This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Betraying Canada

Honourable senators, before a parliamentarian takes their seat, the member or senator must make a solemn affirmation of allegiance or loyalty to Canada. In other words, we must all make a pledge to conduct ourselves in the best interests of this country. Breaking the oath of allegiance is a serious offence.

Parliamentarians come together in both Houses of Parliament to debate, to innovate and to act in the best interests of Canada and all Canadians. That includes healthy criticism, together with suggestions for viable solutions and directions. In fact, it is our obligation and responsibility.

However, the Leader of Her Majesty's Official Opposition continually demonstrates a disturbing willingness to put the interests of a narrow band of activists ahead of the interests of ordinary Canadians. From calls for a moratorium on oil sands development to attempts at pitting region against region, Thomas Mulcair and the NDP have become a major threat to Canada's economy, to our job creation and to our unity.

The very public, very anti-jobs and anti-Canadian junket to Washington by NDP MPs Megan Leslie and Claude Gravelle to protest against our energy resources crossed the line. The NDP is all too willing to abandon Canada's interests and sacrifices — over 700,000 jobs across Canada, as well as some $65 billion in projected revenues. The NDP is clearly putting the good of special interests groups ahead of that of their own members and their country. Otherwise, how would one justify this treasonous, contemptuous display by Leslie and Gravelle, or the latest salvo from the leader of the NDP decrying the oil sands as the root of all evil, "Canada's Dutch disease"? Clearly, this is the continuation of a 700-word rant in the March 2012 issue of Policy Options where he referred to tar sands and dirty oil and offers up a cap-and-trade solution.

Why is the NDP's answer to everything to kill it with taxes? One can only conclude that the NDP oppose creating jobs and are attacking Canada with reckless abandon and alarming regularity. After all, the oil sands hold the potential of billions of dollars of revenues that could be used to enhance social programs at all levels of government — municipal, provincial and federal. Is this not the demographic that precipitated the birth of an ideology, the principle to shelter the blue-collar worker from unfairness and to protect the union member rather than the union boss? Yet this new team in Ottawa is doing everything it can to kill the very lifeline of their unionized comrades. They are betraying their supporters and their country, a dangerous trend.

There is a fundamental ethos here that needs exposing. This persistent, unhealthy, anti-Canadian rhetoric is very damaging. It undermines our reputation and the respect with which we are held internationally.

Honourable senators, how often do foreign legislators come here with the sole purpose of denigrating their government, harming their economy and devaluing their position internationally? My guess is about as often as we see a blue moon.

At least we can count on one thing: Our government will continue to promote Canada and the oil sands as a stable, secure and ethical source of energy in the world.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Le Nouveau Parti démocratique

Honorables sénateurs, avant qu'un parlementaire soit invité à prendre place dans son fauteuil, le député ou le sénateur doit faire une affirmation solennelle d'allégeance et de fidélité au Canada. En d'autres termes, nous devons tous promettre de défendre les intérêts de ce pays. Briser le serment d'allégeance constitue une infraction grave.

Le mandat des parlementaires des deux Chambres du Parlement est de débattre, d'innover et d'agir dans l'intérêt du Canada et de tous les Canadiens. Les critiques constructives, ainsi que les propositions de solutions et d'orientations viables, font partie de ce mandat. En fait, c'est notre obligation et notre responsabilité de les formuler.

Toutefois, le chef de l'opposition officielle de Sa Majesté ne cesse de montrer une propension déconcertante à faire passer les intérêts d'un petit groupe d'activistes avant ceux des Canadiens ordinaires. Qu'il s'agisse d'un appel à un moratoire sur la mise en valeur des sables pétrolifères ou de tentatives de monter une région du pays contre l'autre, Thomas Mulcair et ses néo-démocrates sont devenus une grave menace pour l'économie du pays, la création d'emplois et l'unité même du Canada.

L'opération médiatique très publicisée, très antiemplois et très anticanadienne menée contre nos ressources énergétiques à Washington par les députés néo-démocrates Megan Leslie et Claude Gravelle a dépassé les bornes. Le NPD est tout à fait disposé à sacrifier les intérêts du Canada et plus de 700 000 emplois partout au pays, sans compter quelque 65 milliards de dollars en revenus estimés. Le NPD fait manifestement passer les intérêts de groupes d'intérêts spéciaux avant ceux de ses propres membres et du pays. Sinon, comment pourrait-on justifier cette attitude méprisante et frôlant la trahison de Leslie et Gravelle, ou encore la plus récente sortie du chef du NPD contre les sables pétrolifères, les accusant d'être la source de tous les maux et les qualifiant même de « syndrome hollandais » du Canada? Il s'agit manifestement de la suite d'une diatribe de 700 mots parue dans le numéro de mars 2012 de Options politiques, dans laquelle il parlait de sables bitumineux et de pétrole sale et où il présentait un système de plafonnement et d'échange comme solution.

Pourquoi le NPD règle-t-il tous les problèmes en les anéantissant à coups de taxes? On peut seulement en conclure que le NPD s'oppose à la création d'emplois et qu'il s'en prend au Canada avec une ardeur et une régularité alarmantes. Après tout, les sables pétrolifères représentent des revenus éventuels de milliards de dollars qui pourraient servir à améliorer les programmes sociaux des gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral, ainsi que des administrations municipales. N'est-ce pas là le groupe qui a précipité la naissance d'une idéologie, le principe selon lequel il faut protéger le col bleu de l'injustice, et le syndiqué plutôt que le patron du syndicat? Pourtant, cette nouvelle équipe à Ottawa fait tout ce qu'elle peut pour anéantir les sources de revenus de ses camarades syndiqués. Elle trahit ses partisans et leur pays, ce qui constitue une tendance dangereuse.

Il faut dénoncer cette philosophie. Ces incessants et malsains propos anticanadiens peuvent causer de lourds dommages. Ils minent notre réputation et le respect dont nous bénéficions à l'étranger.

Honorables sénateurs, combien de fois les législateurs étrangers viennent-ils ici dans le seul but de dénigrer leur gouvernement, de nuire à leur économie et de dévaloriser leur pays sur la scène internationale? Très rarement, à mon avis.

Nous pouvons au moins compter sur une chose. Le gouvernement continuera de faire valoir les intérêts du Canada et de promouvoir l'exploitation des sables pétrolifères comme une source d'énergie stable, sûre et éthique pour la planète.