This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senate's Role in Representing the Regions of the Canadian Federation

 

Mr. Speaker and honourable colleagues, I would like to begin by thanking my honourable colleague, Senator Nolin, for having launched his inquiry into the Senate of Canada, its purpose, its past and future, and the overarching pursuit of the reform of this place.

The notion of Senate reform has been a preoccupation in this country for more than 20 years. Since 1980, there have been no less than eight major studies on the subject. These have ranged from the Senate's own review undertaken in 1980 by the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs, entitled Report on Certain Aspects of the Canadian Constitution and commonly known as the Lamontagne report. There was the Special Joint Committee of the Senate and the House of Commons on Senate Reform in 1984, known as the Molgat- Cosgrove committee. There was the study by the Canada West Foundation and the Alberta Select Special Committee on Upper House Reform, and the Special Joint Committee on a Renewed Canada, known as the Beaudoin-Dobbie commission. In 1991, there was the Government of Canada's report, Shaping Canada's Future Together: Proposals. There was as well the Royal Commission on the Economic Union and Development Prospects for Canada issued by the Macdonald commission in 1985, and of course there was the Charlottetown Accord of 1992.

We must also be reminded that the tradition of public discourse on Senate reform dates back to at least 1874. In that year, less than a decade after Confederation, the other place heard a proposal that it consider amending the constitution to allow each province to choose senators. The debate has continued since then and, in 1909, the Senate itself first debated reform, when a proposal that terms be limited to seven years and that two thirds of senators be elected was rejected.

While it has been said that "freedom is hammered out on the anvil of discussion, dissent, and debate," one doesn't tamper lightly with a system of governance that has served this nation well for almost 150 years.

Thus far in this debate, we have been reminded through the words of George Brown of the importance of the Senate and its place as perhaps the dealmaker in Confederation. The need to accommodate diversity amongst the first four provinces was accommodated by this agreement. In this compromise, a bicameral system including a lower house with representation by population and an upper house with representation based on regional rather than provincial equality was put in place.

Let's consider, honourable colleagues, how much our diversity has grown in the nearly 150 years since our Dominion was created. From a nation of four provinces and a population of 3.463 million in 1867, we have grown to become a federation of 10 provinces and three territories, with a population of over 35 million people, who live in the second largest country in the world.

Of course, with such population growth and the diversity that comes with it, there is real need to ensure our institutions adapt accordingly. In the case of the Senate of Canada, I believe that we have yet an upper chamber that need not be elected in order to remain effective.

Sir Wilfrid Laurier seemed to agree with this perspective. He said:

Confederation is a compact, made originally by four provinces but adhered to by all the nine provinces who have entered it, and I submit to the judgment of this house and to the best consideration of its members, that this compact should not be lightly altered.

Sir John A. Macdonald echoed this sentiment in Confederation debates when he asserted:

The Senate must be an independent House, having a free action of its own, for it is only valuable as being a regulating body, calmly considering the legislation initiated by the popular branch, and preventing any hasty or ill considered legislation....

The essence of my position is a simple yet powerful notion: Democracy, while an essential component of good governance, is not necessarily its guarantor.

As former U.S. President Jimmy Carter said, "Governance should be designed as an equalizer." This means that we, as an appointed Senate, are to serve as an intended, purposeful check and balance. I believe our own Fathers of Confederation would agree.

The United Nations Social and Economic Commission for Asia and the Pacific cites eight major characteristics for good governance. It is participatory, consensus-oriented, accountable, transparent, responsive, effective and efficient, equitable and inclusive, and follows the rule of law. It assures that corruption is minimized, the views of minorities are taken into account and that the most vulnerable in society are heard in decision making. It is also responsive to the present and future needs of society.

If this is indeed a template of good governance — and I firmly believe it is — we are serving a noble and productive purpose in this place, colleagues, to the benefit of Canadian society.

