This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

The Estimates, 2014-15

I would like to elaborate on some of the things my esteemed colleague Senator Day has spoken about in his report on the 2014-15 report on Supplementary Estimates (B) and, specifically, on the nature and extent of supplemental funding for the Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

Honourable senators, we learned, through the study of these supplementary estimates by the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance, that total funding for Aboriginal programs and services across the federal government, including both main and supplementary estimates, will be $11.3 billion for the fiscal year 2014-15.

This amount constitutes an increase of approximately $500 million over this year's Main Estimates and is earmarked primarily for Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canada. More than $400 million in that department's budget, again from Main Estimates, will fund activities like the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan, negotiations involving land claims and self-government across Canada and Aboriginal participation in West Coast energy development, amongst other things.

Departmental officials from Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canada reported that their department's Supplementary Estimates (B) included initiatives of $153.9 million, composed of $30.9 million in net transfers received from other departments and $123 million to support certain initiatives that I will outline in some detail.

In total, they bring requested authorities to $8.6 billion for the fiscal year 2014-15.

Let us now examine some of the larger initiatives included in the department's supplementary estimates:

Number 1, the impact of flooding in Manitoba's Interlake region, due to which over $40 million was requested to help residents of 18 First Nations communities, who were evacuated because of flooding in 2011, to return home or to go to alternative long-term accommodation.

Number 2, the construction of the new Canadian High Arctic Research Station and the implementation of the associated science and technology program: The station, to be constructed in Cambridge Bay, Nunavut, will be a world-class facility for science and technology and will link the network of regional facilities across the North.

Number 3, the continuing impacts and costs of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, resulting in the transfer of almost $12 million, from last fiscal year to this one, to continue the implementation of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, as well as nearly $10 million to digitize the equivalent of more than 60,000 boxes of documents currently stored at Library and Archives Canada before being forwarded to the Indian residential schools Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

Number 4, the participation of the Aboriginal community in West Coast energy development, through which the investment of $10.5 million will see roughly half of British Columbia's Aboriginal groups, as well as number of Aboriginal communities in Alberta, participate in energy development projects in four key activity areas: Early and ongoing engagement, creating jobs and growth, environmental action and fish habitat restoration.

The purpose of this funding is to promote greater participation of First Nations in various projects to diversify Canada's energy export markets by penetrating emerging Asia-Pacific markets. With respect to the ongoing implementation of comprehensive land claim agreements, nearly $5 million this year will fund implementation of the Yukon Umbrella Final Agreement Implementation Plan, the Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment plan, the Yukon regional land planning and support for the operations of the Cree-Naskapi Commission in Quebec.

Honourable senators, as I mentioned at the beginning, we were also informed of various transfers between the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and other federal departments.

For example, a transfer of $28 million was made from the Department of National Defence to support remediation activities under the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan.

There are a number of other transfers from various departments, such as Canadian Heritage, Fisheries and Oceans, Health, and Public Works and Government Services, all of which are outlined in detail in the supplementary estimates.

Several other organizations, such as Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Employment and Social Development Canada, and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, will also receive funding, in 2014-15, as part of their Canadian-wide programs for First Nations and Inuit communities.

Honourable senators, as I believe these figures attest, our government's undertakings with respect to Aboriginal affairs are not inconsequential. As I have indicated, for this fiscal year, they amount to $11.3 billion. No one can deny the need for or the wisdom in making such investments in support of our First Peoples. These investments are worthy of our support and deserving of our continued oversight for the longer term, something to which we, here in this chamber, pay particular attention, not just with respect to applying sober second thought but also in considering their impact and implication over time.

As we move forward and support the Main Estimates, we must also commit to looking at these investments carefully.

We must make certain that these investments yield their intended results; reach their intended audiences; and measurably achieve their intended purpose.

Thank you. Merci.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Le Budget des dépenses de 2014-2015

Je veux revenir sur certains des points qu'a soulevés le sénateur Day relativement au rapport concernant le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B) de 2014-2015 et, plus précisément, sur la nature et l'ampleur des fonds supplémentaires destinés au ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien.

Honorables sénateurs, dans l'étude du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses, le Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales nous apprend que le financement des programmes et des services aux Autochtones dans l'ensemble de l'administration fédérale, aussi bien dans le budget principal que dans le budget supplémentaire, totalisera 11,3 milliards de dollars pour l'exercice 2014-2015.

