This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Immigration and Refugee Protection Act

Hon. Nicole Eaton moved second reading of Bill C-43, An Act to amend the Honourable senators, Canadians have a long tradition of being welcoming and generous. In fact, since 2006, our Conservative government has maintained the highest sustained levels of immigration in Canada's history and one of the highest per capita rates of immigration in the developed world.

In order to maintain that tradition, Canadians need to have confidence in the way we undertake and manage immigration. Over the past few months, our government has put forward a number of initiatives aimed at bringing transformational change to this country's immigration system.

Honourable senators, for too long Canadians have seen countless stories of people who view Canada as a doormat, a light touch, a nation whose immigration system is an easy target for fraudsters and criminals.

Understandably, Canadians have had enough. They have made it clear they want us to restore the integrity of our immigration system, and our Conservative government is doing just that.

We are creating an immigration system that can fill significant current and future labour shortages across the country and help us meet our economic needs more quickly and efficiently — a system designed to give newcomers the best possible chance to succeed.

You see, honourable senators, the security and integrity of the immigration system go hand-in-hand with its ability to best serve our society and our economy. That is why our government introduced Bill C-43, the faster removal of foreign criminals bill.

Bill C-43 fulfils a long-standing commitment to take action on a problem afflicting our immigration system. Honourable senators, Bill C-43 does three things: It makes it easier for the government to deport dangerous foreign criminals from our country; it makes it harder for those who may pose a risk to Canada to enter the country in the first place; and it removes barriers for genuine visitors who want to come to Canada.

Our Conservative government is committed to the safety and security of Canadians. This bill is a strong expression of that commitment.

Under our current laws, if a foreign national is sentenced to six months or greater, they are subject to removal; yet, under the current system, they have access to the Immigration Appeal Division as long as their sentence is less than two years.

Through Bill C-43, our government will streamline the process for deporting foreign criminals by limiting access to the Immigration Appeal Division of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada.

This change would reduce the amount of time certain criminals could remain in Canada by up to 14 months. We will ensure that foreign criminals will not be allowed to endlessly abuse our generosity.

Unfortunately, there are many examples of convicted criminals doing just that — murderers, drug traffickers, fraudsters, child abusers and thieves, some of whom were on most-wanted lists. In fact, on average, each year 850 foreign criminals appeal their deportation. Currently there are more than 2,700 foreign criminals awaiting a decision on whether they can delay their deportation.

The problem is clear: Not only have these dangerous foreign criminals already committed crimes and victimized Canadians, but also many use the time they are allowed to remain in Canada while they appeal their deportation to commit more crimes and victimize even greater numbers of Canadians.

Let me relate just a few examples — out of many — that illustrate the extent of the problem and its impact upon Canadians.

Geo Wei Wu, born in China, came to Canada as a student and gained permanent residency as a spouse in 1990. Over the next two decades, he was convicted of a series of crimes including attempted theft, dangerous operation of a motor vehicle, criminal harassment, assault causing bodily harm, break and enter, fraud — and, sadly, the list goes on.

He served time for each of these convictions. By 2008, he was found inadmissible and a removal order was issued. Under the current rules, he was entitled to appeal this order.

The appeal process took almost two and a half years and ultimately failed: Wu's appeal was dismissed.

Wu then disappeared after failing to show up for his pre- removal interview. The CBSA posted his information on its "Wanted" website last summer. Just a few weeks ago, media reported that he is now wanted by Peel Regional Police in connection with the kidnapping last year of two men in Mississauga. He is still at large.

Here is another example. Patrick Octaves De Florimonte arrived as a permanent resident from Guyana in 1994. Within two years of his arrival, he was convicted of a serious crime: assault with a weapon. Less than a year later, he was convicted of two more crimes: theft and possession of a narcotic. Six months later, he was convicted once again of assault. Just six more months passed and he already faced yet another conviction: uttering threats.

Then there is the case of Jackie Tran, born in Vietnam. He became a permanent resident in January of 1993, when he was 10 years old. By his late teens, he had become known to law enforcement officials in Calgary, and he was first convicted at the age of 19 for cocaine trafficking.