Let's look at the perspective of one who has dealt frequently with the Senate and has seen its value firsthand. Mel Cappe was a former deputy minister appointed by Prime Minister Mulroney who went on to serve as Clerk of the Privy Council under Prime Minister Chrétien. In a Globe and Mail editorial published last year, he affirmed his position that an appointed Senate is essential to our democracy. He mused:

As a senior official, it was always easier for me to appear before a committee of the House of Commons than of the Senate. In House committees, the two sides would go at each other making partisan political points while the official witness sat back and watched. Stick to your facts and you could get out of there without even answering questions.

Before a Senate committee, however, you had to really know your stuff. Senators didn't have constituencies to worry about or elections to win.

They could spend their time doing their homework, delving deeply into substance and challenging official witnesses. They probed the estimates, seriously reviewed legislation and considered big strategic policy questions.

Indeed, several were expert in the fields of municipal finance, national security, health care, tax law, business and so on. It was much more difficult for an official.

Senate Committees can be major contributors to the public debate, going beyond party politics and dealing with policy. The Senate Finance Committee used to review estimates of government spending and would truly hold the government to account in a way that makes Question Period seem like a joke.

Colleagues, this is highly illustrative of the type of accountability and check and balance that the Senate of Canada brings to our Parliament.

Mr. Cappe was also emphatic of the value of the people that comprise an appointed Senate. He said:

The people appointed to the Senate were not usually professional politicians. They had actually done something with their lives. They were small business people, senior managers in big business, heads of NGOs or professionals with real-world experience. They were the kind of people who wanted to make a difference and contribute to Canada, without subjecting themselves to the contact sport of elected politics. How to attract such people to public life without making them run for office? Appoint them.

The notion of appointed versus elected bodies is not uncommon. Consider that the members of the cabinet of the United States — perhaps the most powerful body in the free world — are all appointed. They are nominated to their positions by the president and presented to the United States Senate for confirmation or rejection by a simple majority. Yet, conversely, in America, judges, sheriffs and the like are often elected.

Last year, the American Constitution Society for Law and Policy, the long-time progressive advocacy group, released the results of a landmark study on the effect of campaign contributions on judicial behaviour. The statistics confirmed what former Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor and countless other observers had long contended: judicial elections impair the fair administration of justice by fostering impermissible appearances of impartiality by judicial candidates and judges. In seeking votes and acting like politicians, judges invariably lose what they ought to prize most: their perceived credibility as neutral arbiters of cases and controversies.

Compare that to how we select judges in Canada. The Prime Minister appoints them, in consultation with the legal communities in the various provinces where the nominations of competent, well-known and accomplished people have been compiled.

Gordon Gibson, columnist and Senior Fellow in Canadian Studies at The Fraser Institute, recently suggested that senators could be selected in the same way. Provincial nominating bodies could be made up of members chosen by the governing and opposition parties in the local legislatures, by the municipalities, the bar, universities and perhaps a few others. As with court nominations, their efforts could be private and undertaken only for the eyes of the prime minister.

With regard to the views of a former prime minister, only recently in a media interview Brian Mulroney suggested that his idea for Senate reform from the proposed Meech Lake Accord could be implemented to improve the appointment process. Under the Meech proposal, a provincial government would submit a list of nominees for Senate appointments and the prime minister would pick from that list. Mr. Mulroney believes the change would lead to a strong Senate. He also asserts it would bear democratic legitimacy because provincially elected politicians are involved in the process. All of this is grist for the mill — good fodder for constructive debate.

Moreover, we must acknowledge the calls for total abolition of the Senate.

Another bicameral legislature, the Senate of Ireland, sought abolition of its upper chamber for reasons of cost, lack of power, superfluity, a desire to reduce the number of politicians and lack of democratic election. Much like the dialogue here in Canada, there had been numerous official reports published on Senate reform over the years. Those against the proposed abolition contended that there was a mandate for Senate reform; that the process of legislation needed greater scrutiny; that most Westminster-system countries have bicameral legislatures; and, most important, that the Irish financial crisis showed a need for greater governance. Ultimately, in an October 2013 referendum with results very similar to those of the 1995 referendum in Quebec, the plans for Senate abolition were rejected by 51.7 per cent of the population.

