This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

National Ballet of Canada - Congratulations on Sixtieth Anniversary

Honourable senators, it is with great pride that I rise today to speak about the sixtieth anniversary of the National Ballet of Canada.

Founded as a classical ballet company by Celia Franca in 1951, the National Ballet of Canada has over 60 dancers and its own symphony orchestra. It is the only Canadian ballet company to present a full season of ballet classics in their entirety throughout the autumn, winter and spring — in addition, of course, to the ever-popular Nutcracker.

Canada's premier dance company has performed for over 10 million people. The company has toured Canada, the United States and throughout the world, including performances in Germany, the Netherlands, Israel, Hong Kong, Japan, Italy and Mexico, and has been invited to perform in China next year.

The National Ballet of Canada has worked closely with major companies around the world, such as the American Ballet Theatre in New York, the Houston Ballet, the San Francisco Ballet and most recently with the Royal Ballet in London in an extremely successful co-production of Christopher Wheeldon's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. Alice's Adventures in Wonderland is having its North American premiere this June in Toronto.

Honourable senators, the National Ballet of Canada is artistically vibrant, confident and forward-looking under the extraordinary leadership of Karen Kain. Ms. Kain's consummate artistry and passionate advocacy for the arts has strengthened the cultural life of many Canadians.

In honour of this important anniversary, the company is inviting the entire community to celebrations to be held throughout the year and has a six-city tour planned for western Canada, from Winnipeg to Victoria.

The world premiere of Romeo and Juliet, choreographed by the acclaimed Alexei Ratmansky, opens the sixtieth anniversary season in November and will be the highlight of the season.

The Tutu Project will feature 60 tutus from great moments in the company's history and new tutus created by the community. This exhibition will be displayed throughout the entire season at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts and at some of Toronto's most popular events and festivals.

The sixtieth anniversary will be capped off with the annual Mad Hot Wonderland on June 21. The annual gala of the National Ballet of Canada is always one of the hottest tickets in town, and raises $1 million in an evening of ballet, dinner and dancing — money, I might add, that is applied directly to the bottom line and is much needed.

Honourable senators, I know you join me in congratulating the National Ballet of Canada on its 60 successful years. I encourage honourable senators to take in the festivities when you are in Toronto or if the ballet comes to your city.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Le Ballet national du Canada - Félicitations à l'occasion de son soixantième anniversaire

Honorables sénateurs, c'est avec grande fierté que je prends la parole aujourd'hui au sujet du 60e anniversaire du Ballet national du Canada.

Compagnie de ballet classique fondée en 1951 par Celia Franca, le Ballet national du Canada compte plus de 60 danseurs et possède son propre orchestre symphonique. Elle est la seule compagnie de ballet du Canada à présenter, au cours de l'automne, de l'hiver et de l'été, un éventail complet de ballets classiques dans leur intégralité, en plus, bien sûr, du très populaire Casse-Noisette.

La principale compagnie de danse du Canada s'est produite devant plus de 10 millions de personnes. Elle a fait des tournées au Canada, aux États-Unis et un peu partout dans le monde, notamment en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas, en Israël, à Hong Kong, au Japon, en Italie et au Mexique, et elle a été invitée à se produire en Chine l'an prochain.

Le Ballet national du Canada a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec des compagnies d'envergure du monde entier, dont l'American Ballet Theatre de New York, le Houston Ballet et le San Francisco Ballet et, plus récemment, le Royal Ballet de Londres dans le cadre d'une coproduction qui a connu un immense succès, Les aventures d'Alice au pays des merveilles, de Christopher Wheeldon. La première nord-américaine des Aventures d'Alice au pays des merveilles aura lieu en juin à Toronto.

Honorables sénateurs, sous la direction extraordinaire de Karen Kain, le Ballet national du Canada déborde de vitalité, irradie la confiance et est résolument tourné vers l'avenir. Le sens artistique inégalé de Mme Kain, de même que les efforts inlassables qu'elle déploie pour promouvoir les arts, ont enrichi la vie culturelle de nombreux Canadiens.

En l'honneur de cet anniversaire important, la compagnie fera participer la collectivité à des célébrations pendant toute l'année et sera en tournée dans six villes de l'Ouest canadien, de Winnipeg jusqu'à Victoria.

La première mondiale du ballet Roméo et Juliette, chorégraphiée par le réputé Alexei Ratmansky, marquera le début de la 60e saison, en novembre, et en sera le point fort.

Le projet Toutou consiste en une exposition de 60 toutous portés lors des moments importants de l'histoire de la compagnie et de nouveaux toutous créés par la collectivité. Cette exposition sera présentée durant toute la saison au Centre des arts de la scène Four Seasons, de même que dans les rassemblements et les festivals les plus populaires de Toronto.

Le point culminant de ce 60e anniversaire sera l'événement annuel « Mad Hot Wonderland » qui se tiendra le 21 juin. Le gala annuel du Ballet national du Canada est toujours l'un des événements les plus courus en ville. Au cours de cette soirée de ballet, suivie d'un souper et d'un bal, on recueille 1 million de dollars, argent qui, j'ajouterais, va directement renflouer la caisse de la compagnie et est très apprécié.

Honorables sénateurs, je sais que vous vous joindrez à moi pour féliciter le Ballet national du Canada à l'occasion de son 60e anniversaire. J'encourage les sénateurs à participer aux festivités lorsqu'ils se rendront à Toronto ou si le ballet passe dans leur ville.