Despite having a long criminal record as a gangster and a major drug trafficker, he had never received a sentence of more than two years less a day. Thanks to repeated appeals, he was able to continuously delay his deportation for six years. He was first ordered deported in April of 2004 but was not removed from Canada until March of 2010.

Take as one final example, perhaps the most sadly illustrative case, Clinton Gayle from Jamaica, who received a sentence of two years less a day when he was convicted of multiple drug offences.

Between 1990 and 1996, the government tried to deport Mr. Gayle on multiple occasions, but because many of his convictions earned him sentences of less than two years, he was able to appeal his deportation and delay his removal from Canada.

Tragically, on the night of June 16, 1994, Toronto Police Service constables Todd Baylis and Mike Leone were on foot patrol. They encountered Gayle, a veteran drug trafficker, who had with him a fully loaded nine millimetre handgun and pockets filled with bags of crack cocaine.

Clinton Gayle struck Constable Baylis and then attempted to flee the scene. He was caught by the two young Toronto officers and a gunfight erupted. Tragically, Constable Baylis, a young man in his mid-20s, was shot in the head and killed in the line of duty, after only four years' service, leaving behind family, friends and colleagues.

Honourable senators, under the current system, too many of these foreign criminals have been able to appeal deportation orders and extend their time in Canada following convictions.

Serious criminals sentenced to imprisonment for any time less than two years have been able to delay or permanently set aside their removal orders. While they remain in Canada, on our streets and in our communities, many commit more crimes and further victimize innocent Canadians.

Measures in the faster removal of foreign criminals bill will remove a right of appeal, which will expedite their deportation.

While we agree that even foreign criminals deserve their day in court, we do not believe they deserve endless years in court, delaying their removal. We agree with due process, not endless process due to technicality.

Simply said, we are closing the avenues of delay that have been long and winding roads of process that have protected foreign criminals and allowed further harm to both new and existing Canadian citizens.

In addition, foreign nationals who are inadmissible on the most serious grounds — such as involvement in organized crime or perpetration of war crimes — would no longer have access to a program that is meant for cases deserving of humanitarian and compassionate consideration.

It is shocking that war criminals, terrorists and gangsters involved in organized crimes could delay their deportation by applying to remain in Canada under these grounds.

It is doubly ironic considering that humanitarianism and compassion are precisely what these individuals failed to show their victims. I think we can all agree that this is a common-sense change that is long overdue.

In addition, honourable senators, in order to prevent those who pose a risk to Canada from entering the country in the first place, Bill C-43 provides the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration a new authority: an authority, in exceptional cases, to deny temporary resident status to foreign nationals who seek to do harm to Canadians.

Honourable senators, there is a good deal of support for this legislation.

In October 2011, the Quebec legislature passed a unanimous motion: "To demand that the federal government refuse entry to Canada of Abdur Raheem Green and of Hamza Tzortzis given their hate speech, which is homophobic and minimizes violence against women."

There has also been a lot of media interest in unapologetic hate mongers like Fred Phelps and the Westboro Baptists. This group vehemently accosts gays, lesbians, women and our brave soldiers in uniform. They have made specifically clear their unapologetic hatred for Canada.

The comments and positions of those whose stock in trade is hatred illustrate the best rationale for these new provisions. I am sure everyone will agree that such individuals should not be allowed into Canada.

For years, immigration ministers have been asked to keep people who promote hatred and violence out of Canada. I think most Canadians assume that the immigration minister has this ability. The truth is the minister certainly does not. Unfortunately, under the current system if they meet the criteria to enter Canada, there is no mechanism to deny them entry.

Bill C-43 will change that. It will ensure that those who pose a risk to Canadians, who spew hate and incite violence will be barred from entering our country. This new authority would allow the government to make it clear to those foreign nationals that they are not welcome here, that they should not travel to Canada and they that will be refused temporary resident status.

