This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

CBC/Radio-Canada

Honourable senators, I rise to speak about a serious issue that drew the attention of both houses of Parliament. I am referring to the complaint from the Prime Minister's communications director regarding a report that was carried on the CBC in early December 2010. Honourable senators, 76 days and eight pages later, we have an explanation.

In his report, Kirk Lapointe, the CBC ombudsman, worked hard to define and interpret the words "seem" and "shelved." He finally concluded that the CBC had used these two key words in an unfair manner in a report regarding health warning labels on cigarette packages.

I would like to congratulate Mr. Lapointe on understanding his role as an independent body that represents the public and examines concerns regarding the quality of journalism at the CBC.

The conclusions reached are a first for the CBC. It is truly unprecedented to read such a report in which our national broadcaster comes clean and explains their reporting rationale and the journalistic standards and practices by which they are guided. This is why I was so pleased to read in Mr. Lapointe's conclusion that the CBC holds itself to a journalistic standard and scrutiny that is unique, and I commend the CBC for acknowledging its error.

I am especially gratified there was an apology extended by the editor-in-chief. I am confident this high standard will be maintained, and that our national broadcaster will continue to provide Canadians with news in a timely manner and with accurate, balanced and ethical reporting.

Today, the fourth estate strives to deliver news almost in real time. Delivering the message has taken on a life of its own. Deadlines are tight in a 24-hour news cycle, yet however stressful the demands of getting the scoop fast and first, journalistic integrity must always prevail. This necessity is particularly true of the CBC, which is funded by the taxpayer. All in all, the fourth estate has a pivotal obligation within our democratic system.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

CBC/Radio-Canada

Honorables sénateurs, j'interviens au sujet d'une question sérieuse qui a attiré l'attention des deux Chambres du Parlement. Je parle de la plainte du directeur des communications du premier ministre au sujet d'une histoire dont on a parlé à Radio-Canada au début de décembre 2010. Honorables sénateurs, 76 jours et huit pages plus tard, nous avons une explication.

Dans son rapport, l'ombudsman de Radio-Canada, Kirk Lapointe, a fait des pieds et des mains pour définir et décortiquer les mots « seem », « semble » et « shelved », « mis sur les tablettes ». Il a finalement conclu que Radio-Canada avait utilisé ces deux mots clés de manière à faire un reportage injuste au sujet des avertissements relatifs à la santé inscrits sur les paquets de cigarettes.

Je tiens à féliciter M. Lapointe d'avoir compris son rôle d'organisme indépendant qui représente le public et étudie les préoccupations sur la qualité journalistique à Radio-Canada.

Les conclusions sont une première pour Radio-Canada. C'est la première fois que nous lisons un tel rapport où le radiodiffuseur national explique franchement la raison d'un reportage et les normes et pratiques journalistiques qui s'y appliquent. C'est pourquoi j'ai été si heureuse de voir dans la conclusion de M. Lapointe que Radio-Canada s'impose des normes journalistiques et une surveillance hors du commun, et je félicite la société d'État d'avoir reconnu son erreur.

Je suis particulièrement heureuse que le rédacteur en chef ait présenté des excuses. Je ne doute pas que ces normes seront maintenues et que notre radiodiffuseur national continuera de présenter aux Canadiens des nouvelles en temps opportun et des reportages précis, équilibrés et éthiques.

Aujourd'hui, les journalistes s'efforcent de présenter des nouvelles pratiquement en temps réel. Livrer le message est devenu une fin en soi. Les délais sont serrés dans un cycle de nouvelles de 24 heures, et même si la nécessité de sortir rapidement la nouvelle et en primeur impose de fortes pressions, l'intégrité journalistique doit toujours prévaloir. Cela est particulièrement vrai dans le cas de Radio- Canada, qui est financé par les contribuables. Au bout du compte, les journalistes ont une responsabilité essentielle dans notre système démocratique.