This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Bill C-13: Fairness for Military Families Act

Honourable senators, I am proud today to rise to speak to Bill C-13, this government's legislation to support military families.

Permit me to begin with a history of how this bill came about for those of you who do not know. The member of Parliament for Nepean-Carleton was canvassing one afternoon late last year when he knocked on the door of a Canadian Forces member named Lieutenant-Colonel James Duquette. Mr. Duquette proceeded to recount a negative experience he had had with his Employment Insurance parental benefits. Mr. Duquette's son was born by emergency caesarean section four days before he was being deployed to the Golan Heights.

He spent the first two nights of his son's life sleeping in a chair by his wife's hospital bedside. The third night was spent at home together as a family. The next morning, Lieutenant-Colonel Duquette deployed.

The only thing that got him through his deployment was knowing he would get to spend time with his son upon his return — or so he thought. When Mr. Duquette returned, he was shocked to learn that his eligibility period to collect parental benefits had expired.

Mr. Duquette had paid EI premiums and had to leave his family to honourably serve his country, but the current EI system did not have any provisions for people like him.

Recognizing immediately that the current system was unfair to Canadian Forces members like Mr. Duquette, the member of Parliament brought this issue to the attention of the Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development. The result is this legislation, Bill C-13, the fairness for military families act.

Honourable senators, I would like to thank the MP for Nepean-Carleton for immediately acting on a constituent's concerns, and I would like to thank the Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development for taking decisive action in a timely manner to correct this problem.

As a nation, we value freedom, not just for ourselves but for people around the world. Canadians understand that upholding our national values comes at a price. That price is often paid most directly by the members of our military and their families. There is no question that Canadians support our troops and appreciate their sacrifices. You can see the evidence on countless bumper stickers and lapel pins and you can see it in the crowds that gather when one of Canada's sons or daughters has made the ultimate sacrifice, and is returned to a mourning nation.

Canadians hold their military members in great esteem and want them to be treated fairly. In the Speech from the Throne this government made a commitment to stand up for those who defend our country by striving to create an even better future for our families and communities. These men and women accept many risks. They accept the disruption that their profession inflicts upon their personal and family lives. Our government wants to ensure that members of the Canadian Forces have the opportunity to bond with their children by taking advantage of Employment Insurance parental benefits.

Honourable senators, given the unique demands of military life we recommend a change to the rules to improve access of military personnel to EI parental benefits. Members of the Canadian Forces pay EI premiums just like other Canadians. We want to ensure that when they are obliged to deploy because of an imperative military requirement, they can still access EI parental benefits when they come home.

The Employment Insurance program provides parental benefits to individuals caring for a newborn or a newly adopted child. These parental benefits play an important role in supporting parents during the first year of a child's life. The benefits provide income replacement to support a parent who stays home during his or her child's first year, while at the same time facilitating the parent's eventual return to the labour market. The benefits allow the parent to bond with his or her child. They help to provide a foundation for the family by enabling parents to balance the demands of work and family more effectively.

Canadian Forces members, including reservists, are eligible for benefits under the Employment Insurance Act as long as they meet the eligibility criteria. Their eligibility for benefits is the same as for any worker in Canada. What do these benefits include?

Provided they meet the eligibility requirement criteria, Canadians Forces personnel are entitled to regular benefits if they lose their job voluntarily as well as maternity, parental, sickness and compassionate care benefits. The existing EI Act entitles parents to 35 weeks of parental benefits. One parent can take all 35 weeks or the parents can divide the weeks.

Under the current rules, parental benefits may be paid during the 52 weeks following the week of the birth of one or more children or the adoption of a child or children. The window for parental benefits can be extended when a child has to spend an extended period of time in hospital. This measure was designed to make the EI system fairer and give claimants some flexibility when they face circumstances beyond their control.

Members of the military can also find themselves in situations that are beyond their control. Canadian Forces members who are deployed overseas are unable to access EI parental benefits during their assignment. Since these assignments typically last from nine to 16 months, deployed parents can miss crucial time with their children.

Those circumstances must be taken into account by the Employment Insurance Act. This government believes that if they are ordered to return to duty while on parental leave, or if their parental leave is deferred as a result of an imperative military requirement, they should not lose the benefits. That is what this bill before us is meant to address.

It amends the Employment Insurance Act to extend the EI parent eligibility window by the number of weeks that a Canadian Forces member's parental leave is deferred or interrupted because of an imperative military requirement. In plain language, this bill means that a Canadian Forces member who is ordered to return to duty while on parental leave, or whose parental leave is deferred a result of an imperative military requirement, will no longer risk losing out on the weeks to which he or she is entitled.

The amendment that was passed by unanimous consent in the House of Commons ensures the bill applies not only to Canadian Forces members who start a parental benefits claim after the bill receives Royal Assent but also applies to Canadian Forces members who could benefit right now.