We have been transparent about the guidelines that would be used by the minister, so transparent in fact that the minister tabled the guidelines at committee in the other place. They are posted on the departmental website for all Canadians, and indeed all who seek refuge and citizenship here, to review. Those who would be barred under the new provisions include anyone who promotes terrorism, violence or criminal activity. As well, foreign nationals from sanctioned countries or corrupt foreign officials would also be barred from entering.

I think all honourable senators in this chamber can agree that these provisions represent common sense. I find it hard to believe anyone could disagree with them. What is more, in making these legislative changes, Canada is playing catch-up. We indeed lag behind other countries that already have similar powers in place. In fact, most countries have powers that are much more discretionary than those in Bill C-43. For example, in the United Kingdom, the Home Office has barred the entry of individuals whose presence is considered "not conducive to the public good."

In Australia, the Minister for Immigration and Citizenship has various powers to act personally in the national interest. It is up to the minister to determine whether a decision is warranted. In addition, Australia's immigration laws allow for visa refusals based on foreign policy interests and the likelihood that an individual will promote or participate in violence in the community.

In the United States, the Secretary of State may direct a consular officer to refuse a visa, if necessary, for U.S. foreign policy or security interests. The Secretary of Homeland Security can delegate the authority to immigration officials to revoke a visa. Additionally, the President may restrict the international travel and suspend the entry of certain individuals whose presence would be considered detrimental to the U.S.

Here in Canada, gay and lesbian groups as well as women's groups, amongst others, have pressed ministers in the past to use such a power. It is unfortunate that those in opposition to this legislation are ignoring the pleas of these groups. Until this legislation becomes law, we will continue to be unable to stop these undesirable foreigners from spewing their hurtful, misogynistic, minority-hating, bigoted venom on our soil.

Bill C-43 would enable the minister to bar such extremists from entering Canada in the future. The advantage of this new discretionary authority for refusal is that it is flexible, allowing a case-by-case analysis and quick responses to unpredictable and fast-changing events. It allows the minister to make a carefully weighted decision, taking into account the public environment and potential consequences. Ultimately, the Minister of Immigration would be accountable to Parliament and to Canadians for decisions made in this regard.

However, let me make it perfectly clear that this power is intended to be used very sparingly. We anticipate it would only be used in a handful of exceptional cases each year where there are no other legal grounds to keep despicable people out of the country.

Honourable senators, I would like to point out that this bill would also facilitate the entry of legitimate low-risk visitors to Canada. Under the current system, when a family travels to Canada and one of the members is inadmissible for non-serious grounds such as health, the entire family is found inadmissible. One can imagine that this can cost families a considerable amount of both time and money. Bill C-43 would improve the system by allowing all other family members who are admissible to enter Canada if one of the family members is found inadmissible on non-serious grounds.

Honourable senators, our Conservative government introduced the faster removal of foreign criminals bill because we know that Canadian families care about safety and security. Canadians support this bill. Stakeholders and experts support this bill. I quote from the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police, which asserted:

The CACP supports the efforts of the Faster Removal of Foreign Criminals Act to provide for a more expeditious removal from Canada of foreigners who are convicted of committing serious crimes against Canadians. As well, we support measures to prevent those with a history of committing criminal offenses, or who pose a risk to our society, from entering Canada. The Act will help to make Canadians and those who legitimately enter Canada safer.

I continue to quote from the Canadian Police Association, which:

... welcomes the introduction of the Faster Removal of Foreign Criminals Act, particularly with respect to the enhanced prohibitions against those who have committed serious crimes abroad from coming to Canada.

While the overwhelming majority of those who come to Canada make a tremendous contribution to our shared communities, there does remain a small minority who flout Canadian law and have taken advantage of drawn-out proceedings to remain in the country at a risk to public safety. This legislation will help us by streamlining the procedures necessary to remove individuals who remain at-risk to re-offend.

Ensuring that public safety is one of the considerations with respect to admissibility to Canada is a clear step in the right direction.

This act has also been praised by victim associations like Victims of Violence, which said:

Cutting short foreign criminals' opportunity for lengthy appeals will go a long way in minimizing and preventing the re-victimization of those innocent Canadians who are the victims of foreign offenders.

