This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Museums Act

Hon. Nicole Eaton moved second reading of Bill C-7, An Act to amend the Museums Act in order to establish the Canadian Museum of History and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Honourable senators, I'm honoured to rise today to speak to you about Bill C-7, proposed legislation creating the Canadian Museum of History, Canada's newest national museum.

Museums are mirrors of the societies in which they are situated and it bears pointing out that while our society is still a young one, our historical heritage is robust. We are only three years short of Canada's 150th birthday, a time to focus on the people, places and achievements that bring us together as Canadians. It's an occasion to learn and take pride in all that makes Canada unique and an opportunity to explore and celebrate our long and rich Canadian history.

Aboriginal people have continuously inhabited this land for 10,000 years, the Vikings visited our shores more than 1,000 years ago, and successive waves of immigrants endured the harsh environments of this huge land to make this country their home, while helping to build this nation. People continue to choose to make Canada their home. We are a nation of immigrants. Discovery and adventure are in our genes. We have stories to be told and events and people to learn from and to celebrate. These stories tell us who we are and how this country has evolved over time.

Honourable senators, despite the richness of our past, I was surprised and, quite frankly, saddened to learn that 82 per cent of young Canadians could not pass a basic Canadian history exam. Colleagues, I believe that you will agree that this situation must change. I believe equally that the creation of the Canadian museum of history will help us in this endeavour by enabling us to tell our fulsome story sequentially, in a more linear narrative fashion.

It is an opportunity not only to enhance the presence of a great institution in the capital of Canada but also, and perhaps equally important, to support Canadian history museums across the country.

National museums exist in countries all over the world. The U.S. has the Smithsonian, the National Museum of American History, the German Historical Museum and the National Museum of Japanese History, to mention a few.

The Canadian Museum of Civilization is a beloved national museum valued by Canadians for its collections, its exhibitions, its expertise and its unique architecture. It is Canada's largest and most popular museum. This is why the Government of Canada recognizes and equally values this museum. It is for exactly this reason that the decision was taken to build on the strengths of this great museum rather than to create a completely new organization.

The museum will continue to exist but with a new name and a clearly focused mandate. There will be no interruption of the corporation's ability to operate and no impact on the status of the employees, officers and trustees. In fact, it is most important to note that the change from the "Canadian Museum of Civilization" to the "Canadian Museum of History" will not diminish or disturb its operations. These are protected under section 27 of the Museum Act, providing a virtual firewall around the following matters: one, the acquisition, disposal, conservation or use of any museum material relevant to its activities; two, its activities and programs for the public, including exhibitions, displays and publications; and, three, research with respect to these matters previously referenced. I am confident that the management and staff that made the Canadian Museum of Civilization a great museum will make the Canadian museum of history an even greater one.

Nothing in Bill C-7 will interfere with the museum's ability to conduct research. In fact, the museum recently released a joint research strategy for the Canadian Museum of Civilization and the Canadian War Museum that will guide research activities over the next 10 years. The strategy defines the important role that the research function plays in the museum, acknowledging it is a core institutional activity.

The Canadian Museum of Civilization has always has had an international role as a knowledge-creating institution. This will not change. The museum will continue to conduct scientific research and share its expertise on collection management, research and conservation, both nationally and with other museums around the world.

It will continue to host international travelling exhibitions. In fact, this past October 31, the Canadian Museum of Civilization announced an agreement to host a major exhibition chronicling 5,000 years of Greek history in 2015. On November 12, the museum signed an agreement with its Japanese counterpart, the National Museum of Japanese History. This agreement refers to the pursuit of collaborative research, the exchange of scholars and scholarships, and collaboration relating to exhibitions and educational activities. Like the agreement with Greece, it demonstrates a clear commitment on the part of the future Canadian museum of history to maintain its international and research activities.

In 2012, the Government of Canada announced a significant one-time federal investment of $25 million that will allow the Canadian Museum of Civilization to undertake the renovation of more than 52,000 square feet — the first major renovation in 25 years. The museum will continue to thrive, to be a national and international destination, but will also focus on its role as a national leader and centre of expertise.

