This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Railway Safety Act - Bill to Amend—Second Reading

Oh the song of the future has been sung
All the battles have been won
O'er the mountain tops we stand
All the world at our command
We have opened up the soil
With our teardrops and our toil
For there was a time in this fair land when the railroad did not run.

Honourable senators, I cannot sing Gordon Lightfoot's song, but that was an excerpt from his Canadian Railroad Trilogy dedicated to the building of the Canadian Pacific Railway. The song celebrates the optimism of Canada's great railroad age and chronicles the pain and sacrifice of those who built an iron ribbon across this great land of ours — a ribbon that many historians believe helped to bring about Canadian Confederation.

Close to 150 years later, I rise in support of Bill S-4, the safer railways act, that amends and strengthens the Railway Safety Act of 2001. The bill furthers the government's agenda of ensuring a safe, reliable and economically viable freight and passenger railway system.

Let me review the fundamental principles on which the regulation of railway safety in Canada is based: to promote and provide for the safety of the public and railway personnel and the protection of property and the environment in the operation of railways; to encourage the collaboration and participation of interested parties in improving railway safety, i.e., industry in the surrounding area; to recognize the responsibility of railway companies in ensuring the safety of their operations; and to facilitate a modern, flexible and efficient regulatory scheme that will ensure the continuing enhancement of railway safety.

The 1999 amendments to the Railway Safety Act achieved these objectives. They provided for the safety of both public and railway personnel. They addressed protection of property and the environment in the operation of railways, and they granted the regulator with the authority to require railway companies to implement safety management systems. Honourable senators, the Railway Safety Act gave direct jurisdiction over safety matters to the Minister of Transport. It is to be administered by Transport Canada, where responsibility for other federally regulated modes of transportation, such as marine and aviation, resides.

In Budget 2009, the government affirmed its commitment to a safe, reliable transportation system by earmarking $71 million over five years to implement important rail safety measures and legislative initiatives. Bill S-4, the safer railways act that I speak to today, is the fruit of that commitment. The amendments proposed in Bill S-4 will increase the public safety of Canadians, enhance the safety of our communities, and contribute to a stronger economy, a modern infrastructure, and a cleaner environment.

A safer rail system will have immediate and long-term economic benefits for the industry, since the likelihood of costly delays and accidents will be reduced. It will also benefit external stakeholders, such as provinces, municipalities, shippers and travellers.

Before going into greater detail on this bill, I would like to highlight how important rail transportation is in our country. Canada's railways are extremely important to our national economy and they are the most energy efficient means of transporting goods in an interdependent transportation system.

Our rail system includes approximately 73,000 kilometres of track, stretching from coast to coast, and 3,000 locomotives. It handles more than 4 million carloads of cargo every year. In 2009, Canadian railways ran more than 700 trains per day, moving approximately 72 million passengers and 66 per cent of all surface freight in the country. As Canadians, we should feel proud of our railway system.

Canada has a regulatory regime for rail safety that is envied by many other countries. Australia, South Africa, France and the U.S.A. consult with Transport Canada on its regulatory framework. That is why Bill S-4 is so important. It will further enhance Canada's regulatory regime that already serves as an example and model for others.

However, while Canada's rail system is one of the safest in the world, railways are not without risk, and increased rail traffic means increased chances for rail accidents, which disrupt freight, commuter and passenger services and result in lost revenues, increased public costs and reduced productivity for customers. According to the Transportation Safety Board, there were 1,038 rail accidents in 2009, including 68 main track derailments, which have the greatest potential for severe consequences.

When I say "accidents," this can mean anything from a tiny spill in a side yard to a multi-car passenger train derailment with injuries. In fact, it was the severity of the accidents in 2005 and 2006 at Lake Wabamun, Alberta, Lillooet and Cheakamus, British Columbia, and Montmagny, Quebec, that provided the impetus, in part, for the Minister of Transport to launch a full review of the Railway Safety Act in 2007.

A panel was appointed with the objective of identifying possible gaps in the act and making recommendations to further strengthen the regulatory regime. Consultations were extensive. Stakeholders such as unions, organizations, associations and individuals presented their views. The panel's final report, Stronger Ties: A Shared Commitment to Railway Safety, was tabled in Parliament by the Minister of Transport in March 2008. In their report, the panellists noted that although the Railway Safety Act and its principles are fundamentally sound, more work is needed and a number of legislative improvements are required. The report contained 56 recommendations to improve rail safety in Canada.