Honourable senators, this legislation is also supported by several immigration lawyers and experts. It has also received a good deal of editorial endorsement in the press. The provisions contained in Bill C-43 are clearly reflective of an idea whose time has come.

Honourable senators, our Conservative government is putting a full stop to dangerous foreign criminals relying on endless appeals in order, while they remain free, to further victimize innocent Canadians.

Through this legislation's provisions, our government is fulfilling a commitment to take a stand against a problem that is the core of our immigration system; a problem that sadly sees the welfare of dangerous foreign criminals given more due consideration than their victims.

I close, honourable senators, with the words of Theodore Roosevelt:

No man is above the law and no man is below it; nor do we ask any man's permission when we require him to obey it.

Though those words were from another time and place, they are apt. Their sensibility and wisdom for our age are echoed in the provisions of Bill C-43. I look forward, honourable senators, to our debate.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés

Depuis longtemps, honorables sénateurs, les Canadiens se montrent accueillants et généreux. D'ailleurs, sous le gouvernement conservateur, le Canada maintient depuis 2006 son taux d'immigration à un niveau sans précédent, l'un des plus élevés, par personne, du monde industrialisé.

Pour que cette tradition se maintienne, les Canadiens doivent avoir confiance en la manière dont nous envisageons et gérons l'immigration. Au cours des derniers mois, notre gouvernement a présenté un certain nombre d'initiatives visant à apporter un changement transformationnel au système d'immigration du pays.

Depuis trop longtemps, honorables sénateurs, les Canadiens entendent d'innombrables histoires à propos de gens qui considèrent le Canada comme un paillasson, un pays permissif dont le système d'immigration est une cible facile pour les fraudeurs et les criminels.

On peut comprendre que les Canadiens en aient assez. Ils nous ont dit clairement qu'ils veulent que nous rétablissions l'intégrité du système d'immigration, et c'est exactement ce que fait le gouvernement conservateur.

Nous mettons sur pied un système d'immigration capable de combler les importantes pénuries de main-d'oeuvre actuelles et futures dans tout le pays et de nous aider à répondre à nos besoins économiques de façon plus rapide et efficace, un système conçu pour donner aux nouveaux arrivants les meilleures chances possible de réussite.

Voyez-vous, honorables sénateurs, la sécurité et l'intégrité du système d'immigration vont de pair avec sa capacité de servir au mieux les intérêts de notre pays et de notre économie. Voilà pourquoi notre gouvernement a présenté le projet de loi C-43, Loi accélérant le renvoi de criminels étrangers.

En s'attaquant à un problème qui mine le système d'immigration, le projet de loi C-43 remplit un engagement de longue date. Honorables sénateurs, le projet de loi C-43 a trois objectifs : aider le gouvernement à expulser du pays de dangereux criminels étrangers; faire en sorte que les gens qui pourraient présenter une menace pour le Canada aient plus de difficulté à entrer au pays; et, enfin, éliminer les obstacles pour les visiteurs qui veulent venir au Canada en toute légitimité.

Le gouvernement conservateur s'engage à protéger les Canadiens. Ce projet de loi fait partie intégrante de cet engagement.

Aux termes des lois actuelles, les étrangers peuvent être expulsés lorsqu'ils sont condamnés à une peine d'au moins six mois. Or, pour l'instant, ces gens peuvent faire appel auprès de la Section d'appel de l'immigration si la peine est d'une durée inférieure à deux ans.

Grâce au projet de loi C-43, le gouvernement facilitera le processus d'expulsion des criminels étrangers en limitant l'accès à la Section d'appel de l'immigration de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada.  Avec ces changements, certains criminels pourraient demeurer au Canada jusqu'à 14 mois de moins. Nous veillerons à ce que les criminels étrangers ne puissent plus abuser indéfiniment de notre générosité.

Malheureusement, c'est exactement ce que font plusieurs criminels reconnus, notamment des meurtriers, des narcotrafiquants, des fraudeurs, des agresseurs d'enfants et des voleurs, dont certains comptent parmi les criminels les plus recherchés.