In order to support the government's investment and to ensure that Canadians from all regions have an opportunity to become more familiar with Canada's history, the new museum will sign agreements with other museum across the country to create the Canadian history museum network. The museum will work closely with other Canadian museums to make its national collection available through loans and travelling exhibitions. It will also provide a permanent venue, an additional 7,500 square feet at the new museum, for other Canadian museums to showcase their collections and contribute to the larger national narrative. These partnerships will further a collective telling of Canadian history, leverage strengths of partners, focus on gaps in the collection and achieve financial benefits through, for example, cost-sharing and joint initiatives.

The museum plans to establish three levels of partnership: a history museum network, a museum affiliate program, and formalized partnerships with federal organizations and other key public and private institutions.

One such partnership was announced this week. The Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, with funding from Canada's oil sands producers, will be an official partner of the museum and the national presenting sponsor of its 1867 exhibition and related programming. 1867 will be an eye-opening exhibition on the birth of Confederation, to be presented from November 2014 to September 2015 at the Museum of Civilization, soon to be, with your blessing, honourable colleagues, the Canadian museum of history. The petroleum producers' sponsorship will also support the production and distribution of travelling versions of the exhibition, helping the museum engage directly with Canadians as they commemorate this national anniversary in their own communities.

The history museum network will consist of several of the largest museums in the country, museums that have significant capacity and have a mandate to cover the history of Canada. These agreements have already been signed, and discussions are under way with several other museums in the country.

Subject to meeting some criterion standards of care, the network will include smaller museums too, through the museum affiliate program. Comprised of smaller institutions across the country, they too will be able to borrow or cooperate on collection, program and exhibits. They will also be invited to an annual meeting, providing an opportunity to share expertise and ideas that will benefit all involved.

On June 11, 2013, the Minister of Heritage and Official Languages announced a range of measures to promote Canadian history. These measures included money for new heritage minutes, funding to allow more veterans and soldiers to connect with students in their classrooms, and support for museums and youth groups to discover Canadian history in their communities.

Modifications to the Canadian Heritage Museums Assistance Program were also announced. These modifications will assist small history museums that wish to borrow artifacts from the Canadian Museum of History by helping to fund the cost of packaging and safe transportation. The Museum Assistance Program has also been adjusted to eliminate the requirement for exhibits to travel outside of their province or territory of origin.

Why has the government made these changes, honourable colleagues? Because local and provincial history are a very important part of our broader national history.

The Government of Canada supports heritage institutions and organizations through a range of measures to increase their professional knowledge, skills and practices and to enhance their abilities to preserve and present Canada's heritage and history. This is done so that Canadians will have access to and an enhanced appreciation for our museums' treasures and our collective legacy, not just here in the National Capital Region but across the country.

Since its announcement, this project has received broad-based support from Canadians, including numerous historians and people in historical associations from every corner of the country. While some people do not always agree with our government, they do support the need to create a national infrastructure for the teaching of Canadian history. One such supporter is Douglas Cardinal, the original architect of the Canadian Museum of Civilization and a very well-known and accomplished Canadian. In response to the creation of this museum he said:

I love the fact that the museum keeps evolving and growing, and people still feel that it's a national monument that can expand and serve all of Canada.

This project has the support of two of Canada's award-winning historians. Michael Bliss said it was very exciting that Canada's major museum would now be explicitly focused on Canada's history and he thanked the government for making the museum possible.

Jack Granatstein, who, as many in the other place know, wrote the book Who Killed Canadian History? said:

This move (to create the Canadian Museum of National History) is exactly what I thought should happen. I'm delighted the government and the museum are doing it.

Further to this, Deborah Morrison of Canada's National History Society said:

. . . the potential for the new Museum to help create a national framework for our history is compelling. And the time is right.

John McAvity of the Canadian Museums Association said:

The renaming of the museum is essential, that it is good news and that it will give Canadians greater access to their heritage and history.

The Historica-Dominion Institute said:

We enthusiastically welcome the creation of this new Canadian Museum of History.

John English, a former Liberal member of Parliament and a biographer of Pierre Elliott Trudeau, said:

Congratulations on the Canadian Museum of History.

There is indeed widespread support for this idea, and it is a great boost to the museum. The museum's proposal has also had the support of the former Mayor of Gatineau and the Mayor of Ottawa, Marc Bureau and Jim Watson respectively. They both support this initiative and its importance to the National Capital Region.