So then, honourable colleagues, what is the way forward?

First, we must acknowledge a number of important things. We are accountable and transparent to our caucuses and to the regions by which we represent Canadians. The extent of our proactive disclosure in respect of finances for this place far exceeds that of the other place. Indeed, it should set the standard for all parliamentarians.

Second, we need to improve communication with Canadians in order to enhance their understanding and perception of what we do as well as how we contribute to good governance. We act as a safeguard in the Canadian Parliament.

If there is to be meaningful engagement with Canadians and a fruitful dialogue with them about the future of the Senate, we cannot leave informing citizens to political sound bites provided by the press.

Third, our committee endeavours and the reports that flow from them are of great value, but they are poorly presented to the public and thus often fall beneath the public radar, failing to gain the attention of the media, civil society and Canadians at large.

I find it extremely disappointing that we have missed so many opportunities to shine a light on the Senate's meaningful work, which is rooted in the implementation of committee recommendations.

The examples are numerous: the Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology's 2009 report, A Healthy, Productive Canada: A Determinant of Health Approach; the Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry's 2011 report, The Canadian Forest Sector: A Future based on Innovation; and the Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights' 2011 report, Cyberbullying Hurts: Respect for Rights in the Digital Age.

Each of these studies was groundbreaking, informative and progressive in respect of their observations and recommendations.

We need to do more with them. We need to promote their value and their potential to help improve Canadian society.

Honourable colleagues, this must change.

Fourth, we must strive to remain true to our mandate and purposefully choose to override partisanship. As Sir John A. Macdonald emphasized in 1865 about the Senate:

It must be an independent House, having a free action of its own, for it is only valuable as being a regulating body, calmly considering the legislation initiated by the popular branch... but it will never set itself in opposition against the deliberate and understood wishes of the people."

We should not, must not, and cannot allow ourselves to become a rubber stamp of the House of Commons. We've seen the tacit indignation that can arise when, as a chamber, we choose to exercise our prerogative and push back proposed legislation.

We saw it first-hand last year with respect to our deliberations around Bill C-377, a private member's bill about union transparency. The other place had reported and passed the bill without amendment. However, our study of its provisions concluded that there were serious concerns over the constitutional validity of the proposed legislation both with respect to the division of powers and the Charter. Other issues raised include the protection of personal information, the cost and need for greater transparency, and the vagueness as to whom this legislation would apply.

In light of those concerns and the consideration they were given here in this place, we did not pass the legislation. It was sent back to the other chamber, and rightfully so.

We saw it again with Bill C-314, a private member's bill around the screening of women with dense breast tissue, which, while a well-intentioned piece of proposed legislation, was literally hurried through the other place with little study. Our approach saw us undertake numerous hearings that, on the basis of expert witness testimony, enabled us to conclude that enacting such legislation would have meant bringing undue harm to women. This is the value of the Senate as a check and balance; this is the intentional outcome of undertaking sober second thought.

While Triple-E might be a catchy slogan, it by no means mirrors the challenges Canada faces respecting geography and demography or ensuring that the content and application of our laws remain as noble and appropriately protective of rights and personal safety as they should be. The reality is that Triple-E is not good or thoughtful public policy.

Colleagues, we can indeed be the bulwark of the Canadian people, particularly in the face of large majority governments in the other place. We can focus on the unique and fundamentally distinctive differences and needs of our nation's diverse regions — yet do so with a longer-term view of the net benefit to Canada as the sum of its parts, and not just as a "community of communities."

Lastly, we cannot speak of reform in this place without acknowledging the recent incidences of infamy on the part of a scant few of our colleagues. They have brought true dishonour to this place and to the esteem in which it was once held.