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities also conducted extensive stakeholder consultations. It accepted the panel's 56 recommendations and tabled its own report in May 2008 with an additional 14 recommendations, many of which are now incorporated into those of the Railway Safety Act review.

Transport Canada agrees with the recommendations of both reviews and has taken steps to address them through a variety of government-industry-union initiatives.

Legislative amendments to the Railway Safety Act address the key recommendations and enable many new safety initiatives. One of these safety measures is Operation Lifesaver. Sponsored by Transport Canada and the Railway Association of Canada, Operation Lifesaver is a national program designed to raise public awareness of the potential hazards of railway crossings and the dangers associated with trespassing on railway property. Operation Lifesaver works in close cooperation with a wide range of stakeholders including government, provincial safety councils, police, unions, railways, the trucking industry, community groups and schools.

In keeping with the recommendations of the Railway Safety Act review and the Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities study, the amendments will strengthen Transport Canada's oversight capacity. They will give the Governor-in-Council the authority to require railway companies to apply for and receive a safety-based railway operating certificate. The certificate will demonstrate that they comply with baseline safety requirements before they begin operations.

The requirement for a railway operating certificate will apply to all railways under federal jurisdiction. Existing companies will have a period of two years from the coming into force of the amendments to meet the requirements for their certificates. The amendments will strengthen Transport Canada's enforcement capacity through the introduction of administrative monetary penalties as an additional enforcement tool to improve rail safety. Maximum levels for administrative monetary penalties would be $50,000 for an individual and $250,000 for a corporation.

The amendments will also strengthen Transport Canada's enforcement powers by increasing judicial fines to levels consistent with other modes of transportation, such as aviation and marine. Maximum fines for convictions on indictment for a contravention of the act would be $1 million for corporations and $50,000 for an individual. Maximum fines on summary conviction for contravention of the act would be $500,000 for corporations and $25,000 for an individual for each day of non-compliance.

The Railway Safety Management System Regulations were designed in 2001 to be a more detailed way to manage safety. They complement the existing regulatory framework and ensure that railways are responsible for the safety of their operations, and, in particular, that they identify dangers, evaluate and mitigate risks, and integrate safety into their daily operations.

The legislative amendments we are introducing today will further improve rail safety by reflecting the central importance of safety management systems. A safety management system is a formal framework for integrating safety into day-to-day railway operations and includes safety goals and performance targets, risk assessments, responsibilities and authorities, rules and procedures, monitoring and evaluation processes.

Also included in this bill are amendments to clarify the authority and responsibilities of the minister in respect of railway matters. For example, the amendments will clarify that the act applies in respect of all railway matters within the legislative authority of Parliament. This will ensure that all companies operating on federal tracks are subject to the same high level of safety requirements. The amendments will also clarify that railway safety inspectors exercise their powers under the authority of the minister and that the minister may enter into agreements with the provinces on matters relating to railway safety, railway security and the protection of the environment across provincial and federal boundaries.

Regulation-making authorities under the act will be expanded to allow a requirement for railway companies to submit environmental management plans for federal review, information collection and railway equipment labelling related to emissions. This amendment, plus an additional one that provides regulatory authority to control and prevent fires on railway rights-of-way, support government priorities for environmental conservation and provides additional safeguards to protect our natural heritage from potential harm.

In conclusion, I remind honourable senators that with this legislation we are going to strengthen the national rail system that is so vital to our economy. By reducing the risk of accidents, we will enhance the competitiveness of our railways, increase the public safety of Canadians and add an additional layer of protection for our natural environment.

We believe these proposed amendments are essential and timely. They respond directly to the recommendations of two important studies on rail safety that involved a high level of participation from all key stakeholders in the rail sector.

I encourage all honourable senators to vote for Bill S-4, which will modernize the Railway Safety Act to reflect the requirements of a growing and increasingly complex rail industry. These are changes all Canadians can agree upon.

With your vote we can continue to build on the dream of those who first had such a great vision of our country.