D'ailleurs, il y a en moyenne 850 criminels étrangers par année qui font appel de leur ordonnance d'expulsion. Actuellement, plus de 2 700 criminels étrangers attendent une décision concernant le report de leur expulsion.

Le problème est évident. Outre le fait que ces dangereux criminels étrangers ont déjà commis des actes criminels et fait des victimes parmi les Canadiens, plusieurs d'entre eux, qui peuvent rester au Canada durant le processus d'appel, en profitent pour commettre d'autres crimes et faire encore plus de victimes au Canada.

J'aimerais citer quelques-uns des nombreux exemples illustrant la gravité du problème et son impact sur les Canadiens.

Geo Wei Wu, né en Chine, est venu au Canada comme étudiant et a obtenu la résidence permanente en qualité d'époux en 1990. Au cours des deux décennies suivantes, il a été reconnu coupable de toute une gamme d'infractions : tentative de vol, conduite dangereuse d'un véhicule, harcèlement criminel, voies de fait causant des lésions corporelles, introduction par effraction, fraude — malheureusement, la liste est longue.

Il a purgé une peine pour chacune de ces condamnations. En 2008, il a été déclaré interdit de territoire et frappé d'une mesure de renvoi. Sous les règles actuelles, il avait le droit d'interjeter appel de la décision.

Près de deux ans et demi plus tard, l'appel de M. Wu a été rejeté.

Il a alors disparu, après avoir omis de se présenter à son entrevue préalable au renvoi. L'ASFC a publié son information dans sa page web « Personnes recherchées » l'été dernier. Il y a quelques semaines à peine, les médias ont annoncé qu'il est maintenant recherché par la police régionale de Peel en rapport avec l'enlèvement, l'an dernier, de deux hommes à Mississauga. Il court toujours.

Voici un autre exemple. Patrick Octaves De Florimonte est arrivé comme résident permanent du Guyana en 1994. Moins de deux ans après son arrivée, il a été déclaré coupable d'un crime grave : agression armée. Moins d'un an plus tard, il a été déclaré coupable de deux autres crimes : vol et possession d'un stupéfiant. Six mois plus tard, il a de nouveau été déclaré coupable de voies de fait. À peine six mois s'étaient écoulés et il avait déjà été déclaré coupable d'une autre infraction : profération de menaces.

Il y aussi le cas de Jackie Tran, né au Vietnam. Il est devenu résident permanent en janvier 1993, à l'âge de 10 ans. À la fin de son adolescence, il était connu des responsables de l'application de la loi de Calgary et a été déclaré coupable de trafic de cocaïne pour une première fois à l'âge de 19 ans.

Toutefois, malgré un lourd casier judiciaire, comme bandit et trafiquant de drogue d'envergure, il n'a jamais été condamné à une peine d'emprisonnement de plus de deux ans moins un jour. Il a pu, grâce à des appels réitérés, différer continuellement son expulsion pendant six ans. Il a d'abord été frappé d'une mesure d'expulsion en avril 2004 et il n'a été renvoyé du Canada qu'en mars 2010.

Voici un dernier exemple aussi triste que pertinent. Clinton Gayle, originaire de la Jamaïque, a été condamné à une peine de deux ans moins un jour lorsqu'il a été déclaré coupable de multiples infractions liées à la drogue.

De 1990 à 1996, le gouvernement a essayé de renvoyer M. Gayle à plusieurs reprises, mais, parce que la plupart de ses déclarations de culpabilité n'avaient entraîné que l'imposition de peines de deux ans moins un jour, il a pu interjeter appel de son renvoi, et ainsi retarder son expulsion du Canada.

Malheureusement, dans la nuit du 16 juin 1994, Todd Baylis et Mike Leone, des policiers de la Ville de Toronto, patrouillaient à pied et ont rencontré Gayle, un trafiquant de drogue de longue date qui avait les poches remplies de sacs de crack et qui portait une arme de poing de neuf millimètres, chargée à bloc.