Faced with criticisms of his own team, Prime Minister Macdonald once said, "Give me better wood and I will make you a better cabinet." Colleagues, I contend there's little wrong in any way with the quality of the timber in this place.

The misdeeds of only five senators in a period of nearly 150 years cannot be permitted to reflect upon — nor at all diminish — the very significant contributions made by the overwhelming majority of honourable senators since Confederation.

One thing is certain: Change of some kind will come to this place.

What we must now decide is whether we choose to be the architects of such change, or rather will we allow ourselves to become merely afflicted by its onset?

President Dwight D. Eisenhower wrote, "Neither a wise man nor a brave man lies down on the tracks of history to wait for the train of the future to run over him."

An appointed Senate works and can indeed flourish, providing we continue to act in the spirit of rendering independent and carefully considered study, while thoughtfully serving as the check and balance we were created to be nearly a century and a half ago.

Thank you.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Son rôle de représentation des régions

Monsieur le Président, honorables collègues, j'aimerais tout d'abord remercier le sénateur Nolin d'avoir lancé cette interpellation sur le Sénat du Canada, sa raison d'être, son passé, son avenir et l'ambition globale de le réformer.

Cela fait plus de 20 ans que la réforme du Sénat constitue une préoccupation au Canada. Depuis 1980, non moins de huit études importantes ont été réalisées sur le sujet. D'abord, il y a eu le propre examen du Sénat réalisé en 1980 par le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles, intitulé Rapport sur certains aspects de la Constitution canadienne, et communément appelé rapport Lamontagne. Il y a également eu le Comité mixte spécial du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes sur la réforme du Sénat en 1984, appelé comité Molgat-Cosgrove. En outre, il y a eu l'étude de la Canada West Foundation, le Comité spécial de l'Alberta sur la réforme de la Chambre haute, ainsi que le Comité mixte spécial sur le renouvellement du Canada, appelé commission Beaudoin-Dobbie. En 1991, le gouvernement du Canada a publié un rapport intitulé Bâtir ensemble l'avenir du Canada - Propositions. Il y a par ailleurs le rapport publié en 1985 par la Commission royale d'enquête sur l'union économique et les perspectives de développement du Canada, appelée commission Macdonald, et, bien sûr, il y a l'accord de Charlottetown de 1992.

Il faut aussi se rappeler que le débat public sur la réforme du Sénat date d'au moins 1874. Cette année-là, moins d'une décennie après la confédération, l'autre endroit a été saisi d'une motion visant à ce que la Chambre envisage de modifier la Constitution afin que chaque province puisse choisir des sénateurs. Le débat n'a jamais cessé, et c'est en 1909 que le Sénat s'est penché pour la première fois sur la question de la réforme, lorsqu'il a été proposé que les mandats des sénateurs soient limités à sept ans et que les deux tiers des sénateurs soient élus; cette motion a été rejetée.

On a dit que « la liberté prend racine dans la discussion, la dissidence et le débat », mais on ne peut pas transformer à la légère notre régime de gouvernement, puisqu'il sert bien notre nation depuis près de 150 ans.

Dans le cadre du présent débat, on a repris les mots de George Brown pour rappeler l'importance du Sénat et le fait que cette institution a été un élément clé dans les débats sur la Confédération. L'entente assurait le respect de la diversité des quatre premières provinces. Le compromis a permis l'instauration d'un système bicaméral, composé d'une Chambre basse représentant le peuple et d'une Chambre haute assurant la représentation équitable des régions et non des provinces.

Considérons alors, honorables collègues, la mesure dans laquelle notre diversité a grandi depuis les près de 150 ans que notre dominion a été créé. D'une nation de quatre provinces et d'une population de 3,463 millions de personnes, en 1867 nous avons grandi pour devenir une fédération de dix provinces et de trois territoires, avec une population qui dépasse aujourd'hui 35 millions de personnes, lesquelles occupent le deuxième plus grand territoire dans le monde.

