This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Canada-United States Free Trade Agreement - Twenty-fifth Anniversary

Twenty-five years ago this coming Sunday, Prime Minister Brian Mulroney stood up in the House of Commons and said: “I have spoken today to the President of the United States to express Canada’s interest in pursuing a new trade agreement between our two countries.” 

This declaration is brief and straightforward, but it ends up having a profound and lasting impact on the life of every Canadian. By the end of 1988, negotiators from the two countries conclude the Canada-United States Free Trade Agreement; Canadians hold an historic federal election to validate the pact; and Parliament adopts a bill giving the agreement the force of law.

The treaty marks a defining moment in the economic progress of our country. Michael Kergin, Canada’s former ambassador to the United States, perfectly captures the profound impact the agreement has had: “Canada and the United States don’t trade with each other,” he says. “We make things together.”

Yet 25 years ago, opponents were downright apocalyptic in their denunciations—of both the trade package and the Prime Minister. The most ardent naysayer was the Leader of the Opposition at the time. He accused Prime Minister Mulroney of signing over the sovereignty and independence of our nation and making us nothing more than a colony of the United States.

Instead of Doomsday, the Canada-United States Free Trade Agreement has spurred our country to seal further pacts with other partners and create sturdy trading relationships that have fuelled our country’s economic growth, increased our prosperity, and raised the standard of living and quality of life for Canadians to unprecedented heights.

Now honourable colleagues, I won’t go so far as to say that free trade is without drawbacks. Yet its benefits are now so apparent and widespread that issues that once polarized the country are now part of the political and economic consensus. As a result, nearly every Canadian today is a free trader. In fact, some of the most passionate advocates of free trade are the same politicians who would have torn up the agreement in the first place.

The radical change of heart of these Johnny-come-latelys comes thanks to the countless Canadian businesses, entrepreneurs and workers who have taken advantage of unfettered trade to thrive globally. And to the man who had the foresight and political courage to start us on this path 25 years ago with one brief, straightforward declaration.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

L'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis - Le vingt-cinquième anniversaire

Il y aura 25 ans dimanche prochain, le premier ministre Brian Mulroney a déclaré à la Chambre des communes : « […] j’ai parlé aujourd’hui au président des États-Unis pour exprimer l’intérêt du Canada dans la conclusion d’un accord commercial entre nos deux pays. »

Cette déclaration, bien que simple et brève, a fini par avoir un retentissement profond et durable sur la vie de tous les Canadiens. À la fin de 1988, les négociateurs des deux pays ont conclu l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis, les Canadiens ont tenu des élections fédérales historiques pour valider cet accord et le Parlement a adopté un projet de loi qui le ratifiait.

L’accord a marqué un tournant dans le progrès économique de notre pays. Michael Kergin, ancien ambassadeur du Canada aux États-Unis, a parfaitement résumé son profond retentissement en disant que le Canada et les États-Unis n’ont pas d’échanges commerciaux, ils font des choses ensemble.

Pourtant, à l’époque, les opposants ont critiqué avec une extrême véhémence tant l’accord de libre-échange que le premier ministre lui-même. L’adversaire le plus acharné était le chef de l’opposition, qui a accusé le premier ministre de céder la souveraineté et l’indépendance de notre pays pour en faire une simple colonie des États-Unis.

Au lieu de provoquer l’apocalypse, l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis a amené notre pays à signer des accords avec d’autres partenaires et à nouer de solides relations commerciales qui ont eu pour effet de stimuler notre croissance économique, d’accroître notre prospérité et de porter le niveau de vie et la qualité de vie des Canadiens à des sommets inégalés.

Honorables collègues, je n’irai pas jusqu’à dire que le libre-échange est sans inconvénient. Mais ses avantages sont tellement visibles et généralisés que les enjeux qui ont déjà divisé le pays font maintenant partie du consensus économique et politique. Résultat, presque tous les Canadiens sont devenus des partisans du libre-échange. En fait, certains des politiciens qui auraient voulu déchirer le document à l’époque comptent maintenant parmi les plus ardents défenseurs du libre-échange.

La volte-face radicale de ces gens qui ont enfin vu la lumière s’est opérée grâce à la multitude d’entreprises, d’entrepreneurs et de travailleurs canadiens qui ont tiré parti du libre-échange pour prospérer sur la scène internationale. Et grâce à l’homme qui a eu la clairvoyance et le courage politique voulus pour nous lancer dans cette voie il y a 25 ans par une déclaration simple et brève.