Many other historians have added their names to the list of those who support the initiative: Réal Bélanger, Charlotte Gray, Anne Trépanier, Norm Christie, Yves Frenette, Bob Plamondon, Richard Gwyn, Jane Fullerton, Suzanne Sauvage, Brian Lee Crowley and many others.

Again, colleagues, these are people who may not be Conservative politically yet who understand the value of working together and of putting aside partisanship to support the creation of institutions that seek to bind this country together.

The Toronto Star, a well-known Conservative paper, said it very well in its editorial on the subject:

It was welcome to hear [the government] announce...the rebranding of the Canadian Museum of Civilization...as the Canadian Museum of History. Canada's history should be celebrated in [this] revamped museum. ...we want to make history come alive, ensure we don't forget our shared past and [that we] honour our heroes.

It is a true statistic, but a sad one, that in only four of Canada's 13 provinces and territories is it necessary for a child to take a history class to graduate from high school. While this reality speaks to an area of provincial jurisdiction, it does not mean we should step away from the importance of it as a national government and a national Parliament.

We can work together and do what we can to talk about Canada's history. Together, we can improve education by supporting our museums, by building a great national museum, by uniting all our museums and working together on this project. In the past, Canada's Parliament has come together. When a former Liberal government decided to build the Canadian War Museum people said it was divisive and a waste of money and we ought not to do it. However, the Liberal government had a vision and said it was the right thing to do. The Canadian War Museum is now one of the best museums in the world, rivaled only by Les Invalides in Paris and the Imperial War Museum in London.

A rich and vibrant Canadian museum of history enables an expression and a reflection on the depth and breadth of that which makes us a great nation. We have a compelling, dynamic and fascinating story that needs to be shared with all Canadians and indeed the world, through a world-class museum of history, and for this reason I commend this bill to you for passage forthwith. Thank you.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La Loi sur les musées

L'honorable Nicole Eaton propose que le projet de loi C-7, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les musées afin de constituer le Musée canadien de l'histoire et apportant des modifications corrélatives à d'autres lois, soit lu pour la deuxième fois.

— Honorables sénateurs, c'est un honneur pour moi de parler aujourd'hui du projet de loi C-7, qui créerait le plus récent musée national du pays, le Musée canadien de l'histoire.

Les musées sont à l'image de la société dans laquelle ils s'inscrivent, et je rappelle que, si notre société à nous est encore jeune, elle n'en est pas moins riche d'un vaste patrimoine historique. Trois ans à peine nous séparent du 150e anniversaire du Canada, qui constituera l'occasion de célébrer les gens, les lieux et les réalisations qui unissent et définissent le peuple canadien. Il s'agit d'une occasion pour mieux connaître ce qui distingue le Canada et en tirer fierté, une occasion d'explorer et de célébrer la longue et riche histoire canadienne.

Les Autochtones ont occupé ces terres de façon continue depuis 10 000 ans. Les Vikings ont débarqué sur nos côtes il y a plus de 1 000 ans et, depuis, des vagues successives d'immigrants ont affronté le climat brutal de cette immense contrée où ils se sont établis pour contribuer à bâtir un pays. Les gens continuent de choisir le Canada pour s'y établir. Nous sommes une nation d'immigrants. La découverte et l'aventure sont dans nos gènes. Nos histoires doivent être racontées. Il y a des événements et des personnes qui peuvent nous enseigner des choses et que nous devrions célébrer. Ces histoires nous racontent qui nous sommes et comment notre pays a évolué avec le temps.

Honorables sénateurs, j'ai été surprise — et, bien franchement, attristée — d'apprendre que, malgré la richesse de notre passé, 82 p. 100 des jeunes Canadiens échouent à un examen de base sur l'histoire canadienne. Chers collègues, vous conviendrez comme moi que cette situation doit changer. Je crois également que la création du Musée canadien de l'histoire nous aidera en ce sens, car elle nous permettra de raconter notre histoire de manière approfondie et séquentielle, de façon plus linéaire.

Il s'agit d'une occasion pour non seulement rehausser la présence d'un remarquable établissement de la capitale nationale, mais aussi appuyer les musées d'histoire canadienne partout au Canada, ce qui est tout aussi important.