Colleagues, this legislation will be welcome news for members of the Canadian Forces. It will apply not only to those serving abroad but to all forces members who must delay or cut their leave short for imperative military requirements. It will ensure Canadian Forces members have the same opportunity to bond with their children and establish a foundation for their children's growth, development and learning as other Canadians who are eligible for EI.

It will help to keep our military families strong. When Lieutenant-Colonel James Duquette appeared before the standing committee in the other place with his wife Anne, he stated the following:

. . . this affects . . . young families across the forces . . . the benefits that would bring to the families as a whole, you can't put a value on that.

His wife added:

Whether it's the mother or the father who is overseas, to give them the chance to bond with their child when they come home would be incredible.

Further on she stated:

This change . . . will help many military families today and in the future . . . Please support our troops and the families that await them at home.

Honourable senators, Canadians are proud of the members of the Canadian Forces. The bill before us will make a real difference in the lives of military families. I urge all honourable senators to join me in supporting this bill.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Projet de loi C-13: Loi sur l’équité pour les familles militaires

Honorables sénateurs, je suis fière aujourd'hui de prendre la parole au sujet du projet de loi C-13, qui a été présenté par le gouvernement en vue d'appuyer les familles des militaires.

Permettez-moi d'abord d'expliquer, pour ceux qui l'ignorent, l'origine de ce projet de loi. Vers la fin de l'année dernière, le député de Nepean-Carleton faisait du porte-à-porte un après-midi lorsqu'il s'est présenté au domicile d'un membre des Forces canadiennes, le lieutenant-colonel James Duquette. M. Duquette lui a raconté sa mauvaise expérience avec le congé parental offert dans le cadre du régime d'assurance-emploi. Le fils de M. Duquette est né par césarienne d'urgence quatre jours avant que M. Duquette ne parte en mission sur le plateau du Golan.

Les deux premières nuits de la vie de son fils, M. Duquette les a passées à dormir dans une chaise près du lit d'hôpital de son épouse. Ils ont passé la troisième nuit ensemble, en famille, à la maison. Le lendemain, le lieutenant-colonel Duquette partait en mission.

Pour endurer ce temps passé loin de sa famille, il s'accrochait à l'idée que, à son retour, il pourrait passer du temps avec son fils — c'est du moins ce qu'il croyait. À son retour, M. Duquette a été sidéré d'apprendre que sa période d'admissibilité pour le congé parental avait expiré.

M. Duquette avait cotisé au régime d'assurance-emploi et il a dû laisser sa famille derrière pour servir honorablement son pays. Malheureusement, le régime de l'assurance-emploi dans sa forme actuelle ne contient aucune disposition pour les gens qui se retrouvent dans une situation comme la sienne.

Ayant réalisé immédiatement que le régime actuel était injuste envers les membres des Forces canadiennes comme M. Duquette, le député a porté le problème à l'attention de la ministre des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences, ce qui a mené à la création de cette mesure législative, le projet de loi C- 13, Loi sur l'équité pour les familles militaires.

Honorables sénateurs, j'aimerais remercier le député de Nepean- Carleton d'avoir réagi immédiatement aux préoccupations d'un citoyen, ainsi que la ministre des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences d'avoir pris des mesures décisives dans un délai opportun afin de résoudre ce problème.

En tant que pays, nous accordons une grande importance à la liberté, non seulement la nôtre, mais aussi celle des peuples du monde entier. Les Canadiens sont conscients que, pour préserver nos valeurs nationales, il y a un prix à payer. Souvent, ce sont nos militaires et leurs familles qui paient ce prix. Il ne fait aucun doute que les Canadiens appuient nos militaires et qu'ils leur sont reconnaissants pour leurs sacrifices, comme en témoignent les nombreuses affichettes collées sur les pare-chocs des voitures et les nombreuses épinglettes. On peut le constater également par les foules qui se réunissent pour rendre un dernier hommage à nos soldats qui ont fait le sacrifice ultime.

Les Canadiens tiennent nos militaires en haute estime et veulent qu'ils soient traités équitablement. Dans le dernier discours du Trône, le gouvernement s'est engagé à soutenir ceux qui protègent notre pays, notamment en cherchant à préparer un avenir encore meilleur pour nos familles et nos collectivités. Ces hommes et ces femmes acceptent de nombreux risques. Ils acceptent que leur profession occasionne des désagréments, lesquels se répercutent sur leur vie personnelle et familiale. Le gouvernement veut assurer que les membres des Forces canadiennes aient l'occasion de nouer des liens avec leurs enfants grâce aux prestations parentales de l'assurance-emploi.

Honorables sénateurs, compte tenu des exigences propres à la vie militaire, nous recommandons que les règles d'admissibilité du personnel militaire aux prestations parentales de l'assurance-emploi soient améliorées. Les membres des Forces canadiennes cotisent à l'assurance-emploi, comme tous les autres Canadiens. Nous voulons nous assurer que, lorsqu'ils sont déployés pour des raisons militaires impératives, ils puissent toucher des prestations parentales de l'assurance-emploi à leur retour.