Il faut bien attendu veiller à ce que notre institution s'adapte à la croissance de la population et à la diversité qui en découle. Je ne crois pas qu'il soit nécessaire, à notre époque, que le Sénat soit composé de représentants élus pour rester efficace.

Sir Wilfrid Laurier semble souscrire à cette façon de penser. Voici ce qu'il a dit :

La confédération est un pacte qui a été conclu en premier lieu entre quatre provinces, et qui a été accepté par les neuf provinces qui sont entrées dans l'union, et je soumets aux honorables membres de cette Chambre que ce pacte ne doit pas être modifié à la légère.

Sir John A. Macdonald abondait dans le même sens quand il a déclaré, au cours des débats sur la Confédération :

Le Sénat doit être une Chambre indépendante, douée d'une action propre, et ce n'est qu'à ce titre qu'elle pourra modérer et considérer avec calme la législation de l'assemblée et empêcher la maturité de toute loi intempestive ou pernicieuse [...]

Ma position s'appuie sur une notion simple, mais forte : la démocratie est peut-être un élément essentiel de la bonne gouvernance, mais elle n'en est pas nécessairement le garant.

Comme l'a dit un ancien président des États-Unis, Jimmy Carter, « la gouvernance doit être conçue comme un égalisateur ». Cela signifie que les sénateurs, qui sont nommés, doivent assurer intentionnellement un système de freins et de contrepoids. Je pense que les Pères de la Confédération seraient d'accord.

La Commission socioéconomique des Nations Unies pour l'Asie et le Pacifique mentionne huit grandes caractéristiques de la bonne gouvernance : elle doit être participative, axée sur le consensus, responsable, transparente, souple, efficace, équitable et ouverte à tous, en plus de respecter la primauté du droit. Elle fait en sorte que la corruption est réduite au minimum, que le point de vue des minorités est pris en considération et que la voix des plus vulnérables est entendue quand vient le temps de prendre des décisions. Elle est également attentive aux besoins présents et futurs de la société.

Si c'est là un modèle de bonne gouvernance — et je suis convaincue que c'est le cas —, nous jouons un rôle noble et fort utile à la société canadienne, chers collègues.

Voyons un peu ce que pense une personne qui a eu des rapports fréquents avec le Sénat et qui a pu en constater personnellement la valeur. Nommé sous-ministre par le premier ministre Mulroney, Mel Cappe a ensuite assumé les fonctions de greffier du Conseil privé sous l'administration Chrétien. Dans un éditorial publié l'an dernier dans le Globe and Mail, il a affirmé que, selon lui, un Sénat nommé est essentiel à notre démocratie.

Voici ce qu'il disait :

En tant que haut fonctionnaire, j'ai toujours eu plus de facilité à comparaître devant un comité de la Chambre des communes que devant un comité sénatorial. Dans les comités des Communes, les deux camps s'attaquaient l'un l'autre avec des arguments partisans, juste pour marquer des points, tandis que le fonctionnaire pouvait rester assis bien tranquille à les regarder. Il pouvait se contenter de présenter de l'information, sans même avoir à répondre à des questions.

Devant les comités sénatoriaux, toutefois, le fonctionnaire devait vraiment connaître sa matière. Les sénateurs n'ont pas à se préoccuper d'une circonscription et ne cherchent pas à se faire réélire. Ils peuvent prendre le temps de faire leur travail, de fouiller en profondeur un sujet et de remettre en question les affirmations des témoins. Ils examinent les détails des budgets des dépenses, étudient sérieusement les projets de loi et prennent la mesure des grandes questions stratégiques qui sous-tendent les politiques. Beaucoup de sénateurs sont des experts, par exemple du domaine des finances municipales, de la sécurité nationale, des soins de santé, du droit fiscal ou du monde des affaires. Témoigner devant des sénateurs est beaucoup plus difficile pour un fonctionnaire.