Les pays du monde entier ont des musées nationaux. Les États-Unis ont le Smithsonian, le Musée national de l'histoire américaine, le Musée historique allemand et le Musée national de l'histoire japonaise, pour n'en nommer que quelques-uns.

Le Musée canadien des civilisations est un musée national cher aux Canadiens en raison de ses collections, de ses expositions, de son expertise et de son architecture sans pareil. Il s'agit du musée le plus grand et le plus populaire du Canada. C'est pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada le reconnaît et le valorise. C'est précisément pour cette raison qu'on a pris la décision d'exploiter les atouts de ce grand musée au lieu de créer une organisation totalement nouvelle.

Le musée continuera d'exister, mais il portera un nouveau nom et son mandat sera clairement défini. La société du musée continuera d'exercer ses activités sans interruption et les changements n'auront pas d'incidence sur les employés, les agents et les curateurs du musée. En fait, il convient de souligner que le changement de nom du musée, qui s'appellera maintenant « Musée canadien de l'histoire » au lieu de « Musée canadien des civilisations », ne compromettra pas ses activités. En effet, celles-ci sont protégées par l'article 27 de la Loi sur les musées, qui prévoit une protection virtuelle en ce qui concerne les aspects suivants : premièrement, l'acquisition, la disposition, la conservation ou l'utilisation d'éléments de matériel de musée relatifs à leurs activités; deuxièmement, les activités et programmes à l'intention du public, notamment les expositions et les publications; et troisièmement, la recherche portant sur les points que je viens de mentionner. Je suis convaincue que les gestionnaires et les employés qui ont assuré la réussite du Musée canadien des civilisations feront en sorte que le Musée canadien de l'histoire connaisse encore plus de succès.

Aucune disposition du projet de loi C-7 n'empêchera le musée de faire de la recherche. En fait, le musée a récemment publié une stratégie de recherche conjointe pour le Musée canadien des civilisations et le Musée canadien de la guerre, qui orientera les activités de recherche au cours des 10 prochaines années. Cette stratégie définit le rôle important que joue la fonction de recherche au sein du musée et reconnaît qu'il s'agit d'une activité clé pour cette institution.

Sur la scène internationale, le Musée canadien des civilisations a toujours joué le rôle d'institution créatrice de savoir. Cela ne changera pas. Le musée continuera de mener des recherches scientifiques et de faire valoir son expertise en ce qui concerne la gestion et la conservation des collections et la recherche en la matière, tant à l'échelle nationale qu'auprès d'autres musées ailleurs dans le monde.

Il continuera d'accueillir des expositions itinérantes internationales. En fait, le 31 octobre, le Musée canadien des civilisations a annoncé qu'il avait conclu une entente en vue d'accueillir, en 2015, une importante exposition relatant 5 000 ans d'histoire de la Grèce. Le 12 novembre, il a conclu une entente avec un musée japonais semblable, le musée national de l'histoire du Japon, afin de mener des projets de recherche en partenariat, de mettre en œuvre un programme d'échange de boursiers et de bourses et de travailler en collaboration pour les expositions et les activités éducatives. Cette entente, tout comme celle conclue avec la Grèce, montre que le futur Musée canadien de l'histoire est fermement déterminé à poursuivre ses activités internationales et ses projets de recherche.

En 2012, le gouvernement fédéral a fait l'annonce d'un important investissement ponctuel de 25 millions de dollars, qui permettra au Musée canadien des civilisations de procéder à des rénovations réparties sur plus de 52 000 pieds carrés. Ce seront les premiers travaux majeurs en 25 ans. Le musée continuera à rayonner et il demeurera une destination nationale et internationale, mais il se concentrera également sur son rôle de centre d'expertise et de chef de file national.

Pour appuyer l'investissement du gouvernement et veiller à ce que les Canadiens de toutes les régions aient la chance d'approfondir leur connaissance de l'histoire du pays, le nouveau musée signera des ententes avec les musées de partout au pays dans le but de créer le réseau des musées canadiens d'histoire, grâce auquel il travaillera de concert avec d'autres musées canadiens afin de rendre la collection nationale accessible au moyen de prêts et d'expositions itinérantes. Le projet de loi prévoit aussi une installation permanente, un ajout de 7 500 pieds carrés, permettant ainsi à d'autres musées de présenter leurs collections et de contribuer à la narration de l'histoire du pays. Les partenariats aideront à raconter l'histoire commune du Canada, feront fond sur les forces des divers partenaires, viendront combler les lacunes dans la collection et produiront des avantages financiers, par exemple grâce au partage de coûts et aux initiatives conjointes.