For they looked in the future and what did they see
They saw an iron road runnin' from sea to the sea
Bringin' the goods to a young growin' land
All up through the seaports and into their hands

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire - Projet de loi modificatif—Deuxième lecture

La chanson de l'avenir a été chantée
Toutes les batailles ont été gagnées
Nous avons atteint le faîte des montagnes
Le monde est à nos pieds
Nous avons fouillé les entrailles de la Terre
Que nous avons mouillées de nos larmes
Parce qu'il fut un temps où aucun train ne circulait dans ce beau pays.

— Honorables sénateurs, je ne peux pas chanter la chanson de Gordon Lightfoot, mais ces mots sont un extrait de sa Canadian Railroad Trilogy, qui est consacrée à la construction du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique. Cette chanson célèbre l'optimisme de l'âge d'or du chemin de fer au Canada et raconte les douleurs et les sacrifices de ceux qui ont construit un chemin de fer d'un bout à l'autre de notre pays, un chemin de fer qui, de l'avis de beaucoup d'historiens, a contribué à l'avènement de la confédération canadienne.

Près de 150 ans plus tard, j'apporte mon soutien au projet de loi S- 4, sur la sécurité ferroviaire, qui modifie et renforce la Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire de 2001. Le projet de loi s'inscrit dans le programme du gouvernement en faveur d'un système ferroviaire sûr, fiable et économiquement viable pour le transport du fret et des passagers.

Passons en revue les principes fondamentaux sur lesquels repose la réglementation de la sécurité ferroviaire au Canada : pourvoir à la sécurité du public et du personnel dans le cadre de l'exploitation des chemins de fer et à la protection des biens et de l'environnement, et en faire la promotion; encourager la collaboration et la participation des parties intéressées — c'est-à-dire l'industrie locale — à l'amélioration de la sécurité ferroviaire; reconnaître la responsabilité des compagnies de chemin de fer en ce qui a trait à la sécurité de leurs activités; favoriser la mise en place d'outils de réglementation modernes, flexibles et efficaces dans le but d'assurer l'amélioration continue de la sécurité ferroviaire.

Les modifications apportées en 1999 à la Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire ont permis d'atteindre ces objectifs. Elles ont garanti la sécurité du public et du personnel et ont permis de protéger les biens et l'environnement dans le cadre de l'exploitation des chemins de fer. Elles ont également accordé à l'organisme de réglementation le pouvoir d'exiger que les compagnies ferroviaires mettent en œuvre des systèmes de gestion de la sécurité. Honorables sénateurs, la Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire a octroyé directement au ministère des Transports les pouvoirs en matière de sécurité. La loi doit être exécutée par ce ministère, dont relèvent également d'autres secteurs du transport réglementés à l'échelle fédérale, notamment la marine et l'aviation.

Dans le budget de 2009, le gouvernement s'est engagé à établir un système de transport sécuritaire et fiable en consacrant 71 millions de dollars sur cinq ans à la mise en œuvre d'importantes mesures de sécurité ferroviaire et mesures législatives. Le projet de loi S-4, ce projet de loi améliorant la sécurité ferroviaire dont je parle aujourd'hui, répond à cet engagement. Les modifications proposées dans le projet de loi S-4 protégeront davantage la sécurité publique au Canada, rendront nos collectivités plus sûres et permettront de renforcer l'économie, de moderniser les infrastructures et de protéger l'environnement.

Un réseau ferroviaire plus sûr présentera des avantages économiques pour l'industrie dans l'immédiat et à long terme, car la probabilité d'accidents et de retards coûteux s'en trouvera réduite. Il profitera aussi aux intervenants externes soit les provinces, les municipalités, les expéditeurs et les voyageurs.

Avant de parler de ce projet de loi plus en détail, j'aimerais souligner l'importance du transport ferroviaire pour notre pays. Les chemins de fer du Canada revêtent une importance capitale pour l'économie nationale, et constituent le mode de transport de marchandises le plus écoénergétique dans un système de transport interdépendant.

Notre réseau ferroviaire s'étend d'un océan à l'autre. Il comprend environ 73 000 kilomètres de rails et 3 000 locomotives et transporte plus de 4 millions de wagons de marchandises chaque année. En 2009, plus de 700 trains ont voyagé sur les voies ferrées du Canada chaque jour. Ils ont transporté environ 72 millions de passagers et 66 p. 100 des marchandises acheminées par voie de surface. Nous pouvons être fiers de notre système ferroviaire.