Les comités sénatoriaux peuvent contribuer grandement au débat public, en faisait fi de la partisannerie pour se concentrer plutôt sur les politiques. À une certaine époque, le Comité sénatorial des finances examinait les prévisions budgétaires du gouvernement et exigeait vigoureusement que le gouvernement en rende compte. Les périodes de questions actuelles ne sont qu'un pâle reflet de cette époque.

Chers collègues, ces propos illustrent superbement le rôle de reddition de comptes et de contrepoids que le Sénat du Canada peut jouer au Parlement. M. Cappe a aussi fortement insisté sur la valeur des personnes choisies pour siéger au Sénat. Voici ce qu'il en dit :

Les gens nommés au Sénat n'étaient généralement pas des politiciens professionnels : ils avaient vraiment fait quelque chose de leur vie. C'était des propriétaires de petites entreprises, des hauts dirigeants de grandes sociétés, des directeurs d'organismes non gouvernementaux, des professionnels dotés d'une expérience de terrain. Ils voulaient tous changer les choses et contribuer au Canada, et ce, sans avoir à jouer des coudes dans le brouhaha électoral. Comment peut-on attirer des gens comme ceux-là vers la vie publique sans qu'ils aient à se faire élire? Il faut les nommer.

Il est tout à fait normal de trouver des organismes qui fonctionnent par élection et d'autres, par nomination. Rappelons que les membres du Cabinet des États-Unis — peut-être le groupe le plus puissant du monde libre — sont tous nommés. Le président les nomme à leur poste; cette nomination est ensuite soumise au Sénat américain, qui la confirme ou la rejette, selon la majorité des voix. D'un autre côté, les juges et les shérifs des États-Unis sont souvent élus.

L'an dernier, l'American Constitution Society for Law and Policy, un groupe de revendication progressiste établi de longue date, a publié les résultats d'une recherche marquante concernant l'effet des contributions électorales sur la conduite de la justice. Les statistiques ont confirmé ce que Sandra Day O'Connor, ancienne juge de la Cour suprême, et d'innombrables observateurs soutenaient depuis longtemps : l'élection des juges nuit à la conduite équitable de la justice, parce qu'elle encourage une apparence d'impartialité inacceptable de la part des juges et des candidats. Comme les juges doivent s'attirer les votes et se conduire comme des politiciens, ils perdent immanquablement l'élément qui devrait être le plus précieux à leurs yeux, soit leur crédibilité en tant qu'arbitres neutres d'une affaire ou d'une controverse.

Comparons cela à la façon dont nous sélectionnons les juges au Canada. Le premier ministre les nomme, en consultation avec les communautés juridiques des différentes provinces, là où les candidatures de personnes compétentes, bien connues et accomplies sont compilées.

Gordon Gibson, chroniqueur et agrégé supérieur de recherche en études canadiennes à l'Institut Fraser, a récemment proposé que les sénateurs soient sélectionnés de la même manière. Des organes de nomination provinciaux pourraient être composés de membres choisis par les partis ministériels et de l'opposition des assemblées législatives locales, les conseils municipaux, les organisations du barreau, les universités et peut-être d'autres encore. Comme pour la sélection des juges, ils pourraient délibérer en privé, et seul le premier ministre aurait accès aux résultats.

En ce qui concerne l'opinion d'un ancien premier ministre, c'est seulement récemment, dans une interview avec les médias, que Brian Mulroney a dit que son idée pour la réforme du Sénat proposée dans l'accord du lac Meech pourrait améliorer le processus de nomination. Aux termes de cet accord, un gouvernement provincial soumettrait une liste de candidats sénatoriaux au premier ministre, qui prendrait la décision finale. M. Mulroney estime que ce changement renforcerait le Sénat. Il affirme également qu'il accorderait une légitimité démocratique au Sénat, car des politiciens provinciaux élus participeraient au processus. Mais tout cela n'est que l'eau au moulin, de bonnes idées de débat constructif.

De plus,, il nous faut reconnaître ceux qui réclament l'abolition totale du Sénat.