Le régime d'assurance-emploi verse des prestations parentales aux personnes qui prennent soin d'un nouveau-né ou d'un enfant qu'elles viennent d'adopter. Ces prestations apportent un grand soutien aux parents durant la première année suivant la naissance ou l'adoption de leur enfant. Elles remplacent une partie de leurs revenus, afin d'aider un parent qui reste à la maison la première année pour prendre soin de son enfant et de faciliter par la suite son retour sur le marché du travail. Les prestations permettent au parent de nouer des liens avec son enfant. Elles fournissent une fondation aux familles, en permettant aux parents de concilier plus aisément leurs obligations professionnelles et familiales.

Les membres des Forces canadiennes, y compris les réservistes, peuvent recevoir des prestations en vertu de la Loi sur l'assurance- emploi à condition qu'ils répondent aux critères d'admissibilité. Ils peuvent toucher des prestations au même titre que tout travailleur au Canada. En quoi consistent ces prestations?

Pourvu qu'ils répondent aux critères d'admissibilité exigés, les membres des Forces canadiennes ont droit à des prestations régulières s'ils perdent leur emploi volontairement ainsi qu'à des prestations de maternité, parentales, de maladie et de soignant. La présente Loi sur l'assurance-emploi accorde aux parents 35 semaines de prestations parentales. Un même parent peut prendre les 35 semaines ou la période peut être divisée entre les deux parents.

En vertu des règles actuelles, les prestations parentales peuvent être payées au cours des 52 semaines qui suivent la naissance ou l'adoption d'un ou de plusieurs enfants. Le délai peut être prolongé lorsqu'un enfant doit séjourner à l'hôpital pendant une longue période. Cette mesure a été conçue pour rendre le système d'assurance-emploi plus juste et pour donner une certaine souplesse aux prestataires qui sont confrontés à des circonstances indépendantes de leur volonté.

Les militaires peuvent aussi se trouver dans des situations indépendantes de leur volonté. Les membres des Forces canadiennes qui sont déployés outre-mer ne peuvent pas avoir accès aux prestations parentales d'assurance-emploi pendant leur affectation. Puisque la durée moyenne de ces affectations est de neuf à 16 mois, les parents déployés peuvent être privés d'une période cruciale passée auprès de leurs enfants.

La Loi sur l'assurance-emploi doit prendre ces circonstances en considération. Le gouvernement croit que s'ils sont rappelés en service pendant leur congé parental, ou si leur congé parental est reporté pour des raisons militaires impératives, ils ne devraient pas perdre leurs prestations. C'est ce que le projet de loi dont nous sommes saisis vise à corriger.

Il modifie en fait la Loi sur l'assurance-emploi pour prolonger la période d'admissibilité des militaires des Forces canadiennes dont le congé parental est reporté ou qui sont rappelés en service pendant ce congé. Bref, grâce à lui, les membres des Forces canadiennes qui doivent reprendre du service pendant leur congé parental ou dont ce même congé parental est reporté à cause des besoins du service ne risqueront plus de perdre les semaines auxquelles ils ont droit.

L'amendement qui a été adopté à l'unanimité par la Chambre des communes fait en sorte que le projet de loi ne s'appliquera pas uniquement aux membres des Forces canadiennes qui présenteront une demande de prestations parentales après sa sanction, mais à tous ceux qui touchent actuellement des prestations.

Honorables sénateurs, cette mesure législative sera très appréciée des membres des Forces canadiennes, puisqu'elle s'appliquera non seulement aux militaires en mission à l'étranger, mais à tous ceux qui doivent reporter ou interrompre leur congé pour reprendre du service. Grâce à elle, les membres des Forces canadiennes pourront eux aussi tisser des liens avec leurs enfants et jeter les bases de leur développement et de leur éducation, au même titre que n'importe quel autre Canadien qui a droit à des prestations d'assurance- emploi.

Cette mesure législative aidera les familles de nos militaires à demeurer unies. Lorsque le lieutenant-colonel James Duquette a comparu devant le comité permanent de l'autre endroit, en compagnie de sa femme, Anne, il a déclaré ceci :

[...] la situation touche [...] les jeunes familles des forces [...] et la valeur que [ces congés] représenteraient pour ces familles est incalculable.

Sa femme a ajouté ce qui suit :

Que ce soit la mère ou le père qui est à l'étranger, leur donner la possibilité de former des liens d'attachement avec leur enfant à leur retour serait incroyable.

De même que ceci :

Ce changement [...] aidera de nombreuses familles de militaires aujourd'hui et dans le futur [...] Je vous en supplie, appuyez nos troupes et les familles qui les attendent à la maison.

Honorables sénateurs, les Canadiens sont fiers de leurs militaires. Le projet de loi dont le Sénat est aujourd'hui saisi changera leur vie et celle de leur petite famille. Je vous exhorte donc à vous joindre à moi et à l'appuyer aussi.