enfin, d'ici à ce qu'un régime de rapports sur le rendement soit en place, voir à ce que le Parlement soit régulièrement informé du degré de rendement par rapport aux investissements. Nous faisons des dépenses sans savoir si elles portent leurs fruits.

Honorables sénateurs, en avril dernier, lors d'une allocution devant la Chambre de commerce du Yukon, le président de la SCHL, Evan Siddall, a dit ceci :

[...] c'est dans des endroits comme [...] les réserves des Premières Nations que notre système de logement est mis à rude épreuve.

Dans un trop grand nombre de collectivités, et pour un trop grand nombre de familles, il arrive trop souvent que le système soit bien loin d'atteindre les résultats que la population mérite en matière de logement.

Nous avons le devoir de fournir aux collectivités des Premières Nations des analyses et des rapports plus précis et plus éclairés sur les résultats atteints. Les Premières Nations méritent de meilleurs programmes de logement guidés par une stratégie globale, financés de façon durable et soumis régulièrement à un examen et à des mécanismes de surveillance efficaces. Ce que j'ai mis au jour dans mes observations d'aujourd'hui ne représente qu'une première étape dans un processus plus étendu que nous devrions nous engager à mettre en œuvre : examiner ces dépenses de façon plus rigoureuse afin de voir à ce que de véritables progrès soient réalisés.