Dans un autre pays doté d'un système bicaméral, l'Irlande, on a également cherché à abolir la Chambre haute pour les raisons suivantes : le coût du Sénat, son pouvoir insuffisant, son inutilité, le désir de réduire le nombre de politiciens et l'absence d'élections démocratiques. Tout comme ici au Canada, plusieurs rapports officiels ont été publiés sur la réforme du Sénat au fil des ans. Ceux qui s'opposaient à l'abolition faisaient valoir qu'ils avaient le mandat de réformer le Sénat; que le processus législatif nécessitait un examen plus approfondi; que la plupart des pays se conformant au système de Westminster avaient un parlement bicaméral; et, surtout, que la crise financière irlandaise avait mis en valeur la nécessité d'améliorer la gouvernance. Finalement, dans un référendum tenu en octobre 2013, dont les résultats étaient très semblables à ceux du référendum sur l'indépendance du Québec en 1995, l'abolition du Sénat a été rejetée par 51,7 p. 100 de la population.

Quelle est donc la marche à suivre, honorables collègues?

Nous devons reconnaître un certain nombre de choses importantes. Premièrement, il faut faire preuve de transparence et rendre des comptes à nos caucus et aux régions que nous représentons. La divulgation proactive des finances du Sénat dépasse largement celle à laquelle la Chambre se prête. En fait, notre pratique à cet égard devrait être la norme pour tous les parlementaires.

Deuxièmement, nous devons améliorer la communication avec les Canadiens afin de bonifier leur compréhension et leur perception de ce que nous faisons, ainsi que les moyens avec lesquels nous contribuons à la bonne gouvernance, comme un garde-fou dans le Parlement du Canada.

Pour qu'il y ait une véritable collaboration avec les Canadiens et qu'un dialogue productif s'établisse avec eux, nous ne pouvons laisser la presse les informer à coups de formules politiques.

Troisièmement, les initiatives de nos comités et les rapports qui en découlent sont d'une grande valeur; toutefois, ils passent souvent inaperçus pour les Canadiens, les médias et la société civile, car ils leur sont mal présentés.

Le nombre d'occasions manquées pour constater le bon travail du Sénat, qui prend racine dans l'application des conclusions des comités, est extrêmement décevant.

Les exemples ne manquent pas : le rapport du Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires sociales, des sciences et de la technologie, intitulé Un Canada en santé et productif : Une approche axée sur les déterminants de la santé, déposé en 2009; le rapport du Comité sénatorial permanent de l'agriculture et des forêts, intitulé Le secteur forestier canadien : un avenir fondé sur l'innovation, déposé en 2011; et, enfin, le rapport du Comité sénatorial permanent des droits de la personne, intitulé La cyberintimidation, ça blesse! Respect des droits à l'ère numérique, déposé en 2011.

Chacune de ces études renferme des observations et des recommandations instructives et avant-gardistes.

Nous devons en faire plus avec ceux-ci. Nous devons promouvoir leur valeur et leur potentiel pour contribuer à apporter des améliorations dans la société canadienne.

Honorables sénateurs, cette situation doit changer.

Quatrièmement, nous devons nous efforcer de remplir notre mandat et être déterminés à surmonter la partisanerie. Voici ce qu'a dit sir John A. Macdonald en 1865 au sujet du Sénat :

[...] une Chambre indépendante, douée d'une action propre, et ce n'est qu'à ce titre qu'elle pourra modérer et considérer avec calme la législation de l'assemblée [...] sans jamais oser s'opposer aux vœux réfléchis et définis des populations.

Nous ne devons, et ne pouvons, pas permettre que le Sénat se contente d'approuver automatiquement les projets de loi que lui renvoie la Chambre des communes. Nous avons constaté l'indignation tacite qui éclate lorsque le Sénat décide d'exercer sa prérogative et de rejeter des projets de loi.