Clinton Gayle a frappé l'agent Baylis et a tenté de fuir les lieux. Il a été rattrapé par les deux jeunes agents de police de Toronto, et une fusillade a éclaté. Malheureusement, l'agent Baylis, un jeune homme dans la vingtaine, a reçu une balle à la tête et est mort dans l'exercice de ses fonctions, après seulement quatre années de service. Il a laissé dans le deuil sa famille, ses amis et ses collègues.

Honorables sénateurs, le régime actuel permet trop souvent aux criminels étrangers de faire appel des ordonnances d'expulsion qui les frappent et de prolonger leur séjour au Canada après leur déclaration de culpabilité.

Des criminels dangereux condamnés à des peines d'emprisonnement de moins de deux ans ont été en mesure de retarder ou de faire annuler définitivement l'ordonnance d'expulsion les concernant. Ils peuvent donc rester au Canada, arpenter nos rues et vivre à nos côtés, et plusieurs d'entre eux en profitent pour commettre d'autres crimes et pour s'en prendre de nouveau à d'innocentes victimes canadiennes.

La Loi accélérant le renvoi de criminels étrangers contient des dispositions qui annuleront le droit d'appel, ce qui accélérera l'expulsion des personnes concernées.

Nous convenons que les criminels étrangers ont, eux aussi, le droit de se défendre devant les tribunaux. Par contre, ils ne devraient pas avoir le droit d'étirer ce processus pendant des années afin de retarder leur expulsion. Ils ont droit à un processus équitable, bien sûr, mais pas à un processus qui s'éternise en raison de détails techniques.

Bref, nous fermons la porte aux prolongations, aux détours et aux délais qui ont eu pour effet de protéger les criminels étrangers et de leur permettre de commettre d'autres crimes contre des Canadiens bien établis et de nouveaux Canadiens.

De plus, les étrangers qui sont interdits de territoire pour les motifs les plus graves, comme le crime organisé ou des crimes de guerre, ne pourront plus se prévaloir du programme permettant à certains demandeurs d'invoquer des motifs d'ordre humanitaire.

Il est en effet troublant de noter que des auteurs de crimes de guerre, des terroristes et des bandits mêlés au crime organisé peuvent retarder leur expulsion s'ils demandent de rester au Canada pour des motifs d'ordre humanitaire.

Cet élément est d'autant plus ironique que le comportement que ces criminels adoptent envers leurs victimes n'a rien d'humanitaire. Nous pouvons tous reconnaître qu'il s'agit d'un changement tout à fait logique, qui a déjà trop tardé.

De plus, honorables sénateurs, afin d'empêcher que des personnes qui pourraient présenter un risque entrent au Canada, le projet de loi C-43 accorde au ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l'Immigration un nouveau pouvoir, celui de refuser le statut de résident temporaire dans certains cas exceptionnels, c'est-à-dire quand un étranger cherche à s'en prendre à des Canadiens.

Honorables sénateurs, ce projet de loi jouit d'un appui considérable.  En octobre 2011, l'Assemblée nationale du Québec a adopté à l'unanimité une motion exigeant du gouvernement fédéral « qu'il refuse l'entrée au Canada d'Abdur Raheem Green et de Hamza Tzortzis, considérant leurs propos homophobes et leurs discours banalisant la violence envers les femmes ».

Les médias se sont aussi beaucoup intéressés aux semeurs de haine sans vergogne que sont Fred Phelps et les baptistes de Westboro, qui n'hésitent pas à haranguer violemment les gais, les lesbiennes, les femmes et les militaires. Ils en ont particulièrement contre le Canada, et ils l'ont clairement fait savoir.

Les remarques et les points de vue de ceux dont la marque de commerce est la haine confirment le bien-fondé de ces nouvelles dispositions. Je suis certain que tous seront d'accord pour dire que de tels individus ne devraient pas être admis au Canada.

Durant des années, on a demandé aux ministres de l'Immigration d'empêcher les personnes qui fomentent la haine et la violence de franchir nos frontières. Je pense que la majorité des Canadiens supposent que le ministre de l'Immigration a ce pouvoir. En fait, ce n'est pas du tout le cas. Il s'ensuit que, malheureusement, en vertu du système actuel, si ces personnes satisfont aux critères d'admission au Canada, il n'existe aucun mécanisme permettant de les refouler à la frontière.