Le musée compte définir trois niveaux de partenariat : le réseau des musées d'histoire, le programme d'affiliation des musées et les partenariats officiels avec des organismes fédéraux et d'importantes institutions publiques et privées.

Un de ces partenariats a justement été annoncé cette semaine. En effet, l'Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers, grâce au soutien financier de l'industrie des sables bitumineux du Canada, sera le partenaire national officiel de l'exposition 1867 et de la programmation qui y sera associée. Il s'agit d'une exposition révélatrice sur la Confédération qui sera présentée de novembre 2014 à septembre 2015 au Musée canadien des civilisations — qui, si vous le voulez bien, honorables sénateurs, deviendra bientôt le Musée canadien de l'histoire. La commandite de l'association permettra de concevoir une version itinérante de l'exposition, ce qui aidera le musée à joindre tous les Canadiens de manière à leur permettre de célébrer le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération dans leur collectivité.

Le réseau des musées d'histoire sera composé de quelques-uns des plus grands musées du pays, des musées qui ont une capacité considérable et dont le mandat se rapporte à l'histoire du Canada. Les accords ont déjà été signés et des pourparlers sont en cours avec plusieurs autres musées du pays.

Le programme d'affiliation permettra à de plus petits musées de faire également partie du réseau moyennant le respect de certains critères et de certaines normes de soin. Ces établissements plus petits pourront, eux aussi, emprunter des objets de la collection et collaborer à la réalisation d'activités et d'expositions. Ils seront en outre invités à une réunion annuelle qui sera l'occasion d'un échange d'idées et de connaissances dont profiteront tous les participants.

Le 11 juin 2013, le ministre du Patrimoine et des Langues officielles a annoncé une série de mesures visant à promouvoir l'histoire du Canada. Des fonds seront affectés à la production de nouvelles capsules des Minutes du patrimoine, permettront à un plus grand nombre d'anciens combattants et de membres actuels des Forces canadiennes de rencontrer des élèves en classe et aideront les musées et les groupes de jeunes à découvrir l'histoire du Canada dans leur collectivité.

Des modifications au Programme d'aide aux musées de Patrimoine canadien ont également été annoncées. Ainsi, il sera plus facile, pour les petits musées, d'emprunter des objets de la collection du Musée canadien de l'histoire, car ils recevront des fonds pour payer l'emballage et le transport sécuritaire. En outre, les expositions itinérantes ne devront plus nécessairement circuler à l'extérieur de leur province ou de leur territoire d'origine.

Pourquoi le gouvernement a-t-il apporté ces changements, honorables sénateurs? Parce que l'histoire locale et provinciale fait partie intégrante de l'histoire nationale.

Le gouvernement du Canada soutient les institutions et les organisations patrimoniales grâce à une foule de mesures visant à accroître leurs connaissances professionnelles, leurs compétences et leurs pratiques, et à leur permettre de mieux préserver et présenter le patrimoine et l'histoire du pays. Cette mesure est proposée pour que les Canadiens aient davantage accès aux trésors des musées et à notre patrimoine collectif, non seulement dans la région de la capitale nationale, mais dans tout le pays.

Depuis qu'il a été annoncé, ce projet a bénéficié d'un vaste appui chez les Canadiens, dont plusieurs historiens et membres d'associations historiques de partout au pays. Certaines personnes qui ne sont pas toujours d'accord avec le gouvernement reconnaissent néanmoins la nécessité de créer une infrastructure nationale pour enseigner l'histoire canadienne. Parmi les défenseurs de cette initiative, on compte le premier architecte du Musée canadien des civilisations, Douglas Cardinal, un Canadien très réputé et talentueux. Voici ce qu'il a dit au sujet de la création de ce musée :

Je suis ravi de voir le musée continuer à évoluer et à se développer, et de constater que les gens estiment encore qu'il s'agit d'un monument national pouvant rayonner et servir tout le Canada.

Ce projet a l'appui de deux historiens canadiens primés. Michael Bliss s'est dit très enthousiaste à l'idée que le plus important musée du Canada se consacre explicitement à l'histoire du Canada, et il a remercié le gouvernement de permettre la création du musée.

