This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Inquiry into Government Promises

Honourable senators, I rise today to speak to Senator Cowan's inquiry. Where to start with this? To begin with, as noted by Senator Finley, the hypocrisy contained in the very notion of this inquiry is laughable. Following a decade plagued by numerous scandals, flat out lies and broken promises to Canadians, it seems the Liberal Party has become increasingly whiny after five years out of power.

The egos of the self-prescribed natural governing party of Canada are apparently badly bruised. This inquiry brings to mind a spoiled brat, throwing a temper tantrum after losing his favourite toy. In this case, the toy is power, and the brat is the Liberal Party.

Rather than take a hard look in the mirror to see why the Liberal Party is in such shambles and disarray, they resort to cheap attacks in the Senate chamber. It is ironic that a party that has resisted all efforts to reform the Senate is doing the most damage to its reputation. Our mandate in the chamber is to study proposed legislation and issues affecting Canadians, not to launch blatant political attacks under the guise of Senate business.

While it might be convenient to blame Prime Minister Harper for all their problems, this will not provide any answers to their lack of solid policy positions, weak leadership and pathetic fundraising. Perhaps the years of abused power have led to the Liberals losing touch with the average, hard-working Canadians who became sick of the scandals and tired of the wishy-washy messages and arrogance. Honourable senators, this government made a promise to protect and strengthen Canada's economy. This government committed itself to this promise and that is what we have done.

Honourable senators, regardless of the holes that colleagues opposite would like to try to poke through it, Canada's Economic Action Plan supported the country and its citizens throughout the global recession. It has succeeded in building solid stepping stones for economic recovery, progress and growth. Due to this plan and our government's strong financial management, Canada is recognized as an international role model in fiscal management. Look no further than the Certified General Accountants Association of Canada who noted that the economic action plan "provides the necessary support for economic stimulus and job creation."

Note that the International Monetary Fund highlighted Canada as having the strongest fiscal position in the G7.

I could spend all day talking about the successes of the economic action plan; however, due to time constraints, this is not possible. Thus, let me address the extraordinary job done by our government to take action immediately and decisively to protect jobs and to help those Canadians hardest hit by the global recession.

Canada's Economic Action Plan directly assisted and helped the unemployed through various methods; one of those being changes to Employment Insurance. However, let me reminisce about the dark days of EI under the previous Liberal government. It is well known that Liberals used EI premiums paid by workers and businesses as a political slush fund. They raided and completely decimated the EI account of nearly $60 billion without blinking an eye. Professor Thomas Courchene of Queen's University wrote about the Liberals in the April 2010 edition of Policy Options:

. . . siphoned off somewhere in the neighbourhood of $5 to $6 billion annually from the EI surplus . . . the cumulative EI surplus that the Liberals brought into the consolidated revenue fund (CRF) reached a staggering $60 billion.

The Canadian Federation of Independent Business declared in 2000 that they were tired of the EI fund being the slush fund for other initiatives.

It was a Conservative provincial government, one in which Senator Runciman was a part, that drew everyone's attention to the fact that the Liberals had gutted the EI account to play voodoo accounting, making it appear as though they had balanced the books.

Honourable senators, the Liberals emptied this fund and balanced the books on the backs of Canadian workers and the provinces. It took a Conservative government to remove political interference from the Employment Insurance Act, thus ensuring that future governments can never do this again. What a noble concept.

Regardless of the past misdeeds perpetrated by the Liberal Party, perhaps we should look at the promise kept by this government to protect the economy and those hardest hit by the global downturn. As mentioned numerous times, our government's number one priority is and will continue to be the economy. Unlike honourable senators across the way, when something needs doing, we address the situation swiftly and unwaveringly. Unfortunately, the Liberals do not feel the same way about the likes of such examples as the dire need for new fighter jets. However, this is perhaps on a par with the decade of darkness experienced by the military during the Liberals last time in power. Sea Kings, anyone? I digress.

All in all, the first phase of Canada's Economic Action Plan included $8.3 billion over two years to support job creation and protect and assist the unemployed. Due to the strong leadership of Prime Minister Harper, this quick decision and action has allowed Canada's economy to recover virtually all of the jobs that were lost during this tumultuous time. My point is that when strong action on the economy was needed, it was provided by our government.

This government provided an extra five weeks of EI benefit to more than 1 million EI claimants.