Cette situation s'est produite l'an dernier, lorsque nous avons étudié le projet de loi d'initiative parlementaire C-377, qui portait sur la transparence des syndicats. L'autre endroit avait adopté ce projet de loi sans amendement. Toutefois, après avoir étudié les dispositions de cette mesure législative, nous avons conclu qu'il existait des préoccupations importantes sur sa validité constitutionnelle, tant au chapitre du partage des pouvoirs que du point de vue de la Charte. Parmi les autres questions soulevées, mentionnons la protection des renseignements personnels, la nécessité d'une plus grande transparence et les coûts qui en découleraient, ainsi que le manque de précisions quant aux personnes auxquelles s'appliquerait la mesure législative.

Compte tenu de ces préoccupations et de la considération portée à celles-ci en cet endroit, nous n'avons pas adopté la législation. Elle a été renvoyée à l'autre Chambre, comme il se doit.

La même chose s'est produite dans le cas du projet de loi d'initiative parlementaire C-314, qui portait sur la sensibilisation au dépistage chez les femmes ayant un tissu mammaire dense. Cette mesure législative bien intentionnée avait été adoptée à toute vitesse à l'autre endroit, après avoir fait l'objet d'une très courte étude. Pour notre part, nous avons tenu de nombreuses séances et entendu des témoins experts, ce qui nous a amenés à conclure que le projet de loi, s'il était adopté, causerait un tort indu aux femmes. C'est en agissant ainsi, c'est-à-dire en procédant ainsi à un second examen objectif, que le Sénat peut faire contrepoids à l'autre endroit.

Le terme triple E est peut-être un slogan accrocheur, mais il ne témoigne en rien des défis de nature géographique et démographique que le Canada doit relever ni de la nécessité de veiller à ce que la teneur et l'application de nos lois continuent d'incarner la droiture ainsi que de protéger les droits et d'assurer la sécurité des Canadiens comme elles le devraient. En fait, le Sénat triple E n'a rien d'une bonne politique publique ni d'une politique réfléchie.

Chers collègues, nous pouvons assurément servir de rempart pour la population canadienne, surtout lorsque les gouvernements jouissent d'une forte majorité à l'autre endroit. Nous pouvons nous concentrer sur les différences et les besoins particuliers et fondamentalement distincts des nombreuses régions de notre pays, tout en gardant à l'esprit qu'à long terme, il en découlera des avantages nets pour le Canada si l'on veut qu'il constitue bien la somme de ses parties, et non une simple « communauté de communautés ».

Enfin, nous ne pouvons pas parler de réforme dans cette enceinte sans tenir compte des événements récents, qui ont rendu tristement célèbres quelques-uns de nos collègues. Ces personnes ont réellement jeté le déshonneur sur cette institution et porté atteinte à la réputation dont elle jouissait.

Confronté aux critiques des membres de sa propre équipe, le premier ministre Macdonald a un jour déclaré ceci : « Donnez-moi du meilleur bois et je vous fabriquerai un meilleur cabinet. » Chers collègues, je ne pense pas que nous sommes aux prises avec un problème de qualité du bois dans cette enceinte.

Nous ne pouvons pas laisser les méfaits de seulement cinq sénateurs, sur une période de 150 ans, ternir ou déprécier les contributions importantes faites par la majorité des sénateurs depuis la Confédération.

Une chose est sûre : il y aura bel et bien des changements ici, dans cette enceinte.

Nous devons maintenant décider si nous voulons être les architectes de ces changements ou si nous accepterons de les subir passivement.

Le président Dwight D. Eisenhower a écrit ceci : « Un homme intelligent ou brave tire des leçons du passé; il n'attend pas que l'avenir lui en donne d'autres. »

Un Sénat dont les membres sont nommés peut fonctionner et même s'épanouir, pourvu qu'il continue d'étudier de façon indépendante et bien réfléchie les questions dont il est saisi, tout en assurant un contrepoids, car c'est pour jouer ce rôle que le Sénat a été créé, il y a près de 150 ans.

Merci.