Je cite Jack Granatstein, que bien des gens à l'autre endroit connaissent comme l'auteur du livre intitulé Who Killed Canadian History :

Cette mesure — la création du Musée canadien de l'histoire — est exactement ce qu'il fallait faire. Je suis ravi de voir le gouvernement et le musée aller de l'avant.

En outre, Deborah Morrison, de la Société d'histoire nationale du Canada, a déclaré ceci :

[...] Le potentiel de ce musée à établir un réseau national pour mettre en valeur notre histoire est fascinant. Le moment est venu d'aller de l'avant.

John McAvity, de l'Association des musées canadiens, a dit ce qui suit :

Rebaptiser le musée est essentiel. C'est une bonne nouvelle. Il donnera aux Canadiens un meilleur accès à leur patrimoine et à leur histoire.

L'Institut Historica-Dominion a affirmé ce qui suit :

Nous accueillons la nouvelle de la création du Musée canadien de l'histoire avec enthousiasme.

Pour sa part, John English, ancien député libéral et biographe de Pierre Elliott Trudeau, a déclaré ceci :

Mes félicitations pour ce projet du Musée canadien de l'histoire.

Le concept récolte de toute évidence un vaste appui, et cela contribue grandement à mettre en valeur le musée. Le projet de musée a reçu l'appui de l'ancien maire de Gatineau, Marc Bureau, et du maire d'Ottawa, Jim Watson. Les deux sont d'avis qu'il s'agit d'une initiative importante pour la région de la capitale nationale.

Plusieurs historiens ont également exprimé leur soutien au projet, dont Réal Bélanger, Charlotte Gray, Anne Trépanier, Norm Christie, Yves Frenette, Bob Plamondon, Richard Gwyn, Jane Fullerton, Suzanne Sauvage et Brian Lee Crowley.

Ces gens, qui ne sont pas nécessairement des conservateurs, comprennent que, dans des cas comme celui-ci, il faut concerter nos efforts, mettre la partisanerie de côté et soutenir la création d'institutions qui cimentent notre pays.

Le Toronto Star, bien connu pour être un journal conservateur, a publié à ce sujet un éditorial très éloquent :

Nous sommes heureux que [le gouvernement] transforme le Musée canadien des civilisations et établisse ainsi le Musée canadien de l'histoire. L'histoire du Canada mérite d'être célébrée dans ce nouveau musée [... ] Nous voulons rendre l'histoire vivante, nous assurer de ne jamais oublier notre passé et célébrer nos héros.

Sur les 13 provinces et territoires canadiens, seulement quatre exigent que les élèves réussissent un cours d'histoire pour obtenir leur diplôme d'études secondaires. C'est une statistique désolante, mais bien réelle. Bien entendu, il s'agit d'une compétence provinciale, mais cela ne diminue en rien l'importance que le gouvernement et le Parlement fédéraux doivent accorder à l'histoire.

Nous devrions faire tout ce qui est en notre pouvoir pour diffuser l'histoire canadienne. Ensemble, nous pouvons renforcer son enseignement en appuyant nos musées, en édifiant un grand musée national, en jetant des ponts entre tous nos musées et en collaborant dans le cadre de ce projet.

Par le passé, il est arrivé que les parlementaires travaillent de concert. Lorsqu'un précédent gouvernement libéral a décidé de créer le Musée canadien de la guerre, des gens ont rejeté le projet, sous prétexte qu'il était porteur de discorde, que c'était du gaspillage d'argent et que le moment était mal choisi. Cependant, le gouvernement libéral avait une vision et était convaincu que c'était la chose à faire. Aujourd'hui, le Musée canadien de la guerre compte parmi les meilleurs musées du monde, à l'instar des Invalides, à Paris, et de l'Imperial War Museum de Londres.

Un riche et dynamique musée canadien de l'histoire permet l'expression de ce qui a forgé l'identité canadienne ainsi qu'une réflexion sur notre grande nation. Le Canada a une histoire vivante et fascinante qui doit être racontée à tous les Canadiens et au monde entier dans un musée de calibre mondial. Pour cette raison, je recommande l'adoption sans délai de ce projet de loi. Merci.