This government provided 164,000 long-tenured workers with up to 20 weeks of additional benefits. Furthermore, more than 14,000 of these unemployed workers received additional assistance and long-term training through the Career Training Assistance Program.

This government provided EI training opportunities for all Canadian workers, including additional support to the provinces and territories to expand training in skills development and support for over 200,000 Canadians annually moving into the knowledge-based economy. Even those who did not qualify for EI benefits were assisted by the Strategic Training and Transition Fund for skills enhancement and training.

This government provided funding for youth internships, which help in gaining work experience and necessary skills.

This government offered more opportunities to Aboriginal Canadians by providing $80 million over two years in additional funding for the Aboriginal Skills and Employment Partnership, and $75 million over two years for the Aboriginal Skills and Training Strategic Investment Fund.

This government extended the duration of work-sharing agreements by 14 weeks to a maximum of 52 weeks and increased access to work-sharing agreements through greater flexibility in the qualifying criteria. This initiative assisted over 35,000 Canadians just this past December.

It was this government that provided $40 million in new funding for an initiative for older workers, enabling more than 9,900 unemployed older workers to receive the specialized support they need to transition to new jobs.

It was this government that made a commitment to encourage skilled trades and apprenticeships by investing $80 million in the new Apprenticeship Completion Grant. It assisted over 38,000 new Canadians.

These accomplishments clearly show that our government has fulfilled its promise to assist the unemployed and to protect Canada's economy. I am proud to be part of a government that realizes that the workforce has evolved from the one that most of us experienced, and that is most assuredly completely different from the workforce of our parents. Today, Canada boasts a much different workforce: It is more educated, skilled, sophisticated and demanding not only of their employer but of their government. We have done all that is possible to ease this transition.

Canada's Economic Action Plan has been successful in creating over 460,000 jobs since July 2009, with close to 85 per cent of those jobs full-time, and almost 90 per cent of them high-quality jobs in high-wage industries. Furthermore, our economy has grown for the past five quarters. However, this recovery remains fragile and we are committed to further implementing our job creating, low-tax plan for the benefit of all Canadians.

This growth is one more proof that Canada's Economic Action Plan is working and working well, apparently something the Liberal Party has had a hard time accepting. Their denial has led to this cheap-shot inquiry. However, their childish antics are hardly significant.

What is significant and encouraging is seeing Canada's economy on the right track and I cannot help but praise the current government for that feat.

Honourable senators, the Conservative government under Prime Minister Harper has kept its promise to Canadians to keep the economy strong and the jobs available. It is an honour to rise today to shine light on that major accomplishment.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Interpellation sur Les promesses du gouvernment

Honorables sénateurs, je prends la parole aujourd'hui au sujet de l'interpellation du sénateur Cowan. Par où dois-je commencer? D'entrée de jeu, comme l'a fait remarquer le sénateur Finley, l'hypocrisie derrière l'objet de cette interpellation est grotesque. Après une décennie marquée de nombreux scandales, de mensonges et de promesses non tenues envers les Canadiens, le Parti libéral semble devenir de plus en plus geignard après cinq ans dans l'opposition.

L'ego du parti qui s'autoproclame le « parti naturel du pouvoir » au Canada en a apparemment pris un dur coup. Cette interpellation fait penser à un enfant gâté qui pique une crise après avoir perdu son jouet favori. En l'occurrence, le jouet perdu, c'est le pouvoir, et l'enfant gâté, c'est le Parti libéral.

Au lieu de s'interroger sérieusement sur les raisons pour lesquelles il a sombré dans la déliquescence et la confusion, le Parti libéral se livre à des attaques mesquines au Sénat. Il est ironique qu'un parti qui a résisté si longtemps à toutes les tentatives pour réformer le Sénat soit celui qui cause le plus de tort à sa réputation. Les sénateurs ont comme mandat d'étudier les mesures législatives proposées et les enjeux touchant les Canadiens, et non de se livrer à des attaques politiques flagrantes sous le couvert des travaux du Sénat.

Cela les arrange peut-être de tenir le premier ministre Harper responsable de tous leurs problèmes, mais cela ne changera rien au fait qu'ils n'ont pas de positions politiques solides, que leur leadership est faible et leurs campagnes de financement pathétiques. Peut-être que durant toutes ces années où ils ont abusé du pouvoir, les libéraux ont perdu le contact avec les travailleurs canadiens moyens qui en ont eu assez des scandales et de l'arrogance, et qui se sont lassés des messages vagues. Honorables sénateurs, le gouvernement a promis de protéger et de consolider l'économie canadienne. Il s'est engagé à tenir cette promesse et nous l'avons tenue.