Cette somme représente une hausse d'environ 500 millions de dollars par rapport au Budget principal des dépenses de cet exercice- ci et elle sera majoritairement affectée au ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien. Toujours selon le Budget principal des dépenses, plus de 400 millions de dollars du budget du ministère serviront à financer diverses activités, notamment le Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations, les négociations relatives aux revendications territoriales et à l'autonomie, partout au Canada, ainsi que la participation autochtone aux projets de valorisation des ressources énergétiques sur la côte Ouest.

Selon des fonctionnaires du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B) de leur ministère comprend des initiatives de 153,9 millions de dollars, soit 30,9 millions de dollars en transferts nets d'autres ministères et 123 millions de dollars à l'appui d'initiatives dont je parlerai plus en profondeur.

En somme, ils apportent aux autorités requises 8,6 milliards de dollars pour l'exercice 2014-2015.

Voyons maintenant certaines des grandes initiatives qui figurent dans le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses du ministère.

Premièrement, en raison des inondations survenues dans la région d'Interlake, au Manitoba, on a demandé plus de 40 millions de dollars pour aider les résidants de 18 réserves qui ont dû être évacués en 2011 à réintégrer leur domicile ou à se trouver un autre logement à long terme.

Deuxièmement, il y a la construction de la Station canadienne de recherche dans l'Extrême-Arctique et la mise en œuvre du programme de sciences et de technologie connexe. Construite à Cambridge Bay, au Nunavut, cette installation de calibre mondial en matière de sciences et de technologie formera un réseau avec les installations régionales du Nord.

Troisièmement, les effets et les coûts continus de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens, entraînant le report de presque 12 millions de dollars de l'exercice précédent à l'exercice actuel, pour la poursuite de la mise en œuvre de cette convention, ainsi que la demande de près de 10 millions de dollars pour procéder à la numérisation de plus de 60 000 boîtes de documents actuellement entreposées à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada avant de les remettre à la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation relative aux pensionnats indiens.

Quatrièmement, la réclamation d'un montant de 10,5 millions de dollars pour favoriser la participation des Autochtones dans des projets d'infrastructure énergétique sur la côte Ouest, montant qui permettrait à environ la moitié des groupes autochtones de la Colombie-Britannique, ainsi qu'à un certain nombre de communautés autochtones de l'Alberta, de participer à ces projets. Le financement serait utilisé dans quatre secteurs d'activité principaux : la consultation précoce, la création d'emplois et la croissance économique, l'action environnementale et la restauration de l'habitat des poissons.

Ce montant de 10,5 millions de dollars permettrait une plus grande participation des Premières Nations à différents projets visant à diversifier les marchés d'exportation énergétiques du Canada vers les marchés émergents de la région Asie-Pacifique. Pour ce qui est de la mise en œuvre des ententes de règlement des revendications territoriales globales, un montant de presque 5 millions de dollars sera consacré cette année au plan de mise en œuvre de l'entente générale avec le Yukon, au plan d'évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique du Yukon, au plan régional d'aménagement du territoire du Yukon et au soutien des activités de la Commission Crie-Naskapie au Québec

Chers collègues, comme je l'ai mentionné au début, nous avons également été mis au courant de divers transferts qui ont eu lieu entre le ministère des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord et d'autres ministères fédéraux.

Par exemple, le ministère de la Défense nationale a effectué un transfert de 28 millions de dollars pour financer les mesures correctives du Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux.

Il y a eu d'autres transferts de la part de divers ministères comme Patrimoine canadien, Pêches et Océans Canada, Santé Canada et Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada. Ils sont tous décrits de façon détaillée dans le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses.

Plusieurs autres organismes, tels que la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, Emploi et Développement social Canada et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, recevront également du financement, en 2014-2015, dans le cadre de leurs programmes pancanadiens pour les collectivités des Premières Nations et inuites.

Honorables sénateurs, comme en témoignent, à mon avis, ces chiffres, les investissements du gouvernement au chapitre des affaires autochtones sont non négligeables. Comme je l'ai indiqué, pour l'exercice en cours, ils s'élèvent à 11,3 milliards de dollars. Nul ne peut nier la nécessité et la sagesse de faire tels investissements pour aider les peuples des Premières Nations. Ces investissements méritent notre appui et un suivi continu à long terme, chose à laquelle nous, les sénateurs, accordons une attention particulière, non seulement pour ce qui est d'effectuer un second examen objectif, mais aussi pour ce qui est de tenir compte des répercussions et des implications à long terme.

Alors que nous avançons tout en appuyant l'adoption du Budget principal des dépenses, engageons-nous, à cet égard, à entreprendre une vérification diligente.

Nous devons nous assurer que ces investissements donnent les résultats escomptés, parviennent aux destinataires prévus et accomplissent sensiblement l'objectif visé.

Merci.