Le projet de loi C-43 va changer cette situation. Il va permettre aux autorités d'interdire l'admission de personnes qui constitueraient un risque pour les Canadiens et qui inciteraient à la haine et à la violence. Ce nouveau pouvoir permettra au gouvernement de signifier clairement à ces ressortissants étrangers qu'ils ne sont pas les bienvenus ici, qu'ils ne devraient pas venir au Canada et qu'ils se verront refuser le statut de résident temporaire.

Nous avons été transparents en ce qui concerne les lignes directrices sur lesquelles le ministre va se fonder. En fait, nous avons été tellement transparents que le ministre a déposé les lignes directrices au comité de l'autre endroit. Celles-ci sont aussi affichées sur le site web du ministère afin que tous les Canadiens puissent les consulter, tout comme ceux qui cherchent refuge ici et qui souhaitent obtenir la citoyenneté canadienne. Les personnes frappées d'interdiction de territoire en vertu des nouvelles dispositions incluraient tous ceux qui prônent le terrorisme, la violence ou les activités criminelles, de même que les ressortissants de pays sanctionnés et les fonctionnaires étrangers corrompus.

Je pense que tous les sénateurs conviendront que ces dispositions se fondent sur le bon sens. J'ai peine à imaginer que quiconque s'oppose à ces mesures. Qui plus est, en apportant ces changements législatifs, le Canada fait du rattrapage. En effet, nous tirons de l'arrière par rapport à d'autres pays qui se sont déjà dotés de pouvoirs semblables. En fait, la majorité des pays ont des pouvoirs beaucoup plus discrétionnaires que ceux qu'on trouve dans le projet de loi C-43. Par exemple, au Royaume-Uni, le ministère de l'Intérieur a refusé de laisser entrer des personnes dont la présence « ne favorise pas le bien commun ».

En Australie, le ministre de l'Immigration et de la Citoyenneté détient divers pouvoirs lui permettant d'agir personnellement dans l'intérêt national. C'est au ministre qu'il incombe de déterminer si une décision est justifiée. En outre, la législation australienne sur l'immigration permet de refuser de délivrer un visa pour des motifs liés à la politique étrangère et à la probabilité qu'une personne va promouvoir la violence ou participer à des actes de violence dans la collectivité.

Aux États-Unis, le secrétaire d'État peut, si nécessaire, ordonner à un fonctionnaire consulaire de refuser un visa pour des motifs liés à la politique étrangère ou à la sécurité. Le secrétaire du département de la Sécurité intérieure peut déléguer aux fonctionnaires de l'immigration le pouvoir de révoquer un visa. En outre, le président peut limiter les déplacements internationaux et suspendre l'entrée de certaines personnes dont la présence serait jugée nuisible aux États-Unis.

Au Canada, par le passé, des groupes de gais et de lesbiennes, de même que des groupes de femmes, entre autres, ont exhorté les ministres à utiliser un tel pouvoir. Il est malheureux que ceux qui s'opposent à cette mesure législative ne soient pas sensibles aux demandes de ces groupes. D'ici à ce que le projet de loi entre en vigueur, nous serons incapables d'empêcher ces étrangers indésirables de vomir leurs propos blessants, misogynes, haineux et sectaires dans notre pays.

Le projet de loi C-43 permettrait au ministre d'interdire d'entrée ces extrémistes. L'avantage de ce nouveau pouvoir discrétionnaire est qu'il est flexible. Il permet d'analyser chaque cas individuellement et il permet aussi de fournir rapidement des réponses face à des événements imprévisibles ou qui changent rapidement. Il permet au ministre de prendre une décision bien réfléchie, qui tient compte de l'environnement public et des conséquences possibles. Au bout du compte, le ministre de l'Immigration serait comptable au Parlement et aux Canadiens de ses décisions.

Toutefois, je tiens à dire clairement que ce pouvoir serait utilisé très parcimonieusement. Nous prévoyons qu'il ne serait employé que dans un petit nombre de cas exceptionnels au cours d'une année donnée, lorsqu'il n'existe aucun autre motif légal d'empêcher des êtres abjects d'entrer au pays.