Honorables sénateurs, quoi qu'en disent mes collègues d'en face, le Plan d'action économique du Canada a soutenu le Canada et ses citoyens durant la récession mondiale. Il a servi de tremplin à la reprise économique, au progrès et à la croissance. Grâce à ce plan et à la bonne gestion financière du gouvernement, le Canada est un modèle international de gestion budgétaire à suivre. À preuve, l'Association des comptables généraux accrédités du Canada a déclaré que le Plan d'action économique fournit les outils nécessaires à la relance de l'économie et à la création d'emplois.

De plus, le Fonds monétaire international a déclaré que le Canada est le pays du G7 qui a la position financière la plus solide.

Je pourrais parler toute la journée des réussites du Plan d'action économique. Faute de temps, je soulignerai du moins les efforts extraordinaires déployés par le gouvernement pour intervenir sur-le- champ et de manière décisive afin de protéger les emplois et d'aider les Canadiens les plus durement touchés par la récession mondiale.

Le Plan d'action économique du Canada a aidé directement les chômeurs par divers moyens, notamment en modifiant l'assurance- emploi. Cependant, permettez-moi d'évoquer les jours sombres de l'assurance-emploi à l'époque où les libéraux étaient au pouvoir. Il est bien connu que les libéraux utilisaient les cotisations d'assurance- emploi payées par les travailleurs et les entreprises comme caisse politique occulte. Ils ont puisé dans le fonds de l'assurance-emploi et l'ont dépouillé de près de 60 milliards de dollars sans sourciller. Le professeur Thomas Courchene, de l'Université Queen's, a rédigé un article sur les libéraux dans l'édition d'avril 2010 d'Options politiques :

[...] a détourné de 5 à 6 milliards de dollars par année du surplus du fonds de l'assurance-emploi [...] Le surplus cumulatif du fonds de l'assurance-emploi que les libéraux ont versé dans le Trésor s'élevait à la somme faramineuse de 60 milliards de dollars.

La Fédération canadienne de l'entreprise indépendante a déclaré en 2000 qu'elle en avait assez que la caisse de l'assurance-emploi serve secrètement à financer d'autres initiatives.

C'est un gouvernement conservateur provincial, un gouvernement dont faisait partie le sénateur Runciman, qui a signalé à tous que les libéraux, même s'ils donnaient l'impression d'avoir rétabli l'équilibre budgétaire, avaient en fait vidé la caisse de l'assurance- emploi en s'adonnant à des tours de passe-passe comptables.

Honorables sénateurs, les libéraux ont vidé la caisse et ils ont équilibré le budget au détriment des travailleurs du Canada et des provinces. C'est grâce à un gouvernement conservateur que l'ingérence politique a été éliminée de la Loi sur l'assurance- emploi pour que les futurs gouvernements ne puissent plus refaire la même chose. C'est très noble.

Laissons maintenant de côté les méfaits passés du Parti libéral et considérons plutôt la promesse qu'a faite le gouvernement conservateur de protéger l'économie et les gens qui ont été le plus touchés par la récession mondiale. Comme je l'ai dit à maintes reprises, la priorité du gouvernement, c'est l'économie, et cette priorité restera la même. Contrairement aux sénateurs d'en face, quand il faut agir, les conservateurs répondent rapidement et sans hésiter aux problèmes qui se posent. Hélas, les libéraux n'agissent pas de la même façon lorsqu'il est question, par exemple, des nouveaux avions chasseurs dont nous avons grand besoin. Cette attitude correspond peut-être, toutefois, à la décennie noire qu'ont connue les militaires la dernière fois que les libéraux étaient au pouvoir. On n'a qu'à penser aux Sea Kings. Mais je m'écarte du sujet.

Finalement, la première phase du Plan d'action économique du Canada incluait 8,3 milliards de dollars sur deux ans pour soutenir la création d'emplois et protéger et aider les sans-emploi. En raison du fort leadership du premier ministre Harper, cette décision et cette intervention rapide ont permis à l'économie du Canada de récupérer pratiquement tous les emplois perdus pendant cette période tumultueuse. Ce que je veux dire, c'est que lorsqu'il a fallu intervenir énergiquement dans l'économie, le gouvernement l'a fait.

