This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Persons Day

Honourable senators, this morning as I walked to the Senate, I paused at the Famous Five Monument of Nellie McClung, Emily Murphy, Henrietta Muir Edwards, Louise McKinney, and Irene Parlby, who are now immortalized in bronze on Parliament Hill. Thanks to these five trailblazers who challenged the status quo, I have the privilege of speaking today as a Canadian senator.

In 1927, five women approached the Supreme Court of Canada to question whether the word "person" in section 24 of the British North America Act included women. Five weeks of debate resulted in a decision that women were not considered persons. Undaunted, the fight was only beginning for these determined women.

It took almost two more years before the Imperial Privy Council, on October 18, 1929, gave its answer to this basic question with the seemingly obvious answer:

. . . to those who would ask why the word "person" should include females, the obvious answer is: Why should it not?

The Persons Case established that Canadian women were eligible to be appointed senators. Furthermore, Canadian women had the same rights as Canadian men with respect to positions of political power.

Honourable senators, yesterday I had the honour of introducing five distinguished women to our new Governor General, His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston. His Excellency presented the women with the 2010 Governor General's Award in commemoration of the eighty-first anniversary of the Persons Case.

Honourable senators, please join me in congratulating the five prominent individuals who were recognized yesterday: Marie Louise Fish, from Elgin, Ontario; Lucille Harper, from Pomquet, Nova Scotia; Kerline Joseph, from Delson, Quebec; Anne Michaud, from Montreal, Quebec; and Barbara Mowat, from Abbotsford, British Columbia. While diverse in their approach to the goal of gender equality, their impact on their communities and on our country has been profound.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La Journée de l'affaire « personne »

Honorables sénateurs, ce matin, en venant au Sénat, j'ai fait une pause devant la sculpture des cinq femmes célèbres, Nellie McClung, Emily Murphy, Henrietta Muir Edwards, Louise McKinney et Irene Parlby, qui sont maintenant immortalisées dans le bronze sur la Colline du Parlement. Grâce à ces cinq pionnières qui ont contesté le statu quo, j'ai le privilège d'être aujourd'hui sénateur canadien.

En 1927, cinq femmes se sont adressées à la Cour suprême du Canada pour savoir si le mot « personne » dans l'article 24 de l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique incluait les femmes. Après cinq semaines de débat, la cour a statué que les femmes n'étaient pas considérées comme étant des personnes. Ces cinq femmes déterminées ne se sont pas laissé abattre et cela ne fut que le début de leur combat.

Il a fallu presque deux ans de plus avant que le Conseil privé du Royaume-Uni donne, le 18 octobre 1929, une réponse apparemment évidente à une question fondamentale :

[...] aux personnes qui se demandent si le mot « personne » doit comprendre les femmes, la réponse est évidente : pourquoi pas?

L'affaire « personne » a établi que les femmes canadiennes pouvaient être nommées au Sénat. De plus, les femmes canadiennes avaient les mêmes droits que les hommes canadiens pour ce qui était des postes politiques influents.

Hier, j'ai eu l'honneur de présenter cinq éminentes femmes distinguées à notre nouveau Gouverneur général, Son Excellence le très honorable David Johnston. Son Excellence a présenté à ces femmes le prix du Gouverneur général pour 2010 en commémoration du 81e anniversaire de l'affaire « personne ».

Honorables sénateurs, joignez-vous à moi pour féliciter ces cinq femmes de premier plan qui ont remporté le prix hier : Marie Louise Fish, d'Elgin, en Ontario; Lucille Harper, de Pomquet, en Nouvelle- Écosse; Kerline Joseph, de Delson, au Québec; Anne Michaud, de Montréal, au Québec; et Barbara Mowat, d'Abbotsford, en Colombie-Britannique. Si leur approche en matière d'égalité des sexes est différente, leur influence dans leur collectivité et dans notre pays est profonde.