La réglementation canadienne en matière de sécurité ferroviaire fait l'envie de nombreux pays. L'Australie, l'Afrique du Sud, la France et les États-Unis consultent Transports Canada à propos de son cadre réglementaire. C'est pourquoi le projet de loi S-4 est si important : il viendra renforcer un cadre réglementaire qui sert déjà d'exemple et de modèle à d'autres pays.

Toutefois, bien que le réseau ferroviaire du Canada soit l'un des plus sécuritaires au monde, ce mode de transport n'est pas dénué de risques. Une plus grande utilisation des voies ferrées va de pair avec de plus grands risques d'accidents, et les accidents perturbent le transport des marchandises, le transport des passagers et les services de banlieue, en plus d'entraîner des pertes de revenus, une augmentation des dépenses publiques et une perte de productivité pour les clients. D'après le Bureau de la sécurité des transports, il s'est produit 1 038 accidents ferroviaires en 2009. De ce nombre, 68 étaient des déraillements sur la voie principale, un type d'accident qui, plus que tout autre, risque d'avoir des conséquences graves.

Le terme « accident » peut désigner aussi bien un minuscule déversement dans une gare de triage secondaire qu'un déraillement de plusieurs wagons d'un train de voyageurs qui occasionne des blessures. C'est la gravité des accidents survenus en 2005 et 2006 au lac Wabamun, en Alberta, à Lillooet et à Cheakamus, en Colombie- Britannique et à Montmagny, au Québec, qui, entre autres choses, a incité le ministre des Transports à lancer un examen complet de la Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire en 2007.

Un comité a été mis sur pied et chargé de déceler les lacunes qui pouvaient exister dans la loi et de formuler des recommandations afin de renforcer le régime de réglementation. Il y a eu de vastes consultations. Des parties intéressées comme des syndicats, des organisations, des associations et des particuliers ont exposé leurs opinions. Le rapport final du comité, intitulé Renforcer les liens : un engagement partagé pour la sécurité ferroviaire, a été déposé au Parlement par le ministre des Transports en mars 2008. Dans son rapport, le comité consultatif a signalé que, même si la Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire et ses principes étaient fondamentalement solides, il fallait y travailler encore et apporter un certain nombre de modifications. Le rapport contenait 56 recommandations visant à améliorer la sécurité ferroviaire au Canada.

Le Comité permanent des transports, de l'infrastructure et des collectivités a également mené de vastes consultations auprès des groupes intéressés. Il a accepté les 56 recommandations du comité consultatif et déposé son propre rapport en mai 2008, ajoutant 14 recommandations de son cru, dont plusieurs ont été intégrées à celles découlant de l'examen de la Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire.

Transports Canada a accepté les recommandations des deux examens, et il a pris des mesures pour y donner suite au moyen de diverses initiatives que le gouvernement a lancées avec l'industrie et les syndicats.

Les modifications de la Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaires portent sur les principales recommandations et permettent de prendre beaucoup de nouvelles initiatives en matière de sécurité. L'une de ces mesures de sécurité est l'opération Gareautrain. Cette opération parrainée par Transports Canada et l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada est un programme national de sensibilisation de l'opinion aux risques des passages à niveau et aux dangers des intrusions sur les terrains des sociétés ferroviaires. Opération Gareautrain travaille en étroite collaboration avec un large éventail d'intervenants dont le gouvernement, les conseils provinciaux de la sécurité, la police, les syndicats, les chemins de fer, le secteur du camionnage, des groupes locaux et des écoles.

Fidèles aux recommandations de l'examen de la Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire et du Comité permanent des transports, de l'infrastructure et des collectivités, les modifications renforceront la capacité de surveillance de Transports Canada. Elles donneront au gouverneur en conseil le pouvoir d'exiger que les sociétés ferroviaires demandent et obtiennent un certificat d'exploitation de chemin de fer basé sur la sécurité. Ce certificat attestera qu'elles sont conformes aux exigences de base en matière de sécurité avant de se lancer dans l'exploitation.

L'exigence concernant le certificat d'exploitation s'appliquera à toutes les sociétés ferroviaires de ressort fédéral. Les sociétés existantes auront deux ans à compter de l'entrée en vigueur des modifications pour satisfaire aux exigences de leur certificat. Les modifications vont renforcer les pouvoirs d'exécution de Transports Canada en introduisant des pénalités administratives pécuniaires comme moyen supplémentaire à sa disposition pour améliorer la sécurité ferroviaire. Le montant maximum de ces pénalités sera de 50 000 $ pour un particulier et de 250 000 $ pour une société.