Le gouvernement a accordé cinq semaines supplémentaires de prestations d'assurance-emploi à plus d'un million de chômeurs.

Le gouvernement a permis à 164 000 travailleurs de longue date de toucher jusqu'à 20 semaines additionnelles de prestations. En outre, plus de 14 000 de ces sans-emploi ont obtenu une aide additionnelle et une formation à long terme par l'intermédiaire du programme d'aide à la formation professionnelle.

Le gouvernement a offert, par le programme d'assurance-emploi, des possibilités de formation à tous les travailleurs canadiens et il a offert aux provinces et aux territoires la possibilité d'offrir du développement professionnel et un soutien à plus de 200 000 Canadiens chaque année pour faire entrer le Canada dans l'économie du savoir. Même ceux qui n'étaient pas admissibles à des prestations d'assurance-emploi ont pu obtenir une formation et des cours de perfectionnement professionnel grâce au Fonds de transition et de formation stratégique.

Le gouvernement a dégagé des fonds pour des programmes de stages pour les jeunes, ce qui les aide à acquérir une expérience professionnelle et des compétences.

Le gouvernement a offert plus de possibilités aux Autochtones canadiens en prévoyant 80 millions de dollars sur deux ans en fonds additionnels pour le programme Partenariat pour les compétences et l'emploi des Autochtones et 75 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour le Fonds d'investissement stratégique pour les compétences et la formation des Autochtones.

Le gouvernement a prolongé la durée des accords de travail partagé de 14 semaines, pour atteindre un maximum de 52 semaines et a accru l'accès à ces accords en assouplissant les critères d'admissibilité. L'initiative a permis d'aider plus de 35 000 Canadiens en décembre dernier seulement.

C'est le gouvernement conservateur qui a alloué 40 millions de dollars en argent frais à une initiative destinée aux travailleurs âgés. Cette initiative a permis à plus de 9 900 travailleurs âgés sans emploi d'obtenir le soutien spécialisé dont ils avaient besoin pour s'adapter à de nouveaux emplois.

C'est le gouvernement conservateur qui s'est engagé à encourager l'apprentissage de métiers spécialisés et la formation en entreprise en investissant 80 millions de dollars dans la nouvelle Subvention à l'achèvement de la formation d'apprenti. Cela a permis d'aider 38 000 nouveaux Canadiens.

Ces réalisations montrent clairement que le gouvernement conservateur a tenu sa promesse d'aider les chômeurs et de protéger l'économie canadienne. Je suis fière de faire partie d'un gouvernement qui est conscient que la population active a évolué comparativement à la situation que la plupart d'entre nous ont vécue. Elle est aussi très certainement complètement différente de ce qu'elle était à l'époque de nos parents. Aujourd'hui, la main- d'œuvre au Canada est très différente : elle est plus éduquée, plus compétente, plus raffinée et plus exigeante, non seulement à l'endroit de son employeur, mais aussi de son gouvernement. Nous avons fait tout ce qui était possible de faire pour faciliter cette transition.

Grâce au Plan d'action économique du Canada, nous avons réussi à créer plus de 460 000 emplois depuis juillet 2009. Près de 85 p. 100 de ces emplois sont à temps plein et presque 90 p. 100 sont des emplois de qualité dans des secteurs à rémunération élevée. Qui plus est, notre économie est en croissance depuis les cinq derniers trimestres. Cependant, la reprise demeure fragile et c'est pourquoi nous sommes résolus à poursuivre la mise en œuvre de notre plan de création d'emplois et de réduction des impôts, qui profitera à tous les Canadiens.

Cette croissance montre de nouveau que le Plan d'action économique du Canada donne de bons résultats, ce que, semble-t- il, le Parti libéral a du mal à accepter. Ce refus de leur part de voir la réalité les a poussés à faire cette interpellation mesquine. Cependant, leurs enfantillages n'ont aucune importance.

Ce qui est important et encourageant, c'est de constater que l'économie canadienne est sur la bonne voie. Je ne puis m'empêcher de féliciter le gouvernement de cette grande réussite.

Honorables sénateurs, le gouvernement conservateur, sous la direction du premier ministre Harper, a tenu la promesse qu'il avait faite devant la population canadienne d'assurer la vigueur de l'économie et de maintenir les emplois existants. C'est un honneur aujourd'hui de prendre la parole afin d'attirer l'attention sur cette réalisation remarquable.