Honorables sénateurs, je signale que le projet de loi faciliterait l'entrée au Canada des visiteurs légitimes présentant de faibles risques. À l'heure actuelle, si une famille vient au Canada et qu'un de ses membres ne peut y entrer pour des motifs qui ne sont pas graves, d'ordre médical par exemple, toute la famille est jugée interdite de territoire. On peut imaginer que les familles de visiteurs peuvent ainsi perdre beaucoup de temps et d'argent. Le projet de loi C-43 améliorerait le régime actuel en permettant, lorsqu'une personne est interdite de territoire pour des motifs qui ne sont pas graves, à tous les autres membres de sa famille d'entrer au Canada s'ils y sont autorisés.

Honorables sénateurs, le gouvernement conservateur a présenté la Loi accélérant le renvoi de criminels étrangers parce qu'il sait que les familles canadiennes tiennent à être en sécurité. Les Canadiens appuient ce projet de loi, tout comme les intervenants et les spécialistes. Je cite la déclaration de l'Association canadienne des chefs de police :

[L'association] appuie les efforts déployés dans le cadre de la Loi accélérant le renvoi des criminels étrangers pour assurer le renvoi rapide du Canada des étrangers ayant commis des crimes graves contre des Canadiens. Nous appuyons aussi les mesures visant à empêcher l'entrée au Canada des personnes ayant déjà commis des infractions criminelles ou présentant un risque pour notre société. La Loi améliorera la sécurité des Canadiens et des personnes qui entrent au Canada de façon légitime.

Je continue de citer l'Association canadienne des chefs de police, qui :

[...] voit d'un bon œil l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi accélérant le renvoi des criminels étrangers, notamment en ce qui concerne le renforcement de l'interdiction imposée aux personnes ayant commis des crimes graves à l'étranger de venir au Canada.

Même si les personnes qui viennent au Canada apportent pour la plupart une énorme contribution à nos collectivités, une petite minorité d'entre elles violent le droit canadien et abusent des longues procédures pour rester au pays, menaçant la sécurité publique. Cette loi nous aidera à simplifier les procédures nécessaires au renvoi des personnes à risque de récidive.

S'assurer que la sécurité publique est un des facteurs à prendre en considération pour établir l'admissibilité au Canada est un pas important dans la bonne direction.

Les associations de victimes ont aussi fait l'éloge de ce projet de loi, notamment celle de l'organisme Victimes de violence, qui a déclaré ce qui suit :

Le fait d'empêcher les criminels étrangers de se prévaloir de longues procédures d'appel contribuera à prévenir ou à réduire au minimum la nouvelle victimisation de Canadiens innocents victimes de délinquants étrangers.

Honorables sénateurs, plusieurs avocats et spécialistes en droit de l'immigration ont aussi appuyé cette mesure législative. Elle a également reçu un bon accueil dans les journaux. Les dispositions prévues dans le projet de loi C-43 montrent clairement que le temps est venu de donner suite à cette idée.

Honorables sénateurs, le gouvernement conservateur mettra définitivement fin aux incessants appels interjetés par de dangereux criminels étrangers qui, en restant libres, continuent de faire des victimes parmi les Canadiens innocents.

Grâce aux dispositions de la mesure législative, le gouvernement remplit sa promesse de s'attaquer à un problème fondamental de notre système d'immigration, un problème qui fait que, malheureusement, les intérêts de dangereux criminels étrangers sont privilégiés au détriment de ceux de leurs victimes.

Honorables sénateurs, je conclus sur ces paroles de Theodore Roosevelt :

Nul n'est au-dessus de la loi, nul n'est en dessous; et nous exigeons le respect de celle-ci sans solliciter la permission de personne.

Bien que ces paroles soient d'un autre temps et d'un autre lieu, elles demeurent pertinentes. Les dispositions du projet de loi C-43 font écho à leur finesse et leur sagesse. Il me tarde, honorables sénateurs, d'en débattre.