Les modifications vont aussi renforcer les pouvoirs d'exécution de Transports Canada en augmentant les sanctions pour les porter à des niveaux conformes à ce qu'on trouve dans d'autres modes de transport comme l'aviation et la marine. Les amendes maximums pour les condamnations par voie de mise en accusation pour contravention à la loi seront de 500 000 $ pour les sociétés et de 25 000 $ pour les particuliers pour chaque jour où il est contrevenu à la loi.

Le règlement sur le système de gestion de la sécurité ferroviaire a été pris en 2001 pour concevoir une façon plus détaillée de gérer la sécurité en complétant le cadre de réglementation existant et en garantissant que les chemins de fer se chargent de gérer la sécurité de leur exploitation et, notamment, d'améliorer leur capacité de déterminer les dangers, d'évaluer les risques, de les atténuer et d'intégrer un souci de la sécurité dans leur exploitation courante.

Les modifications législatives que nous proposons aujourd'hui amélioreront également la sécurité ferroviaire en faisant ressortir l'importance centrale des systèmes de gestion de la sécurité. Un système de gestion de la sécurité est un cadre structuré permettant d'intégrer la sécurité aux activités ferroviaires courantes. Il comprend des objectifs en matière de sécurité, des cibles de rendement et des évaluations des risques, et il précise les responsabilités et les pouvoirs, les règles et les procédures, et les processus de contrôle et d'évaluation.

Le projet de loi propose encore des modifications qui visent à clarifier l'autorité et les responsabilités du ministre des Transports relativement aux questions ferroviaires. Ainsi, les modifications préciseront que la loi s'applique à l'égard de toutes les questions ferroviaires relevant du pouvoir législatif du Parlement. Cela fera en sorte que toutes les sociétés ayant des activités sur des voies fédérales seront assujetties au même niveau élevé d'exigences en matière de sécurité. Les modifications disposeront aussi que les inspecteurs de la sécurité ferroviaire exerceront leurs fonctions en vertu du pouvoir du ministre, et que celui-ci peut conclure des accords avec les provinces sur des questions qui concernent la sûreté et la sécurité ferroviaires et la protection de l'environnement dans les territoires provinciaux et territoriaux.

Les pouvoirs habilitants prévus dans la loi seront élargis pour qu'on puisse exiger que les sociétés ferroviaires soumettent des plans de gestion de l'environnement pour examen fédéral, collecte de renseignements et étiquetage du matériel ferroviaire concernant les émissions. Cette modification et une autre qui donne le pouvoir réglementaire de maîtriser et de prévenir les feux sur les emprises ferroviaires appuient les priorités gouvernementales en matière de préservation de l'environnement et donnent des garanties supplémentaires pour protéger notre patrimoine naturel.

En guise de conclusion, je rappelle aux sénateurs que le projet de loi renforcera le réseau ferroviaire national, tellement essentiel à notre économie. En réduisant le risque d'accidents, nous renforcerons la compétitivité des chemins de fer, améliorerons la sécurité des Canadiens et donnerons une nouvelle protection à l'environnement naturel.

Nous estimons que les modifications proposées sont essentielles et arrivent au bon moment. Elles donnent directement suite aux recommandations de deux études importantes de la sécurité ferroviaire qui ont été menées avec une forte participation de tous les groupes intéressés par le secteur ferroviaire.

J'invite tous les sénateurs à voter pour le projet de loi S-4, qui permettra de moderniser la Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire afin de l'adapter à la réalité de plus en plus complexe du secteur ferroviaire et au fait que ce dernier est en pleine croissance. Il s'agit après de tout de changements qui font l'unanimité dans la population.

En votant en faveur de ce projet de loi, vous contribuerez à réaliser le rêve de ceux qui, les premiers, ont osé voir grand pour notre pays, car, comme le disait la chanson :

Quand ils ont voulu savoir ce que l'avenir leur réservait,
Ils ont vu un chemin de fer qui parcourait le pays d'un océan à l'autre
Amenant nourriture et bien à une jeune région en plein essor
Faisant de la mer et des prairies un seul et même paysage